STL Executives Reviews | Glassdoor

STL Executives Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I've been an employee for a month"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at STL Executives

    Pros

    I LOVE THIS COMPANY! I recently got promoted out of training. It took me a little longer than most people because of my shy personality. But everyone was so nice and helpful when it came to me not understanding something. Not a single person gave up on me and they all made sure I was progressing every day. Even the two girls up front had a lot to do with motivating me every day when I came in, they were always smiling and pushing me. I am so excited to learn and develop more and grow with this company!

    Show More

    Cons

    Absolutely nothing!! Except maybe we need a parking lot for employees only! :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    STL Executives2016-02-26
  2. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at STL Executives full-time

    Pros

    Great people at this location

    Cons

    THier are no cons at all

    STL Executives2018-02-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Lies, lies, and more lies. RUN don't waist your time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at STL Executives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely Nothing positive, or pros this company is horrible if anyone is hiring please let me know. It's a waist of time.

    Cons

    Everything is a lie from the moment you receive that phone call to come in for a interview. The office looks like it was set up in 10 minutes bunch of college students running around in knock off suits from Burlington coat factory, all of management walking around dressed up. It's all a lie they won't show you their blue ATT SHIRTS it's all just a set up to make you feel like you are applying for a higher position then it is. Don't waist your time unless you wanna go do full commission door to door sales and work over 70-80 hours a week. It's a joke and just look at the people that show up to the interview dose anyone even seem like they are qualified for the position they are offering, of course not. THIS PLACE IS A JOKE. Don't waist your time, go actually find a job that pays and don't fall for their stories. "We will promote you, you will be a assistant manager" all that is a bunch of bs. The turnover rate is crazy. So unless you want to live a lie then apply. -someone inside

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop dressing up in the knockoff Burlington coat factory suits. Stop acting successful when you are barely making ends meet. And the guy with the Mercedes, we all know it's got over a 100k miles so just please stop living a lie.

    STL Executives2016-07-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work, but very rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at STL Executives full-time

    Pros

    Meetings are fun, growth and professional development is immediate. No problem getting required hours.

    Cons

    Not the typical 9-5 that I was initially looking for.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    STL Executives2016-06-28
  6. Helpful (15)

    "DON'T WORK HERE!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in West End, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at STL Executives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros. I'm not a disgruntled employee. I never got in any trouble. In fact I was decent at it. I just want to send a warning to as many people as possible to help you save your time, effort, and money. So I'll start my qualms in the con category. But first hand I can tell you don't listen to the positive reviews because they are mostly fabricated by management and the "hr". I know because I have witnessed it. One was literally created by management about my friend and he didn't even know about it. This company is totally full of it. 100% liars.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fit of all the lie from the jump. Very ambiguously tell you the ins and outs of the job in the interview. Making you think it's something your not. I know first hand. I conducted some interviews.... I couldn't feed the vague answers and blantant lies they tell the interviewees. If you don't listen to the multiple of bad reviews on here and go to the interview drill them with questions and I promise they will fold. It is NOT an office environment. And is NOT 11-8 those are just the hours you are absolutely required to be there. The real hours are like 8-9 (even 10). Because "leaders" are considered lazy and useless if they don't show up by at least 9. Some get there even earlier. And you will be pressured to do so. You do not start as an account manager. You start as an account rep which means you follow your trainer in the field on day one from 1:30-8:00. You have to be able to pitch a customer by yourself and close a sale. Because... It's DOOR TO DOOR SALES. Uverse Direct TV In sometimes trailer parks and sometimes ghettos. In it the office with a bunch of unprofessional college grads til 1 at the latest. Drive to the field in your own car and you will be looked at unfavorably if you don't have a car. Knock on doors til 8. Then leave and depending on where you are at that could easily be a 45 minute drive. Get back to the office and then they want new people to hang out just to make them feel better about their bad day in the field. Breaking down a day is solely there to make the new employees forget their bad day. Even the games after. Leaders stay until everyone leaves. 10 most of the time. Then you are strongly pressured to go to office night. You will not have a life. Sunday you are off but so exhausted from the week you won't do anything. 100% commissioned based. And they justify it by saying there are two people afraid of 100 % commission: lazy people and people who think they can't do it. But the twister is even if you get someone to sign up and they cancel you don't get paid for that sale. Fact is you can literally have $0 checks because of this. Because of the high pressure sales tactics they teach you. The biggest con is the managers are bona-fide liars. They will literally lie to your face. They rush people out at one because they have interviews coming in every day 3-4 a day and they don't want the interviewees to see the employees in their field clothes. It's all a disguise. Atmosphere in the office is designed to make the employees feel better about their career. You could easily be knocking on doors for 2 years before being promoted to assistant managers who still knock on doors from 3:30 to 8:00. Even managers sometimes go to the field if they don't have enough reps. Even the manager of the entire office can still fail because of no reps or growth. It's all based on growth. The need to con new people as much as they can to build the office to promote out people so the manager can get an override from that new office. Good luck building a team though. As soon as the new people see what it's all about they either quit or stay because they are desperate. The people who succeeded are just really good at getting people brainwashed people to follow them to the end of the earth. Even Hitler had followers... Employees reading this please post your real feeling about your 100% commission Door to door 8-10 sales job. The managers can't alter or remove them and they are anonymous. The manager will come up with some cheeky response to this trying to negate what I say but you are the real voice. If you still want to go to the interview and take the job because they give one to literally anyone and will make you feel like you earned it, then good luck. You're going to have a long life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly I have no advice for you. You have been doing this far too long and will probably have to change your name soon or go out of business. I will encourage your employees to tell their story and get word out. You are liars and there is no cute little response you can have back that we can't see through. Your employees make you and they know the truth. The funniest part about all of this is that I think even you were brain washed into thinking you are not a pyramid scheme. Despite the little picture you draw about it being the opposite of pyramid scheme in your opportunity meeting. I just feel bad about for your employees walking around right now in the pouring rain for the next few hours hoping to close a uverse dtv sale so they can put gas in their tank to make it home tonight. Good luck in the next year, -someone on the inside

    Show More
    STL Executives2016-05-11
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Not a good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at STL Executives full-time

    Pros

    I shall keep this section brief, as there are zero pros when actually working for STL Executives. Now that I am no longer with this company, I suppose I did improve on one personal attribute. Since this is a DOOR to DOOR sales job, you do get use to dealing with aggravated people and forcing yourself to believe that you need to keep pestering them, regardless of how many times they tell you no, because if you do not make this sale, you do not pay rent. Well, look at that, turns out that wasn't much of a 'pro' after all.

    Show More

    Cons

    Let me begin by stating that this company, and the positions offered by STL Executives, will suit some individuals. You may find that you enjoy a DOOR to DOOR sales position, with a 100% commissioned based salad, and 8am-9pm hours. Yes, I said 8am-9pm. The company states, as do the many responses written by the management team on Glassdoor, that the hours are 11-8pm. But that is not accurate. You are told to come in early and "practice the pitch". If you do not, management and other employees label you as lazy. I know this because I witnessed it. Additionally, the rule of thumb is "the last door you can knock on is 8pm" that doesn't mean you head home at 8pm. That means you get picked up at whichever suburban neighborhood they leave you at, more than likely Chesterfield area, at 8pm and then drive home to the building in the Central West End (CWE). Upon returning after your 30 minute drive, you are encouraged to play games and your trainer will break down your day. After that nonsense has subsided, then you may leave. Concluding your day @ 9pm. With that long intro over, the purpose of my review is give a true account of my experience at STL Executives. The company predicates itself on delivering misleading information during the candidate selection process. In other words, yes they do tell what you will be doing there during the interview, but they do it in a way that makes you believe you are doing something completely different. Moreover, they want to attract individuals, preferably college students who have been fed worrying statistics about how hard it is to get a job in your field of study, and feed them business-style vernacular that will lure them in and get them in the door. It is BECAUSE of this fact, that I believe I have an OBLIGATION to inform anyone who comes across this post of exactly what they road they are entering. Only then, with the truth at there disposal, can they decide if they want to pursue a career with STL Executives. Let me list what I believe are the most important aspects you should know about this company: 1.) As I have perviously stated, this is a door to door job. My first week was being dropped off in Chesterfield with a trainer and walking around a neighborhood knocking on doors. I was completely surprised when we slowly walked to his car, after being handed a list of addresses, and started driving for 30 minutes while he made me answer questions about the "pitch". 2.) The office culture is hypocritical. They push "professionalism" but very rarely do they back it up themselves. 3.) I had to go to court and plead guilty of a soliciting violation because my trainer did not have a permit in that area. As stated on someone else's response, STL Executives do pay your fines. But does that really matter? 4.) My door to door life began in Chesterfield, but quickly moved to an area where economic poverty was everywhere. A trailer park to be exact. A lady said it was illegal for me to be here and told me she called the police. This was a day AFTER I had just received my solicitation ticket. A few days later, in a new area, an employee said to me at 8:10pm that we needed to leave because the lady across the street has just called the police. 5.) Those "trips" they keep bragging about are trips to surrounding cities where you stay in a hotel and conduct the same routine as you do in St. Louis, door to door. 6.) If you have a car, you will drive everywhere. An employee asked me to take him to his house so he could pick up some things. He also told me, after making $0 that day and spending $45 on filling up my gas tank, that my attitude is poor. Seriously? 7.) I hope you like spending $15 a day on fast food because that's where you eat lunch. McDonalds, Subway, etc. At this point, I want to stop as I believe I have had said enough. But trust me, there is more to be said. As you can see from each comment posted on Glassdoor prior to mine, the company boss always has an explanation, or in my eyes an excuse, for each negative experience someone had and I'm sure he will have a response for me too. But that does not bother me, not if you hang around the company long enough and see the type of characters they are. I hope everyone reading this can see the emerging patterns being exposed throughout these reviews. If each negative comment states the same experiences over and over, and the rest of the comments are saying "OMG, Amazing Experience", red flags should be raised.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop fabricating the truth. Stop leading people on. If you had not fed on my aspirations during the selection process, if there even is a selection process since it seems like you just let anyone in, then I wouldn't be writing this right now. It is dishonest and disrespectful work. You are lying to yourselves and you are hypocrites in the way you conduct your office. It is pathetic.

    STL Executives2016-03-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I've been at STL executives a little over a year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at STL Executives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The amount of professional skills I have learned since I've been with this company is more than any college degree could teach me. I was never a really likeable person due to my aggressive teaching style and overall personality. This company has taught me how to be more humble and likeable while also being able to effectively train, develop, motivate, and recruit others.

    Cons

    I think the things that most people would see as a con are just the things that people won't do to get to management whether it's because they're too lazy, they don't want to put in the hard work, or simply because they are not meant to run their own company. Other than that, the cons that others speak of are easily misinterpreted because of the person who wasn't cut out for this level of management.

    Advice to Management

    I have no real advice for management. They get my strong feedback daily and have to put up with me and the many mistakes I'll make on this journey ha! So good job guys!!

    STL Executives2016-02-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "STL Executives Entry-Level Account Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at STL Executives full-time

    Pros

    The co-workers are fantastic. I always enjoyed the team meetings and activities that we did prior to going out in the field. The office atmosphere was always fun, friendly and high energy to get you motivated. Teamwork and leadership was also something the management should be proud of. Everyone was willing to help in any way possible, and wanted to see you succeed. Office nights were fun.

    Cons

    Strictly commission-based income. Being door to door sales wasn't all that bad for me personally. However, one can't expect to jump into this type of work and be successful right away, so there needs to be more incentive to stick with it. I only lasted at STL Executives for a little over a month, mostly because I was spending more on expenses than I was making (driving 30 minutes to and from work every day takes its toll, not mentioning money spent on food). The biggest con would be the hours. Working almost 10 hours a day for 5-6 days a week is very taxing both mentally and physically, especially when sales aren't going as expected. Kind of hard to stay positive when there's nothing coming your way. Office nights shouldn't be viewed as mandatory either. Management says it's optional, but will give you grief for missing this once a week event.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Should be a little more realistic and straight forward to new employees. Be honest and tell them that in order to get promoted they'll be sacrificing 50-60+ hours a week. That finding a work-life balance will be very difficult, especially for those who cherish their personal time with friends & family. I enjoyed this opportunity & experience...I learned a lot from the training, and met a lot of awesome people at STL Executives. I just think the whole "hoorah", "get pumped" shenanigans were a tad bit ridiculous. And in a way it’s just a business tactic to attract and convince people to stick around. Obviously the company has a high employee turnover rate...yes, because door-to-door sales isn't for everyone....but also because I don't believe enough is offered to those struggling with making sales. Lastly, the CEO needs a new haircut and the President needs to up his suit game.

    Show More
    STL Executives2016-02-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at STL Executives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good office vibe, but you will not work there. They make you think you are working in an office and when you show up for training it is door to door soliciting

    Cons

    I feel that I was not given honest and complete information regarding the details of this job. I was told I would be working in an office. I dressed as such. I spent my first day of training learning door to door soliciting, unprepared both mentally and dress wise for such duties. Other individuals in the training session were told prior to coming to bring proper attire for walking and being outdoors, I was not. When I was sent into the field with my two trainers, they spent much of the time in the car discussing inappropriate, degrading and vulgar aspects of females and their tactics for obtaining their phone numbers as well as discussing their individual number of sexual encounters. I was appalled, considering the main talking point during classroom training was professionalism, professionalism, professionalism. The amount of professionalism demonstrated to me as a female and as co-worker was non-existent. This is a clear violation of workplace ethics and I’m sure your HR department should be made aware of this. I cannot believe that I am the only female that has heard these two employees speak in such a manner. Additionally, I cannot work for a company that promotes, and whose employees believe that breaking the law to get a sale is a viable or acceptable work logic. I was mortified when I found out the police were called because my trainer decided to over step management of an apartment complex and do door to door soliciting where soliciting was not permitted. The police requested a copy of my trainer’s solicitors license, of which was never discussed during classroom training, and he did not have one. I was never made aware of my legal obligations to perform my job. At no point in the interview process, or during training, was I made aware that I was required to obtain a solicitor’s permit. Later, upon investigation, I found out that I need to obtain a solicitor’s permit in every city/county that I should decide to perform soliciting in. The trainer told me that the office would pay such violations as an expense. It is not important to me who pays such items, but it is of EXTREME importance to me that I do not break the law and do not obtain a criminal record, whether minor or not. It is also of extreme importance to me that my employer divulges such information to me prior to me performing my job. I do not feel that it is professional that a company not provide me with information that would cause me to break the law in any form or fashion. Furthermore, the fact that my trainer returned after being advised that he was not welcome to conduct soliciting on the property, sealed my decision. While it was of no consequence to my trainer, it is not part of my moral character to have disregard for the law. Beyond that, while my Trainer returned to the complex, I had no choice but to wait in a parking lot in the evening until 8:35PM, stranded. My purse was in another individuals’ vehicle, who was not at the location. I stood in a parking lot, in the dark, for well over an hour. I feel that there was no regard for my integrity and even less for my safety. During the interview process with STL Executives, I was left with the impression that this company was an upstanding and professional company. It was withheld from me the fact that I would be doing door to door soliciting and my legal obligation required to perform such duties. Considering that STL Executives is supportive of their staff breaking the law and having no regard for professionalism, sexual inappropriateness, inadequate training and trainers, and not being forthright with the details and legalities of this job, I have no desire to work for this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with interviewees, make people aware of the legalities of the job, do not put them in harms way or ask them to break the law.

    STL Executives2016-02-18
  11. Helpful (4)

    "A Lot of work with Excellent payoff!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at STL Executives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    time management leadership skills presentation skills travel networking Working at STL Executives is a lot of work! But the payoff is extraordinary. The entry level position teaches each candidate the value of sales and how to create a presentation to impact. Through leadership, the ability to instill these qualities onto others is stressed. It is very rewarding helping others in their career and their abilities.

    Show More

    Cons

    time demanding. Since this position is a quick management advancement opportunity, there is a need to spend a lot of time learning the business and hitting goals.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Continue to show your employees that you care, and the business will take care of itself!

    STL Executives2015-12-01
Found 28 reviews