STX Reviews | Glassdoor

STX Reviews

Updated Dec 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
45%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
STX CEO Richard Tucker (no image)
Richard Tucker
7 Ratings
  1. "Cool place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cockeysville, MD

    I have been working at STX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance Awesome happy hours

    Cons

    Could have more employee incentives and social events.

    STX2015-09-03
  2. "Terrible work environment, no positive advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at STX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    False sense of security and possible advancement. Management keeps one on board until they fire you. Only take care of their own. No remorse, terrible people.

    Cons

    Zero growth unless you are in with "management". Work ethic and dedication means nothing. "Family company" is all for show. The company does not want anyone who has a honest contribution for making the business profitable.

    STX2019-05-18
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at STX full-time

    Pros

    Great pto not bad yeah

    Cons

    Not well paid not too bad

    STX2019-01-31
  4. "Solid core, needs some help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Passionate, talented staff, hard working folks

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities, too much micro management

    STX2018-05-10
  5. "Product manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at STX

    Pros

    Work life balance and family atmosphere.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Provide more opportunity for professional growth, both training and career advancement.

    STX2016-07-02
  6. "Good place to work in a challenging market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Not Specified in Not, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STX

    Pros

    Good leadership and history. Sporting goods is a fun industry with a youthful outlook.

    Cons

    Market is tough. Culture could use tweaking. Pay is not top of the line.

    STX2016-03-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at STX full-time

    Pros

    -Great people to work with -Depending on your department you get to be out of the office and on a field or visiting retailers -Get to test new products

    Cons

    -Long hours, no work-life balance. -Basic benefits -No where for mid-level people to go -Work piles and no backfill when others leave

    Advice to Management

    -Promote from within because people deserve the role not because it's just a cheaper solution. Give people a reason to stay.

    STX2015-10-20
  8. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Intern in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STX

    Pros

    Great experience, great people, really enjoyed it.

    Cons

    Long hours, although I was really fun.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing great!

    STX2015-08-07
  9. "Good but not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at STX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No sales goals, fair salary, car/food is expensed, fun people at HQ to be around.

    Cons

    Management does not have the skills nor the industry experience/knowledge to propel the company forward. Company has lost significant traction by investing in other categories outside its core business (lacrosse).

    Advice to Management

    Needs industry experience/knowledge, focus on core business (lacrosse)

    STX2015-08-14
  10. "Product development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at STX

    Pros

    Wide range of products to design

    Cons

    Poor office environment, limited opportunities

    STX2015-08-12
Found 18 reviews
</>Embed