SThree "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

SThree Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
SThree CEO Mark Dorman (no image)
Mark Dorman
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "The family culture and supportive working environment made it a pleasure to come to work everyday(in 21 reviews)

  • "work hard play hard’ environment you will thrive(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "My career progression had been exactly what I hoped for when I accepted this job out of college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The resources and training provided had consistently set me up for success.

    Cons

    Not the "dream scenario" with work life balance. You have to work hard.

    Continue reading
    SThree2015-09-23
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Micromanaged Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Eventually get flexibility in your schedule after working there for 2-3 years. - Nice office - 4 weeks vacation starting out - Free fruit

    Cons

    - Trained by management to lie, cheat, and do whatever you can to get business - management team only cares about what commission they are getting next quarter, no focus on ethics or customer service. - Break employees down through negative reinforcement, threats of losing your job, and public shame when you don't hit your targets - Don't pay employees ON TIME, if there is an issue with an employees pay, whether that was by mistake of management, commissions or the employee themselves- THIS SHOULD BE TOP PRIORITY!! I've seen countless consultants not receive the pay they were entitled to in a timely manner. - FOR SALES - expect to be on a strict budget when traveling and you have to use your own credit card for all expenses!! Cannot expense cell phone, don't get a laptop or anything but they expect you to be on the road 50% of the time. - No work life balance, managers will get involved with your business and ruin it if you don't work on your days off. Always ask for your email password to send emails from your account while you're out of the office. Very inappropriate.

    Continue reading
    SThree2017-04-03

    SThree Response

    April 7, 2017

    Thank you for the feedback. We are encouraged that you appreciate our flexible working arrangements and generous vacation policy. Our values are central to our identity and it is very concerning to hear that you felt that you experienced unethical behavior or bad management practices. We take violations of our values seriously and encourage all employees to report them through HR, as soon as they occur. We have a completely transparent commission scheme and attempt to help employees correct any errors in commission claims as quickly as possible (including by advance between payrolls). Similarly, we have a transparent policy for the reimbursement of business expenses and expenses are paid promptly after they are filed.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (12)

    "New Grads: Great Starting Point for Career Suicide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training: Incredible and strong follow through via Rookie Training Comradery: Forced mentorship in buddy program Location: Downtown Chicago in the loop Benefits: Vacation time

    Cons

    Bold Face Lies AKA Salary and Commission: Take what they told you you'd be making in commission and divide it by for a more realistic number i.e. $35k base + $45k-$55k in commission+ $42k-$45k annum Work/Life Balance: LOL 100 point plan: Career suicide if you're just starting out, you get scraps of commission for your first 7 or 10 deals, and the commission scheme is appalling if you're a recruiter. "Merit" Based Promotions: To get promoted to senior consultant, you must bill $600k, which is roughly 50 $25,000 fee deals. You may also get promoted in the event that they need someone to take over due to high turnover, or if you sleep with the right people. Management: One good apple out of a bag of rotten ones doesn't make it a good buy. If you have any sense in researching a company's glassdoor page before or whilst interviewing with them, you have enough sense to not work for Sthree Chicago.

    Continue reading
    SThree2017-03-14

    SThree Response

    March 21, 2017Director of Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. We're happy that you found the training programs to be useful as it is an area we have invested a lot into. We're sorry your experience in other areas weren't as great. We are looking into these claims as we take this seriously and don't want this to be an experience which is repeated for other employees. We are currently doing a significant amount of work to understand the employee experience across all of our offices to ensure we can be an employer of choice.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time

    Pros

    Good sales training, good looking office, tons of resources to do your job well

    Cons

    poor leadership, micromanagement, terrible work life balance, they look at you like you're crazy if you leave right at 5 or 530, they will pit you against each other, people gossip a lot and it's disgusting, they sell FAKE jobs all day everyday to poor prospective candidates, they make you think that you are going to be an actual recruiter but in reality your are a robot meant to pump out leads with little to luck at conversion. Also, there is a 30%-40% burn rate! I have seen so many people quit and get fired since I started.

    Continue reading
    SThree2016-03-08

    SThree Response

    March 24, 2016Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review and sorry to hear you had a negative experience. As a growing business we constantly look for ways to be more flexible and offer a greater working environment. For example we rolled out flex hours last year enabling people to come in later in the morning or leave earlier in the day. Working in a sales environment we want to build a competitive yet respectful culture and will look to offer the best incentives to work towards and sometimes this means not everyone will win. Regarding "burn rate", we're always looking at how to reduce it and New York has some of the best across the business (28% for 2015) and a lot lower than industry standard. We would love to hear any suggestions you have as to how we can improve so please email feedback@sthree.com so that we can add this to the results of the engagement survey results which we're going through currently.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing training and culture for a young cut-throat sales professional. SThree's training is top class and their ATS is top of the line

    Cons

    Work-life balance is awful. Management varies - top performers usually get to chose to go into a leadership role when they aren't ready and become responsible for direct reports while still performing as an individual contributor.

    Continue reading
    SThree2016-03-04

    SThree Response

    April 29, 2016Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your review and feedback, we really appreciate your taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We're excited to be improving our ATS even more and by the end of summer we will have migrated to Salesforce across ALL offices. Regarding the work-life balance, we're constantly driven to make it more enjoyable to work here and have more recently implemented flex hours, summer hours and are looking to make the most of the new office space by running things like film nights, trivia, sports events and so much more. That said, working in a sales environment does involve sacrifice and we won't deny that sometimes you'll work longer than some other companies or positions. We're always looking for more ways to improve so please feel free to email feedback@sthree.com to offer some suggestions. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "If you're willing to work hard, you will be rewarded."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Recruitment Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SThree full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent commission scheme & it is relatively easy to get paychecks upwards of $10k, $15k, $20k+. Excellent company culture & amazing incentives.

    Cons

    Like any sales role, there are ups & downs with performance. Work/life balance is tough when you start, but once you're up & running, it improves.

    Continue reading
    SThree2015-09-30
  7. Helpful (6)

    "More than what meets the eye"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You're paid - The people in the office were nice - Able to network with people after work - nice team vibe

    Cons

    This position requires a lot of focus on quantitative work and less on qualitative. Management is all about what THEY want and not about your individual goals. Upper management makes the goals, and everyone is is responsible for the leg work. Incentives rarely included the little people and were most times not achievable. No work/life balance AT ALL. Be there before 8am (or you're late) and leave closer to never. Try to leave at 5, you are frowned upon. This company has the "it" people then the "lackies". If you're in the it group, you're praised like never before. If you're a lackie doing all of the leg work, you get little to no praise. Management is very sneaky and will cut like they care but do things behind your back. Don't ask to move to something else or what your other options are, you will not be heard of cared about. MICROMANAGEMENT at all times, throughout your entire career.

    Continue reading
    SThree2015-07-08
  8. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance work from home benefits

    Cons

    no growth not micromanaged but if you make a mistake, its your fault only

    Continue reading
    SThree2019-12-09

    SThree Response

    January 17, 2020Employer Branding

    Thanks for your feedback. At SThree, we're currently in the process of refining many of our global processes. One of the biggest things we're currently focusing on is our leadership programme. Our learning and development team are taking a close look at the leadership programmes we have in place, to see how we can make improvements to offer an excellent people experience across our global business.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SThree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work-life balance, holidays, collaborative work culture

    Cons

    lack of engagement frim business heads

    SThree2019-10-25

    SThree Response

    November 19, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks so much for your feedback - I'm so glad to hear you are enjoying your experience with SThree!

    Continue reading
  10. "Contract Coordination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SThree full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team Great management

    Cons

    Trainings Overtime at month ends and Qends (Work-life balance)

    SThree2018-11-18

    SThree Response

    June 11, 2019Employer Branding

    Thanks for sharing your comments with us, this really does help us to make SThree a great place to work!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews