SUNY "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

SUNY Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Mar 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The work environment was stress free and we were allowed to complete our homework while working(in 10 reviews)

  • "good colleagues and work life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons when it is something you get when you are a student(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low pay per credit for adjuncts(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "graduate assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY

    Pros

    Good professors, good students, supportive staff

    Cons

    Low pay, heavy work load

    SUNY2016-10-04
  2. "Student Assistant at Hadley Village Apartments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Part time, Easy work, Flexible hours

    Cons

    Low pay. Nothing else to say.

    SUNY2019-03-06
  3. "NY State Employees...six of one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct in New Paltz, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great students who know the value of an education. Generally good staff. Better treatment of adjunct faculty in some areas than many private colleges (for example, SUNY offers adjunct faculty health insurance)

    Cons

    Low pay, constant fiscal difficulties, poor communication in HR matters (health insurance provider keeps getting switched with little or no notification)

    Advice to Management

    Cut out all the administrative positions that are highly-paid and unnecessary, and pay the adjunct faculty who teach more than half the classes a living wage. Current salaries are half what they were in the 1970s!

    SUNY2017-06-12
  4. "Adjunct Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stone Ridge, NY

    I worked at SUNY part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive academic and creative community, diverse student body

    Cons

    Low pay per credit for adjuncts

    SUNY2017-03-29
  5. "Manager hr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SUNY part-time

    Pros

    Stress free, good working confitions

    Cons

    Low pay, not much room to grow

    SUNY2017-01-19
  6. "Senior Staff Assistant - Program Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Downstate Physician Assistant in Brooklyn, NY

    I have been working at SUNY for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, room for growth, learning environment

    Cons

    low pay, lack of structure

    SUNY2016-10-04
  7. "Postdoctoral Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Research Associate in Albany, NY

    I have been working at SUNY for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive health benefits. Prestigious organization. Diversity within the SUNY network.

    Cons

    Low pay. Barely enough to cover living expense in New York city. HR can be messy sometimes, although they are generally nice and helpful.

    SUNY2016-05-31
Found 7 reviews
</>Embed