SUNY "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

SUNY Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The work environment was stress free and we were allowed to complete our homework while working(in 10 reviews)

  • "good colleagues and work life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons when it is something you get when you are a student(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low pay per credit for adjuncts(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly work environment and helping people

    Cons

    Very less pay for the kind of work I was doing.

    SUNY2018-11-26
  2. "Great experience and gained knowledge."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Library Assistant in Cortland, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at SUNY part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working in the library at SUNY Cortland. The staff were friendly and helpful. The work environment was stress free and we were allowed to complete our homework while working. I received training by senior staff member. There is opportunity to grow and gain new skills.

    Cons

    Opportunity to work extra is usually given by favoritism.

    SUNY2019-02-05
  3. "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge in Canton, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SUNY part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment. Everyone in the office is helpful!

    Cons

    Not enough working hours for employees.

    SUNY2017-12-21
  4. "Laboratory Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY part-time

    Pros

    Work environment is always pleasant. Co-workers are the best! Hours are great.

    Cons

    There is really no room for advancement in this postion.

    SUNY2017-09-21
  5. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY

    Pros

    Good! work environment. Worklife balance

    Cons

    Nothing as of now, they are doing good job

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, they are doing good job

    SUNY2017-09-18
  6. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great work environment

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    SUNY2017-01-06
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY

    Pros

    Friendly staff, flexible schedule, helpful to students, Great work environment, Amazing first job experience!

    Cons

    I don't think there are too many cons except for the fact that it gets a little monotonous sometimes. That is all

    SUNY2016-02-25
  8. "it is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SUNY part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has great work environment and people here are friendly. Work at SUNY is a great experience for me. I have learnt a lot from colleagues

    Cons

    I think this is no downside of working at SUNY since I have been working here for about one year and i feel great.

    SUNY2013-10-31
  9. "Great place to learn about the higher education industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SUNY part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment. I encourage everyone to gain experience with people who actually believe in you and want you to succeed! My experience for SUNY has been great!

    Cons

    Working for a state or government institution does not pay as much as the private sector, but have some pride that you are playing an important role in the education of your statesmen!

    SUNY2013-01-08
  10. "SUNY Korea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SUNY

    Pros

    Young colleagues. Energetic working environment.

    Cons

    If you are looking for a well-organized company/group, this should not be your choice. Plenty of opportunity to take ownership by literally making rules/procedures as you do your work, but flip side of this means lack of system. Expect to work overtime, including weekends. (Not for all departments but for Academics and Planning - definitely)

    SUNY2016-07-17
Found 10 reviews
</>Embed