KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SUNY

Is this your company?

SUNY

Add a Review

SUNY Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 249 reviews

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The work environment was stress free and we were allowed to complete our homework while working(in 10 reviews)

  • "New york area, great place, Great teaching experience(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay per credit for adjuncts(in 7 reviews)

  • "base salary is low, no much room for promotion(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Graduate Research Assistant

      Nov 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly work environment and helping people

      Cons

      Very less pay for the kind of work I was doing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great experience and gained knowledge.

      Feb 5, 2019 - Student Library Assistant in Cortland, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed working in the library at SUNY Cortland. The staff were friendly and helpful. The work environment was stress free and we were allowed to complete our homework while working. I received training by senior staff member. There is opportunity to grow and gain new skills.

      Cons

      Opportunity to work extra is usually given by favoritism.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to learn about the higher education industry!

      Jan 7, 2013 - Assistant Professor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment. I encourage everyone to gain experience with people who actually believe in you and want you to succeed! My experience for SUNY has been great!

      Cons

      Working for a state or government institution does not pay as much as the private sector, but have some pride that you are playing an important role in the education of your statesmen!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      it is great

      Oct 30, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It has great work environment and people here are friendly. Work at SUNY is a great experience for me. I have learnt a lot from colleagues

      Cons

      I think this is no downside of working at SUNY since I have been working here for about one year and i feel great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      Feb 24, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, flexible schedule, helpful to students, Great work environment, Amazing first job experience!

      Cons

      I don't think there are too many cons except for the fact that it gets a little monotonous sometimes. That is all

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Freelancer

      Research Assistant

      Sep 18, 2017 - Anonymous Freelancer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good! work environment. Worklife balance

      Cons

      Nothing as of now, they are doing good job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Experience!

      Dec 20, 2017 - Concierge in Canton, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment. Everyone in the office is helpful!

      Cons

      Not enough working hours for employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Tutor

      Jan 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, great work environment

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Laboratory Assistant

      Sep 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work environment is always pleasant. Co-workers are the best! Hours are great.

      Cons

      There is really no room for advancement in this postion.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      SUNY Korea

      Jul 17, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Young colleagues. Energetic working environment.

      Cons

      If you are looking for a well-organized company/group, this should not be your choice. Plenty of opportunity to take ownership by literally making rules/procedures as you do your work, but flip side of this means lack of system. Expect to work overtime, including weekends. (Not for all departments but for Academics and Planning - definitely)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with SUNY Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SUNY? Share Your Experiences

    SUNY logo
    or