SUSE Reviews | Glassdoor

SUSE Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
SUSE CEO Melissa Di Donato (no image)
Melissa Di Donato
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ambiente lavorativo eccezionale; si lavora a tematiche interessanti nell'ambito di progetti open-source(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great people with excellent culture in the company(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have been very happy, no cons at this time(in 5 reviews)

  • "Open-source Linux distribution company, so very hard to differentiate compared to the leader Red Hat(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "SUSE is an excellent engineering driven organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at SUSE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The labs department values their engineers greatly.

    Cons

    Remote work can sometimes be isolating.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you're doing, consider giving raises more often.

    SUSE2019-08-23
  2. "Fast-moving, high-growth, down-to-earth company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SUSE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SUSE is a customer-focused company, but not at the expense of employees. Great culture, great people, exciting world of open source software and cutting-edge technology.

    Cons

    Adaptability is a key skill to have, but it's all part of the enjoyable experience working with a knowledgeable and professional team.

    SUSE2019-10-08
  3. "SUSE is a wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SUSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture - A great place to work. The new leadership has made giving back to the community a big initiative . Big push for supporting Women in Technology. Leadership - I have been impressed by the leadership thus far. They are highly engaged and their main focus is to see you succeed. Flexibility - I can work from home which is wonderful for my lifestyle.

    Cons

    I have been very happy, no cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. I love the transparency of the team. I love that I am able to provide feedback and my ideas are heard.

    SUSE2019-10-08
  4. "Awesome place to work and only going to get better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SUSE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great culture - Flexible - Effective leadership - Lots of opportunities to grow & step outside the box

    Cons

    - More budget for business units

    Advice to Management

    Despite recent changes and changes to come, never change the culture!

    SUSE2019-10-07
  5. "Used to be a GREAT company, but things are going downhill fast..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SUSE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, who support each other across the organizations Open, fun and caring culture

    Cons

    New leadership is killing the culture. If you weren't brought in by the new Leadership team, then it is extremely difficult to have your input really considered.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that employees are at SUSE because of the culture and the way that they are valued for their years of experience. Start listening and treating people with respect. Stop communicating organizational changes without first communicating those changes to the people who are impacted.

    SUSE2019-10-04
  6. "Great place to work but trending down with new EQT owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SUSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good culture and great people Smart engineers and fun to work here

    Cons

    Not great pay and new owners are not understanding the business Culture and values are changing fast on the negative side.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the current employees or they will all be gone. Seems like you are on a path to get rid of everyone and replace them with your friends from SAP.

    SUSE2019-10-02
  7. "Some good (60%), some bad (40%) hence the 3 out of 5 score. And I learned a lot from the good and the bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SUSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great and really smart people especially on the technical side.

    Cons

    Some very inflated egos, though. Need to weed out those who think they are perfect. Last time I checked humans were prone to mistakes. And that's okay. Some people there don't think so.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring ego-driven, narcissistic people. It will destroy the company in the long run.

    SUSE2019-08-23
  8. "Simply Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SUSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty decent Pay and Benefits

    Cons

    With HQ in Europe, US management runs amok with no regard for employees; a combination of incompetence and near psychotic behavior. Will always be the little dog struggling to swim upstream and with IBM acquiring Red Hat, their days appear to be numbered. Worst experience of my life.

    Advice to Management

    Look under your nose and remove abusive managers.

    SUSE2019-08-20
  9. "Terrific Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SUSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No micromanagement, solid core product set, happy customers.

    Cons

    None, really. It's a job and there isn't a perfect one out there and they don't get much better than this one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a terrific job.

    SUSE2019-07-02
  10. "So so...still trying hard to make a name in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SUSE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Somewhat stable company that has gone through a lot of different ownership changes during the history. Great player in EMEA and with the SAP partnership.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement unless you work in sales and climb over people to move up. Open-source Linux distribution company, so very hard to differentiate compared to the leader Red Hat.

    SUSE2019-05-19
Found 117 reviews
</>Embed