SWBC "dress code" Reviews | Glassdoor

SWBC Employee Reviews about "dress code"

Updated 5 Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
SWBC CEO  (no image)
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "And free gym membership also they have a lot of perks like free rampage tickets and stars tickets or VERY discounted spurs tickets(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and paid time off(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dress code"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Swbc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SWBC

    Pros

    Great people to work with, great pay and scheduling

    Cons

    Should be a little more lenient with dress code

    SWBC2018-12-06
  2. Helpful (7)

    "If I could give this company a half of a star I would. Definitely one of THE worst companies to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SWBC

    Pros

    Health benefits (WERE DECENT AT ONE POINT) 401K plan for all employees Potential chance of monthly bonus (depended on stats)

    Cons

    Medical benefits are NO LONGER paid for my employer Prizes “won” are taxable Monthly bonuses are taxed Pay is definitely not what it should be Swbc speaks of core values, but none of the values are lived up to Incentives are always changing for the worse QA (Quality Assurance) always finds new reasons to take off points/takes points without first informing people of new information Information station IS NOT... updated consecutively to reflect the changes that agents are docked for Management changes incentives/rules without telling the employees, hoping that we don’t notice. Once someone notices they then bring it to everyone else’s attention Guidelines from the employee handbook are not followed 100% Rules in the employee handbook are not consistent Zero tolerance for tattoos being noticeable is enforced, however dress code is not enforced how it should be. (Pants/cowboy boots is not business casual attire) We NO LONGER get a free golds gym membership for being apart of the company We NO LONGER get a Christmas holiday bonus The employee referral bonus was 500 per referral it is now 250 per referral. NO opportunity for growth or VERY little Must be a brown noser to have a chance at an actual advancement opportunity UNFAIRNESS AND FAVORITISM ARE MAJOR ISSUES! ANYONE INTERESTED IN GROWING WITH THE COMPANY IS PASSED ON DUE TO THIS! Promotions are handed out instead of being awarded/earned by those who deserve it Everything that goes on/affects the employee is always “hush, hush”. Being in the COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT (AKA A COLLECTION AGENT OF ANY SORT) you don’t feel like you are apart of SWBC. You feel like you’re more apart of AP ACCOUNT SERVICES. We are excluded from company outings due to our schedules and during the most important holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years) WE ARE NOT OFF ALL MARKED CALENDAR DAYS LIKE THE REST OF THE COMPANY! MEANING WE DO NOT GET TO SPEND THE SAME AMOUNT OF TIME WITH OUR FAMILIES DURING THE HOLIDAYS! Lack of work/life balance Instead of hiring enough people to get the job done, all of the work load is put on the little employees they do have Volunteer hours turn into mandatory hours if not enough people sign up to work extra hours System/software issue is a major complaint that the department has as a whole (Ackcelerant) Most but not all of upper management’s amount of knowledge is not what it should be for having an advanced position Most but not all of upper management (MANAGERS AND TEAM LEADS) are lazy (Yes, you’re employees notice this) Management doesn’t take personal discussions seriously Lack of strategic planning skills Poor decisions are made Promotions Instead of giving everyone a fair shot at a position management will offer the position to someone that previously applied in the past but was not chosen so that the job posting doesn’t have to be put up again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To whom this may concern... seeing that MOST of your employees have similar views on this company should mean something; this is not something that should be taken lightly. Management should get together and look at some of the things that their employees are pointing out and try and fix the issue. A lot of you’re employees are getting fed up with these decisions that are secretly being made, such as these new... positions coming up and being filled when no one was aware that these positions existed STOP WITH THE UNFAIRNESS! Post ALL JOB opportunities on workday and give EVERYONE a fair and equal opportunity to advance in the workplace! You will gladly be reported to the better business bureau/news/ whatever gets the publicity out there if this continues. Decision making... all I can say is make smarter decisions, foresee the outcomes of your decision before going through with anything. Stop trying to bribe your employees with food and jeans and calling it “employee appreciation” just so we can stay with your company. It doesn’t make up for everything that we put up with on a daily basis. Provide your employees with all the proper tools to get their job done, invest in a better software system (Ackcelerant). You should definitely do a knowledge check on team leads/managers to bridge the gap of those not being able to assist the employees and those that actually know what they are doing. Stop hiring just anyone off of the streets. Hire knowledgeable people who actually care to be at work and are not just showing up for a pay check. Everyone should be held accountable for their actions NO MATTER who they are. I could embarrass this company even more but I’m going to end it here, if I had to recommend a job to anyone it definitely wouldn’t be here. I noticed there was another review for the collections department written but immediately after it being posted there was a very professional review written boasting how amazing working for SWBC is; please don’t write reviews to counterattack the truth! ***SHARE SHARE SHARE MAKE THE COMPANY THINK ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE DOING BEFORE THEY END OF LOSING ALL OF THEIR GOOD EMPLOYEES ** DISCLAIMER: I can’t speak about the company as a whole, this view is strictly for the COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT. EMPLOYEES WITHIN AP ACCOUNT SERVICES HAVE PUT INPUT INTO THIS POST

    Show More
    SWBC2018-11-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SWBC full-time

    Pros

    Good heath insurance benefits and vacation

    Cons

    Dress code is business casual dress

    SWBC2018-08-07
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Inflexible, old-fashioned, disability-unfeiendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Draft Specialist in Scottsbluff, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SWBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good, benefits good AND affordable, they use the Workday site which has an app, and I had some really bright coworkers. There is a lot of opportunity for mobility at the Scottsbluff site.

    Cons

    Extremely gendered dress code with zero flexibility for even corporate fashion; my trainer bragged that she had 180 hours of vacation and she had never taken a day off; our clients are mortgage companies that treat their customers poorly; I am disabled and none of the badge-in doors were automatic, none of the bathroom doors were automatic, and my trainer audibly complained when I requested a minor seating... accommodation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the gendering out of the dress code. A proper and useful dress code addresses attire and appearance, NOT gender. Stop treating employees like robots who should never take time off. Teach your training staff how to approach people with disabilities with intelligence amd sensitivity. And for the love of pete, INSTALL ACCESSIBLE ENTRIES TO ALL BATHROOMS AND WORKSPACES.

    SWBC2018-07-28
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Great if you are a 'favorite'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SWBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty good benefits for the industry although we have watched a decline in the last few years of the company wanting to give bonuses/pay for healthcare. Pretty flexible with time off and understanding when life happens for the most part, and most co-workers are nice. The job itself is not too bad if you can keep from getting distracted with gossip and cliques, and keep numbers up. Its a pretty easy workload (when... you aren't having to jump in to help the slackers).

    Show More

    Cons

    Two words: DOUBLE STANDARD. There is a very big double standard here. I've watched them crack down on the dress code and send people home for wearing the SAME THING the favorites and supervisors get away with wearing all the time. Expect to have to follow rules that don't apply to the group of favorites. Like having to be available for phone calls but the 'favorites' don't have to. They also tell you your numbers... have to be at a certain percentage to work overtime, or to be promoted, but that rule does not apply to all. Same when it comes to getting written up. They never write anybody up for anything. ANYTHING! But recently they started writing people up for low numbers, but not everybody who has low numbers. If you have been here a long time, certain rules don't apply. I worked here for years and its getting worse. Management does nothing. They promote their faves. You can't say anything to HR because its NOT anonymous and your job will be in jeapordy if you do. The manager is nice but he only helps enable the double standard. He does nothing if you report how its unfair. But he will always defend his faves, which are more like his friends. HR does nothing. Kind of sad because this used to be a great place to work. Also, the company has grown the insurance department in the last few years but it has gotten so unorganized, nobody follows the same policies when keying insurance, its unfair to the borrowers. I wouldn't be surprised if somebody finds out and files a lawsuit. Glad I got out of there when I did.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of managers and start fresh. Once employees lose respect for their supervisors, they lose respect for the job/company. This is why you are seeing a decline.

    SWBC2018-05-18
  7. Helpful (10)

    "5 Months too long!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Processor in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SWBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lunch break, leaving for the day, weekends off, and paydays!

    Cons

    • Training for this position was the worst I’ve ever encountered. My first couple of weeks I sat with one of the manager’s favorites and she had to constantly change what she told me because she was incorrect or flat out didn’t know and had to ask for help because she was out and failed to read the changes that occurred while she was gone. It was very difficult to get one consistent answer because I sat with a total... of 4 people during my training and no one except my team lead followed the correct way and was able to give information without going back and change what she told me. • Their core values/mission statement is a joke. Considering management doesn’t abide by those values and statement. They do not even follow corporate policies. No smoking, but you can catch employees outside blowing smoke. When the manager doesn’t want them to get in trouble or get caught he tells them to smoke in their cars! Can’t make this up at all!! They pick and choose what policies they want to implement when the supervisors on the floor complain to the manager however, these same supervisors are doing the same EXACT things they’re complaining about. • Favoritism is everywhere in workplaces however, when it’s a small office such as this one it’s very noticeable. It allows the supervisors and their friends to feel empowered to do whatever and say whatever to other employees because there will not be any type consequences for them. I watched some employees get picked on by supervisors for no apparent reason at all. Sent home to change for “dress code” however their supervisor can came in with short tight skirt and same supervisor decided to write up certain employees up for having low numbers, but EVERYONE numbers was low on her team and in the office including mines. Pick and choose who they write up and who they won’t write up. • Every one of the supervisors are very rude and unprofessional. My first week there I heard my supervisor call a co-worker out by name and talk about how the co-worker never “carries her own weight” They talk freely about other employees in a very unprofessional manner as if it’s ok. It’s very common to hear supervisors talking bad about other employees at this office. Especially in the break room! • Predominantly women and that’s a HORRIBLE thing. These little girls are very immature. They pick and choose who they pick on. If you don’t kiss up to them they will attempt to make your work life more stressful. You’ll also have to hear about people’s relationships. Who they’re sleeping with and who they’re dating. You’ll hear about one of the supervisors and her partner sleeping with other women. Just a lot of information that’s not meant for the workplace!! Coworker told me she had to remove a nasty woman product from the bathroom stall. That’s the kind of people you have to work around smfh Just give you an idea of this topics that go on at this office. Again the manager does NOTHING about this when it’s brought to his attention. • The computer systems are HORRIBLE. Nothing ever seems to work correctly. It keeps you from keeping your numbers up and doing your job efficiently. • Very HIGH turnover rate. I resigned after 5 months and I was the 7th person to leave within those 5 months. I personally watch 6 people leave before me in the 5 months I was there. That should tell you what you already need to know about management and the work environment. • There is someone there with sticky fingers. An employee had her wallet stolen that had $300 in it. Also, another co-worker had her cell phone stolen right from her desk which was the last straw for her and caused her to quit. That employee was only there for 3 months if that. Your lunch will come up missing from time to time also. Management has yet to address any of those issues. • The pay is horrible for how much work that’s required of you. It’s too much work for little pay. $14 would be ok if all you was doing was answering phones, but your doing so much more that. For me the pay does not match at all. They will not tell you up front it’s a CALL CENTER POSITION. You will be taking inbound calls!! They will never mention that in the interview. They will portray it as you will spend “10%” of your time on the phone which is false. You’re taking inbound calls all day every day and making outbound calls also. • There is absolutely no chance for career advancement. The only move is to become a team lead, however you will not receive a raise and you’ll take on more responsibility for nothing at all. More stress with no pay increase. • Safety is a very big issue there. They will let any and everyone in the office on the work floor and that is very dangerous. No one signs in. They are pretty much allowed to walk right in at will. • The benefits are HORRIBLE through United healthcare. I have medicine that I paid $9 with my old insurance benefits. That jumped to $41 with these benefits. That’s a drastic jump. • Overall it’s a poorly ran place. It’s not somewhere I would recommend to my worst enemy. It’s VERY unorganized workplace. Everyone is not held to the same standards. If you are a favorite and in good with the favorites then you’re untouchable. There’s other reviews that would support exactly what I’m telling you. It’s no coincidence that 3/4 reviews for this specific office are terrible. The good one they recently received I’m almost certain it came from management itself or one of his favorites! Pathetic attempt to save face from what’s going on in that office. See other reviews “Don’t Work Here” “Great if you’re a favorite” and the one hidden on indeed “Kansas Service Center”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have ZERO advice for management. They’re successfully running employees away. My advice is for potential employees. Read ALL the reviews and realize if you accept the offer you should have an exit plan also. This is not a place to work long term if you want career advancement and more money. Neither one of those are going to happen being employed by SWBC at this office. The people there are miserable people who... couldn’t cut it in successful companies so they ended up at SWBC. If I had the reviews and knew what I know now I would of declined the interview.

    Show More
    SWBC2018-06-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SWBC full-time

    Pros

    The people are so friendly, everyone is focused on helping each other and making the company a better place. The pay is fair, the benefits are not as great as they could be, but the flexibility and work/home balance makes up for it. This company values intelligence and drive and has a lot of opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Lots of layoffs, and recently positions have been "discontinued" with no apparent rhyme or reason. A few members of upper management seem to talk a good game and push the real work onto their subordinates, and it's hard to understand how they are still here when many good people were let go. The dress code and technology are way behind the times. For example, there is a ban on hanging your jacket on your chair, any... type of jacket with a hood is banned, exposing non-offensive tattoos is banned, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in technology! Also, please understand that requiring non-customer facing employees to adhere to a strict dress code is antiquated and insulting.

    SWBC2017-06-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Wheels are falling off the bus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at SWBC full-time

    Pros

    Health benefits, wellness program, jeans on Friday

    Cons

    Massive uncertainty has obliterated job security. Layoffs, benefit reductions, and more work for less people. IT was making progress, but now with 20 percent loss of staff in last year everyone struggles to keep things running. Dress code is archaic (why can't we just wear jeans all the time?). Moved many IT staff to poor location increasing commute time. No flexibility to have any remote work days.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company, or just do whatever it is you're preparing to do. Quit with the smoke and mirrors and just be honest with your employees and quit pretending that the owners are going to be around forever. What's the secession plan?

    SWBC2017-06-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Company is OK but the IT department had some issues at the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SWBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has decent benefits overall and they have a nice profit sharing plan. There were a lot of nice and helpful coworkers. The owners are active in the community and seem to really care about their employees.

    Cons

    The way the company was set up it was really hard to get a handle on the main thing that SWBC actually did as a company. At times it seemed like the company was a jumble of unrelated products. The company did not seem to have a clear expectation of what the IT department should actually do. IT employees in the past have been dismissed for essentially doing what they were told to do. IT employees in the past have... been told in so many words that they can be replaced. The company adheres to a traditional business dress code 3 days a week for six months out of the year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop a strategy that makes it easier to explain how SWBC makes money. Try to be more transparent about the company's financial situation. Make managers develop realistic plans and hold them, not employees, accountable if corners are cut or controls short circuited.

    SWBC2014-08-15
Found 9 reviews
</>Embed