SYKES Customer Care Professional Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Customer Care Professional

SYKES Customer Care Professional Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
12 Ratings
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work At Home Customer Care Professional in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the balance they provided.

    Cons

    I wish I could go back as a part time employee.

    SYKES2020-02-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Overstaffing, not enough hours to make a living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work At Home Customer Care Professional in Topeka, KS
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GREAT supervisory staff; wonderful account managers. Immediate management team is a great group of people.

    Cons

    You won't be scheduled the number of hours you thought you would.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-06-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Highly Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Professional in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Paid training, Benefits; The onboarding process is pretty easy. The interview process was also pretty easy. Fast communication.

    Cons

    No guarantees; Bought everything I needed for the training that was scheduled to come up and at the last minute they said the training was canceled. Offered another position that paid less and was for sales. I wasted my time and money and have to search for another job now

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-04-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Alpine Access should not have sold out to Sykes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Work At Home Customer Care Professional in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was eligible for FMLA after one year and they were very accommodating with that. They adjusted my schedule each time I requested. Alpine Access was a nice small company that cared about its employees.

    Cons

    Pay sucks WAH companies save so much money having agents work from how one would think they would compensate their employees fairly. Once Sykes took over we had major system issues. They kept changing the scheduling and PTO system. they want you to request time off 2 weeks in advance however, they respond to the request on the day of or one day before so you can never make plans. They only promoted their favorites. I didn't know favoritism could be shown in a WAH environment but they do. I trained several people and even worked free when a new class came in to help them.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-10-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Be careful what you wish for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Professional in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, different shifts available, Great support from staff

    Cons

    Getting stuck in a six month contract with a client. Most of the Cons are directed towards the Client I service Frontier Communications: I am very unhappy with the client I am servicing. They are just a horrible company that puts all their focus on sales and none on customer service. It is constant calls of customers who hate the company. Team Leads offer no support. Mine was MIA unless she wanted to talk about sales Chat room to get support or even a supervisor is ridiculous. No way should you have to keep a customer on hold 20 minutes to speak to a supervisor.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-07-18

    SYKES Response

    August 30, 2017HR Representative

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We're very proud of the amazing teamwork from all the dedicated professionals at SYKES. Being in a customer facing role is never easy, especially in a work-from-home position. That's why we make a large investment in training, to provide the tools and criteria to empower confident decisions and ultimately find a win-win solution for both customer and client.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "CCP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care Professional in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work from home.

    Cons

    If you run into sudden tech issues which you never have if your one of the agents that dont have tech issues, you have to take the blame for it, rather than it being their equipment or systems. Lost job due to tech issues. Been with them since 2012 and now term for this. Benefits not that great either, dont cost a lot, but you also get what you pay for, which is nothing.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-05-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Professional in West Chazy, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    About the only Pro is it is work from home

    Cons

    There are quiet a few cons about working for this company. The first and foremost is that when you email the account manager or any other part of the company they never respond back to you. You can request for a day off but there is no guarantee that they will give it to you off no matter why you are requesting it. They make you feel like you need to have your life revolve around them. I was a CCP for their Xbox Program and was released or terminated, how ever you look at it, for having excessive absenteeism. There were a few times that I had to call out because we had lost either power or internet here and I was unable to work. Another down fall with this company is that the pay sucks for the amount of work you have to do. this is just to name a few of the cons for working for Sykes-home.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-03-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care Professional in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    The best part really was that I got to work from the comfort of my own home. The job wasn't too complicated.

    Cons

    The cons just about everything else. The pay is lousy and no good benefits. The hours sucked and it was hard to get time off for anything.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-01-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "CCP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care Professional in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent job to get you by.

    Cons

    No one will work with you on scheduling. Hard when life issues arise. I was a victim of Hurricane Matthew, lost my home and just about everything I own. I notified my team lead, which referred me to HR. I asked about a leave of absence in regards to my situation, they told me none could be granted and to log in daily. Needless to say after 18 days, I received a text from my team lead asking me when I will return as I have been out for a couple of weeks. I could only move as fast as assistance would allow and it's not a right now process. So after not returning the following week, I contact them to let them know that I was yet having issues as far as my internet and phone services we're concerned and she almost ready to fire me as my absences were already high. I am a single mother of four children, things happen at times where I have to tend to them, being the reason for my absences. But they tell me they will only extend another week and then they will have to let me go. How fair is that for someone who has been with them over a year and has gone through a natural disaster? I have become completely disappointed with this company and would not recommend them to anyone that is looking for a stable work environment.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-11-11

    SYKES Response

    November 26, 2016Senior Manager, Global Communications and Digital Marketing

    Thank you for your comments. We do understand your frustration and understand that our work can be demanding at times. However, we do have programs in place such as our work from home positions which allow for greater flexibility. We are building better mechanisms for adjusting schedules more fluidly without diminishing the excellent customer care we’re known for. We're very sorry to hear about the challenges, but thank you very much for your time at SYKES.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Work at home - good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Professional in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's nice to be able to avoid commuting, especially when weather is bad. Good way to supplement income, although I don't think I would rely on it as the sole means of income.

    Cons

    The training was on the iffy side - systems that are used on a daily basis weren't up consistently, and even after being on the phones for over a week, logins weren't accepted in some areas. You can't do your job properly if you can't access some of the necessary tools. Not enough trainers and mentors for all of the new hires to ask questions to. Having to wait 10+ minutes for an answer/direction to find answers while a customer is on the phone is truly unacceptable. Put yourself in the place of the customer, and you'll understand. Was told to transfer the call when systems couldn't be accessed. If you're off the phone for any reason, you rarely get paid for it, no matter what the reason. Help desk wants to blame problems on the employee. Many in my training class had very little computer experience, and hours in training were lost because the trainer was constantly having to walk classmates through logging into systems or send them to one of the help desks to have logins reset. .

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-12-05

    SYKES Response

    February 9, 2017HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such specific feedback. So many of your ideas are fantastic and we will work to weave those into our continuous improvement plans. Best of luck to you in all of your endeavors.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews