SYKES Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Team Leader Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
18 Ratings
  1. "I love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Wise, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Sykes for almost 9 years. In the area that I live the pay is above average. You have access to a full suite of benefits within 90 days. I have had so many opportunities for travel and learning. I have developed skills that would benefit me in any work environment.

    Cons

    Call center is very fast paced, not everyone sees that as a con.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-01-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A legitimate and solid company to work for.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than comparable companies.

    SYKES2019-06-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Sykes is not people first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work from home is the only thing

    Cons

    They throw people away like trash

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-07-17

    SYKES Response

    July 22, 2019HR Representative

    Thank you for being a valuable part of SYKES for over 8 years! We appreciate you for sharing your experience with us. We are committed to finding ways to enhance the employee experience and we're sorry that there are aspects that have fallen short for you in some respects. Your feedback will allow us to make the necessary improvements to make SYKES an even stronger and rewarding place to work, learn and grow!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Run away fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers. The bond with my team as we all struggled with huge issues.

    Cons

    Management has a very adversarial attitude towards employees. Every employee is expendable and they let you know it.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team LEader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Virtual work at home environment allowed good life/work balance. Had good experiences with most management and co-workers.

    Cons

    Lack of professional development opportunities and paths for internal movement. Compensation below average for similar non-virtual positions.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Stressed Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher starting pay vs other local companies Flexibility in scheduling Ability to make relationships

    Cons

    Inconsistent incentive programs Constant changing of workload without additional pay Constant fear of demotion

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-11-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sykes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, fun environment, recognition for outstanding performance

    Cons

    Upper management "click", the pay sucked, multiple warn notices throughout employment

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-09-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The team I manage. I love being able to get to know them, and watch them succeed!

    Cons

    Stressful at times, upper management has a disconnect from the floor.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Room for improvement, but great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, the flexibility, the potential for advancement, several options for the program you could be working on, lots of potential for learning on the job

    Cons

    They don't always follow through with what they say they will, there tends to be a lot of variation in leadership styles so your day-to-day can be made or broken by who you report to, policies change with not enough notice

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company for beginning your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Better environment than other call centers. Great place for starting your career.

    Cons

    Not enough room for advancement. Pay caps are really low.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-09-09

    SYKES Response

    November 20, 2017HR Representative

    Thank you for the kind words and encouragement. The unique combination of training, team-based work groups, flexible schedules and competitive pay does indeed make SYKES a great place to launch your career. Many thanks to our Team Leads and Trainers, who help indentify and nurture young talent with promise.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews