SYKES Technical Support Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Technical Support Representative Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
17 Ratings
  1. "Tech Support QBO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and awesome managers. Always had great support and almost 3 weeks of vacation a year.

    Cons

    Operating hours are only between 9a-9p hard for someone used to 3rd shift work.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-01-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Tenured Floor Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in North Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing once you get to know your team.

    Cons

    This is a very very toxic work place. I worked for this company for 2 years out of loyalty. I loved my team and even management but there is a lot of favoritism like they write people up over stuff and for employees they favorite they take write ups away and let them slide. Management barely has floor support available and has supervisors going into meetings everyday leaving the floor empty with agents that need help with no assistance at all. The information you learn in training to even getting help from people in charge is completely mixed information one person tells you to do one thing and another person something else saying that person was wrong and then you still get wrote up even though you were following the information given to you. Management mixes with employees even married ones with their spouses working there, buying them gifts and letting them get out of write ups. The director even cut everyone to be on one schedule to save the company money this place is going down hill fast. No flexible schedules at all. there is other call centers where you’re doing the exact same thing as this place and you make more I wish I would of realized that sooner. They literally also give you bonuses (earned by stats which is a monthly amount) instead of a raise. There has been people working there for years and instead of raising the pay every couple of months they still have employees working for 12 which caused half all the tenured agents to leave.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-10-24
  3. "Technical Support Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, great bonuses. Staff and management really care about you as an individual.

    Cons

    Its a call center. The cons are obvious.

    SYKES2019-07-23

    SYKES Response

    August 2, 2019HR Representative

    Thanks for being a part of SYKES! We continuously look for ways to enhance employee benefits and create an inspiring work environment. We understand that work can be challenging at times and want to thank you for your dedication and hard work.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "You are Nothing but a number!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in Deland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job with a paycheck

    Cons

    Low pay, expensive healthcare, very little PTO, they treat you like you are just a number that they can replace very easily, no holiday pay, no maternity leave. If you can get a job anywhere else I would recommend it. They bought our contract from another company and they cut our commission drastically, raised our prices on healthcare and said we no longer get yearly raises. All upper management continues to get their raises though. Crappy for the employee but wonderful for the bottom line business.

    SYKES2019-02-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Syke's Wise, VA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in Wise, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to speak of.

    Cons

    When you live in an area that has nothing entry level to offer to students with degrees in a quantitative discipline (unless you have insider connections with the small surrounding companies that might have something relevant) the only option is Syke's. Saying that, Syke's has no regard for those with College degrees. What's most upsetting is that their screening process for interviewees is non-existent. They hire people with no sense of professionalism and frankly no intelligence. I attribute that however to the higher ups of the company who are just trying to fill seats to increase the LOB's that they can handle, effectively increasing the contract size and profit for the overall company. Even if you don't have a degree, but you are intelligent and know the LOB well enough to support others, there is a preference for those who have 'history' with company yet their product knowledge, behavior, and general intelligence are not indicative of such.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-08-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Position was work from home. Callers weren’t too bad in terms of rudeness. 3 breaks a day, two 10 minute and one 30 minute. They send most of the equipment.

    Cons

    Not enough training before hand. Barely any support once you go live. When you do receive support, they are very condescending. Training and production contradict each other. The majority of the training does not prepare you for being on live calls. You are not given enough time each day or in between calls to catch up on other cases or answer emails. But you are expected to have all of your work completed the same day. Poor management.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-10-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best reasons to work for Sykes is the convenience of working from home, easy start up. Sykes sends you a computer, keyboard, and mouse all you have to do is supply the monitor. A desk, and a quiet environment - set up a home office with a door. A landline phone as well The interview process is very easy. You are in a group setting, where a host explains the job and does a couple of poll questions to see if you are a fit for company. You go through a series of different rooms as you progress through the interview process. By the end of the process you will be told if you are hired or not. Afterwards, you will fill out standard paperwork, have background check done, and will be told your training start date. The trainers & team leads are very supportive

    Cons

    Your training pay is your state's minimum wage. After you complete training your pay will increase

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-07-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unreliable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and Technical Support Representative in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a real job Real pay check Not a scam It is a legitimate job when they have work to offer.

    Cons

    While they expect you to sacrifice everything during your shift window, which includes but not limited to denying you your scheduled lunches and breaks, but they will also tell you that you are not allowed to use the restroom because "We are AHOD" (all hands on deck); and the entire time they ride you about having your Metrics meet their high standards. They are non stop stressing how exceptional we need to be for the client, but when it comes to them returning the favor and guaranteeing the client commits to their pledges of employment. I was laid off because client was doing away with at home crew, then asked back and assured that employment was secured only to turn around 2 weeks later to be informed that I was laid off again because the client changed their mind and only intend on keeping the Manila crew! So Sykes did not lose the client, but rather than guaranteeing the job they promised me and the other at home agents here in America, they took away our positions here in the United States and gave them to the crew working in the Philippines. Walmart pays their employees more than what you get as an hourly wage, and this is of course after only earning your state's minimum during the time while in training.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Technical Support Representative in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES for more than a year

    Pros

    * Paid training * Interactive interface ( they have an instant messenger so you can interact with your co workers managers everyone *paid hourly not by talk time ( so if its low call volume you still get paid for sitting there) *30 min non paid breaks *PTO

    Cons

    * high turnover rate *frequent lay offs * Low paying jobs everything is your state min. or 8.00

    Continue reading
    SYKES2015-10-21
  10. "Work at Home Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Technical Support Representative in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES for less than a year

    Pros

    No travel expenses. Don't have to get dressed up. Work from home.

    Cons

    Must remain at your computer during your entire shift. Zero noise tolerance. Must buy your own office equipment.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2015-07-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews