SYKES Technical Support Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Technical Support Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "QBO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tier I Technical Support in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere!! Wonderful support and people!!

    Cons

    No cons really Great place!!

    SYKES2019-02-11
  2. "Wanting to Work Here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work from home, Full Time positions

    Cons

    Goes by state minimum wage, should be paid what call centers make - not less! Benefits are high, Have to re-apply for new clients every 4 mths, if not hired on.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-02-16
  3. "Work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Kissimmee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great support, good benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is below average.

    SYKES2020-01-17
  4. "A work at home job that is not competitive at all with pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work at home

    Cons

    The health care is VERY expensive, even if you are a single adult! The equipment that they send you has poorly designed software. That fact that THEY WILL NOT REIMBURSE YOU for Internet/Phone Very UNcompetitive salary

    Continue reading
    SYKES2020-01-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Tenured Floor Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in North Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing once you get to know your team.

    Cons

    This is a very very toxic work place. I worked for this company for 2 years out of loyalty. I loved my team and even management but there is a lot of favoritism like they write people up over stuff and for employees they favorite they take write ups away and let them slide. Management barely has floor support available and has supervisors going into meetings everyday leaving the floor empty with agents that need help with no assistance at all. The information you learn in training to even getting help from people in charge is completely mixed information one person tells you to do one thing and another person something else saying that person was wrong and then you still get wrote up even though you were following the information given to you. Management mixes with employees even married ones with their spouses working there, buying them gifts and letting them get out of write ups. The director even cut everyone to be on one schedule to save the company money this place is going down hill fast. No flexible schedules at all. there is other call centers where you’re doing the exact same thing as this place and you make more I wish I would of realized that sooner. They literally also give you bonuses (earned by stats which is a monthly amount) instead of a raise. There has been people working there for years and instead of raising the pay every couple of months they still have employees working for 12 which caused half all the tenured agents to leave.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-10-24
  6. "Technical Support Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, great bonuses. Staff and management really care about you as an individual.

    Cons

    Its a call center. The cons are obvious.

    SYKES2019-07-23

    SYKES Response

    August 2, 2019HR Representative

    Thanks for being a part of SYKES! We continuously look for ways to enhance employee benefits and create an inspiring work environment. We understand that work can be challenging at times and want to thank you for your dedication and hard work.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Good if you are in a complicated life situation, but not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Technical Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reliable pay. The work is not too hard, but challenging enough to not be mundane. You get to work with a variety of clients and gather a range of work experience along the way. For certain programs, there are a lot of people to go to for support and in my experience they are quite friendly and willing to help. There are bonuses offered after a certain amount of time working for the company, small pay increases, benefits, and internal job opportunities.

    Cons

    The pay does not always match the difficulty of the job. In my experience, training is rushed and you go into the job not even fully understanding how to work the systems. Depending on the client and time of year, there may be a shortage of work and your hours may be cut on the spot. Switched from client to client and laid off in between. You can work for one client for as little as a week or for a year. There's not a ton of stability.

    SYKES2019-03-14
  8. "Tech Support QBO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and awesome managers. Always had great support and almost 3 weeks of vacation a year.

    Cons

    Operating hours are only between 9a-9p hard for someone used to 3rd shift work.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-01-29
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Shorted on pay, nickel and dime your hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home they give you the computer you need to work

    Cons

    they nickel and dime hours payroll corrections you have to jump through hoops to fix

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-01-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "You are Nothing but a number!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in Deland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job with a paycheck

    Cons

    Low pay, expensive healthcare, very little PTO, they treat you like you are just a number that they can replace very easily, no holiday pay, no maternity leave. If you can get a job anywhere else I would recommend it. They bought our contract from another company and they cut our commission drastically, raised our prices on healthcare and said we no longer get yearly raises. All upper management continues to get their raises though. Crappy for the employee but wonderful for the bottom line business.

    SYKES2019-02-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 98 reviews