SYKES "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,393 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Had some bad rap, but has come a long way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Meridian, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture has taken a huge turn around with the new site director. Leaders are actually invested in their people. Lots of fun activities now.

    Cons

    its a call center... so attendance is required. Kind of the name of the game for a call center job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing things the right direction

    SYKES2020-01-18
  2. "I love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Wise, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Sykes for almost 9 years. In the area that I live the pay is above average. You have access to a full suite of benefits within 90 days. I have had so many opportunities for travel and learning. I have developed skills that would benefit me in any work environment.

    Cons

    Call center is very fast paced, not everyone sees that as a con.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key, and they do a great job with it.

    SYKES2020-01-10
  3. "working at the call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the environment was ok to work in

    Cons

    the call center was a bit loud

    Advice to Management

    more comfortable working environment

    SYKES2019-10-04
  4. "The Future of Customer Care is here today"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Customer Success in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is really focused and investing in Digital Transformation Solutions that will change the "game" for the Call Center BPO industry.

    Cons

    With the Company's strategy shifting there are no obvious Cons at this point.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the momentum going!

    SYKES2019-09-21
  5. "Technical Support Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, great bonuses. Staff and management really care about you as an individual.

    Cons

    Its a call center. The cons are obvious.

    SYKES2019-07-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Uncertain job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Call center environment- job was easy- benefits were ok- staff was good to work with.

    Cons

    Sykes acquires contracts for major Medical, travel, health and tech support services- you think you’re applying for a permanent position but in reality you could all be laid off if contracts are not renewed by the vendor. So no job stability .

    Advice to Management

    Keep the employees in the loop, it’s only fair to allow them to look for work before they are axed.

    SYKES2019-07-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's still a call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice installations, insurance and they offer courses to employees.

    Cons

    Call Center metrics are held against you even in technical jobs.

    SYKES2019-06-13
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Unprofessional, SYKES is a JOKE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Sumter, SC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sykes at first seemed to be very family oriented until after Orientation.

    Cons

    Everything about this job will potentially get you “promoted to customer” as they would say it. I’ve never had a job that referenced so much about getting fired. I felt like I was in high school. We constantly went over being fired more than actually learning our job during training. And the role plays in my opinion were totally unprofessional. My trainer seemed like he wanted to embarrass you instead of help you. If you were doing good on them he would add something to humiliate you in front of everyone. I’ve worked in a call center at 2 other companies and none made me feel the way this company’s training did. I’m experienced with angry customers and the way those role plays were done were definitely out of line. Everyday I wanted to quit. I couldn’t wait to get of training. Of the 5 OJT trainers there was one that was just very mean and rude and at this point I knew this company was not for me. I ran as fast as I could.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your trainers on professionalism. All OJT trainers should be on same accord. Enforce the dress code policy.

    SYKES2019-06-04
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morristown, TN

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    The pay is excellent for call center work

    Cons

    Sometimes the job gets a bit difficult

    SYKES2019-02-12
  10. Helpful (13)

    "I wish I could say it was a better experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Work At Home Customer Service Representative in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have a chance to work from home.

    Cons

    The training is very rushed, the pay is to low, the benefits are terrible, disorganized, lack of proper leadership, you have to pay a lot to start with equipment and high speed internet ECT and the pay is less then a McDonald's employee flipping burgers. They want an unrealistic amount of silence in and around your home. When I worked in a call center they played music for us there were people walking around talking and at home it gets very boring. You are not aloud to have any background noise period. Unrealistic goals set for turbo tax. They are told not to spend more then 14 mins on average on a call with a customer, but by nature these customers need more time, so reps constantly issue call backs instead of helping them, which is bad customer service. 80 percent of the calls I had were call backs and they could have been helped the first time. They were trying to keep their aht down. They did not properly trained us, then they put us in production and we couldn't ask anyone a question. When we did it would take an hour for them to respond, our sups wouldn't answer questions at all, they only wanted to post 5times a day in the room that there was a possible bonus to one person out of hundreds with the best stats. Those were the days I had the most call backs. When I worked in Ancestry my sup did answer questions and the trading was a little better, plus we had people we could ask questions to. Never agree to work for turbo tax, it's terrible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees better, offer real benefits. The cost of living isn't what it was 30 years ago and 10 an hour isn't a living wage anywhere in the United States anymore. Better train the staff. And hold supervisors who do not want to do their job accountable.

    SYKES2019-02-12
Found 104 reviews