SYKES "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,393 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very Professional, yet personal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trust Advisor in Lakeland, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family feel, professional atmosphere, and fun training program.

    Cons

    Customer service reviews were oddly handled. Easy to misunderstand. The pay wasn't enough.

    Advice to Management

    Provide support at all times and to everyone, not just to top sellers. Encouraging everyone will result in higher profits.

    SYKES2019-12-03
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fairfield, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Salary for W@H Customer Service

    Cons

    Very.. disorganized training model. More focus on CS than Working on the Backend

    Advice to Management

    Training was real rough. We went through 4 weeks of "Sales/Customer service Training" and then a week of actual backend systems traning, going into nesting a lot of us were overwhelmed.. I would rethink that model.

    SYKES2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Dont"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Rockford, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home is the only positive

    Cons

    Job was supposed to be customer service and turned into sales...management was horrible if someone wanted to speak to a supervisor you were on hold for 2 or more hours and getting yelled at the whole time cause supervisors didn't want to take calls it was terrible

    SYKES2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not Bad for Arkansas when disabled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fort Smith, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always able to make overtime

    Cons

    Pressure cooker, you always have to be faster! Customer service is a far second. Advancement opportunities are good, because of the high turn over rate.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the constant pressure. You might actually have people that will stay. Also, offer part time work.

    SYKES2019-10-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company, Bad Client"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ontario, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sykes is contracted by other companies to provide customer service to their customers. I was employed by Sykes working as a tech support agent for a major cable company. Sykes itself was good, I have no complaints about their company or my treatment while I worked there. You just have to be good with customer service and okay with repeating the same phrases over and over when you take calls. Definitely need to be computer literate if you are telecommuting as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    However, the cable company I worked for that was the client of Sykes did not end up being a good place to work. They provided excellent training, but often when I was speaking with a customer to fix their problem there would be some sort of issue that prevented me from being able to do so, and I would have to take the flack from the customer. It was extremely awkward and unpleasant at times. For example, a customer would complain that their technician didn't show up for their appointment and all you could do was offer another appointment, to which the customer would say "well what if they don't show up again?" and the only answer you could offer was "then call back and book another one"... not easy to end that call. Their technical and customer service systems/tools would often go down too, which made it extremely difficult to do your job, and again you were left apologizing to customers on behalf of their company. I expected to be apologizing for the issues they were calling in for, but instead apologizing and try to correct for the company's lack of organization or efficiency became the main job. With all that said, I'm sure my experience was very specific to that particular client, and my experience with Sykes itself was completely fine. Definitely worth a try to see if it is right for you, as telecommuting can be very convenient for your lifestyle.

    Show More
    SYKES2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very friendly company to work for. Helpful when struggling on issues.

    Cons

    Phone systems and servers as well as vpn are in great need of updates. Connections time out and fail to load on a very regular basis. Is extremely frustrating trying to solve customer service issues while battling inside tech issues

    Advice to Management

    See above

    SYKES2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to work from home.

    Cons

    1. Obviously there will always be competition. Because the Client does want to put all their eggs in one company for customer service. So the program is always changing. 2. They changed metrics. Like good metrics means you get Performance pay. Since I’ve been on the client program they changed this numerous times so they can light a fire under their MRA to beat the competitors. 3. It wasn’t always selling on this program. But the program is now focusing on up selling membership renewal even when a 69 year old member is good for 3 years. 4. If you don’t meet the conversions-they will give you a verbal warning. This didn’t start until recently and they cited it’s the client. Mind you when you first get hired on they don’t mention anything about up selling. The program is now hiring Rep who is now solely focus on selling. 5. The pay is $10.00. It was 9.50hr but after trump tax cut for the wealthy they decided to give a pay raise. 6. Research different work at home jobs 7. This is a good for perhaps a work at home mother/wife or disable person who has additional sources of income. But if you rely on this as your only source of income. You won’t be able to pay mortgage, utilities, car payment, and miscellaneous bills i.e. groceries .

    Show More
    SYKES2019-09-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "It's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Seattle, WA

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Convenience of working from home. Not having to purchase work attire and save money on commute and lunch.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Minimum wage based on your state. Was laid off from what I was told would be a permanent position then was offered a web cam customer service position 1 week notice was given.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more options if you plan on pulling an assignment and 2 weeks notice would be more helpful then just barely 6 days.

    SYKES2019-08-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "high turn over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Morristown, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some really great people.

    Cons

    Stressful job because of high pressure sales when it was told to be a customer service job.

    Advice to Management

    Hard to push sales of Directv to a unhappy customer that is angry.

    SYKES2019-08-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kingstree, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Give you the experience you need as a customer service representative If you put in the work it’s guaranteed you’ll move up in the company

    Cons

    Unprofessional environment it’s a lot of kids being hired and you can tell. While the it was $9.50 hr Im not sure it could’ve increased by now

    Advice to Management

    Restrictions should be on who’s hired so that work environment can be better for the ones who want to actually work.

    SYKES2019-08-06
Found 122 reviews