SYKES "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,409 Ratings
  1. "Amazing company with amazing people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chat Agent in Panama City, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The personal attention each team member gets is second to none. When you have an idea that could improve the way something is done, management actually listens!

    Cons

    It can be a little tricky to maintain customer service scores but it is nothing major.

    SYKES2019-06-30

    SYKES Response

    July 8, 2019HR Representative

    We are so glad to hear that our vision of providing a working environment where employees feel supported and engaged was achieved in your experience! We understand that management can make or break a work experience and we focus on providing leaders with the tools to be successful and effective. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "No reason to work hard here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work at home, although that's not really much of a positive as you can't deduct the heat and electricity, the phone line, the A/C, etc. from taxes. You may save on gas, but it will cost you other ways that you won't get back. Starting off with paying for your application. It's a job of convenience, if you need to be at home. That's about it. Otherwise it's just another low-wage (basically min-wage) customer service job with few prospects of advancing.

    Cons

    It really doesn't matter how hard you work, they will get you. I was one of the top agents on my team. I was always top 1-3 in a group of about 20+. And because of that I got paid 50 cents more per hour. Or $20/week. Well I had a bad call where I did something wrong. And apparently it was bad enough that SYKES got fined by the client. But to me it was an honest mistake and hardly catastrophic. But for this they yanked my 50 cent bonus even though I was still top 1-3. They said because of that call, I wouldn't get the 50 cents for 6 months probation. Well they are smart enough to give us lists of performance. And I could see that if I just worked 1/2 as much, I'd still be the middle of the pack. So that's what I did. I stopped making an effort. And when I was ahead in my call time, I'd put people on hold and go to the bathroom. Or go grab a snack. Then I got lazy and just stopped helping people. After all, I knew what the minimum I had to do to be in the middle. So I just stopped trying. Then I quit. I figured if I wanted to come back, it would be easy. And what did I have to lose?? I was making less than I had 3 years earlier. The pay never goes up so Alpine/Sykes is willing to let qualified people quit. Not really smart. Especially when they punish someone after they learn a lesson on what not to do. You see, knowledge should be rewarded especially when Sykes doesn't train you. They give you this online guide that's 10,000s of pages. And you have to Google what to do. This is a horrible way to work. And so you often just guess at what to do. You guess what seems to make sense to do. And sometimes you're wrong. Like I was. So if you think you're doing something right, you keep doing it. And the only way you find out you're not doing it right is by a review. The job itself is not enjoyable. If you like angry people yelling at you non-stop, trying to get them off the phone in under 5 minutes, only to have another person come on to yell at you, well you may enjoy it. The benefits are HORRIBLE. Thanks to Obamacare, I had to pay for the worst health care I've ever had. Honestly, I didn't know who to call to see a doctor. I didn't know if I had to pay or not. I never used it because it was so INTENTIONALLY complicated, you didn't want to get stuck with a huge medical bill for a simple doctor visit. It's another reason I quit. I actually liked it better when I didn't have to PAY for their health insurance.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-06-19

    SYKES Response

    June 24, 2019HR Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to finding ways to enhance employee benefits and we're sorry that this fell short for you in some respects. We honestly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and are actively committed to getting stronger and making improvements.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a Work from Home job.....

    Cons

    No time off...no vacation or sick time...accumulate pto, but can’t use it...the fact that u are a script reader, not actually taught how to assist anyone....NO CUSTOMER SERVICE...funny cause that is your job title...NO CARE FOR THE EMPLOYEES...No direction and no support system....if you like being a robot and never being offered a raise, then this is a great job for you...This job treats their employees like a number and when they are done with you they shut you down and move to the next monkey in line...it’s the most unorganized company with no ability for you to make a future for yourself...they sell you the world, but they deliver nothing.....it’s a heartless organization filled with robotic people who have no ability to further their future...my trainer is now answering phones at 10.00 per hr, cause training is complete...it’s sad to see how little a Customer Service Company, actually doesn’t care for their money makers....it’s even sadder to see how much this company lacks in customer service skills towards their own employees... I did not even know what or who I was working for till 1 month into my so called training...This company has lasted 40 years and I can’t even begin to understand how....They help big industries offer lousy customer service so that it alleviates payment of services....we do not help anyone and we were not taught to help anyone, all we were taught was how to say the customers name 3 times in a conversation, no dead air, read all disclaimers, and most importantly read only what’s on your screen...use your KB, aka knowledge base to show you procedures to route disputes and grievances and claims throughout the system so that when the providers finally, if they ever did, get a straight answer, it was too late for them to get their claims paid...Nailed for timely filing....this company offers a ton of incentives but never does it pay them...ITS A JOKE...!!! They are a complete hoax, I wish the world knew that when u call your insurance Company or your Discover card, most likely you are talking to an unskilled third party employee who really isn’t qualified to answer your questions or get you the help you need, but you can certainly be assured that they will hit the QA points of a good customer service rep...remember no dead air, document, read all the disclaimers, and don’t forget the post call survey script...Sykes should be reported to the better business bureau for its complete lack of compliance with work ethics and employee statutes...Disrespectful and unprofessional ignorant (meaning unintelligent) group of people I have ever worked for... you are expect to keep up 2 email addresses, Spark, which is an instant message application, an adobe room, hot sheets, and lets not forget this all most be done while you are answering back to back calls....Never are you paid for any of this to be done before or after work....oh and let me add that your work also includes short notice for mandatory training, which is before and after work...meetings at 9 pm and then training at all hrs, never asking what time slot would best suite your needs...And if you do not attend it is held against you.....we have lost100’s of people because of the upper managements incompetency and disorganization...

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-04-23
  4. Helpful (13)

    "I wish I could say it was a better experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Work At Home Customer Service Representative in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have a chance to work from home.

    Cons

    The training is very rushed, the pay is to low, the benefits are terrible, disorganized, lack of proper leadership, you have to pay a lot to start with equipment and high speed internet ECT and the pay is less then a McDonald's employee flipping burgers. They want an unrealistic amount of silence in and around your home. When I worked in a call center they played music for us there were people walking around talking and at home it gets very boring. You are not aloud to have any background noise period. Unrealistic goals set for turbo tax. They are told not to spend more then 14 mins on average on a call with a customer, but by nature these customers need more time, so reps constantly issue call backs instead of helping them, which is bad customer service. 80 percent of the calls I had were call backs and they could have been helped the first time. They were trying to keep their aht down. They did not properly trained us, then they put us in production and we couldn't ask anyone a question. When we did it would take an hour for them to respond, our sups wouldn't answer questions at all, they only wanted to post 5times a day in the room that there was a possible bonus to one person out of hundreds with the best stats. Those were the days I had the most call backs. When I worked in Ancestry my sup did answer questions and the trading was a little better, plus we had people we could ask questions to. Never agree to work for turbo tax, it's terrible.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-02-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Heartless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Malvern, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good pay when they pay right,

    Cons

    You never see your sales. They always change your payrate. They change policy constantly. They do make you sale and no, it isnt applied to the end of a call. You can be assisting a lady who just lost her husband and have them in your ear saying " did you offer directv yet" it's a very uncaring atmosphere for customer service.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2019-02-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Job for the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great part time gig only! This is an awful full time job the pay sucks!

    Cons

    Low pay, poor management, poor training, very little support! I just got hired here and it’s terrible this company pays $10 an hour for a tremendous amount of work. Agents often get yelled at & verbally abused by horrible angry customers. They expect you to take a ton of calls with only two paid 10min breaks. It is one of the worst jobs I’ve ever had. I work on the Abercrombie & Fitch account and they are truly wasting their money paying this greedy company to perform customer service. It’s all rather shameful. They pay you so very poorly with an overwhelming amount of calls. You can hardly get to the bathroom it’s so very stressful. I took this job in desperation and now I’m looking for another job. Turn over is extremely high for customer service agents at Sykes.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-12-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "This is a decent fill in job while you look for something else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    Most of the people you work with are cool

    Cons

    Dishonest about hourly pay. The $12/HR they advertise includes a $2-3/HR bonus that is almost unattainable They change the sales requirements and bonus requirements to levels that are almost impossible to obtain You are expected to live to customers You are expected to work off the clock finishing sales They don't care about real customer service just what you can sell Quality assurance will penalize you even when you do nothing wrong They have an extremely high employee turnover rate Managers, floor support and supervisors are unqualified

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-11-01
  8. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Great learning experience team work atmosphere

    Cons

    Same as with any other Customer Service must adapt

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-05-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "So unprofessional- Fraudulent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I have been working at SYKES

    Pros

    The only pro about Sykes was it was very inclusive of gay and trans people

    Cons

    This company is completely unprofessional. They will hire ANYONE , and do not care about the quality of work. You go through weeks of paid training in which you learn a lot of difficult information that you will never use. Once you get to the floor you go to "Nesting" which is pointless, because it is the same as being on the floor. You get no floor support and you have never been taught how to solve the customer issues. Supervisors refuse to take supervisor calls and even reprimand employees for having too many supervisor calls. My log in information stopped working so I had to listen in to other employees calls, that is when I learned that at least 50 percent of the employees there were hanging up on customers or transferring their calls just to get rid of them. Employees who had 5 star customer service ratings were fired for low sales, whereas employees who did not solve issues but scammed customers into buying products were rewarded with prizes. The emphasis on sales was ridiculous as most customers just wanted to fix an issue with their bill, but you would be written up if you didn't make a sales pitch on every call. At one point they had cheerleaders run up and down the isles SHOUTING "We will stop being annoying if you get your sales up!" while customers were on the line. People came to work s-faced drunk and with alcohol in their water bottles. Also they would schedule tons of people to work per day but would send people home when call volume was low. THis was mandatory and you would lose pay. -- Finally , the reason I put Frud on the subject line is because most calls I recieved were from people who were being billed for services who no longer had Frontier internet,, or they were being charged long distance when they never had a land line,, and only noticed after months of paying the bill

    SYKES2018-06-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work at home! Great hours and plenty of overtime if you need it, easy to learn and understand the programs that they work with and they even provide you with a computer if you don't have one.

    Cons

    You have to work at home, hours are long and you'll be staring at a computer screen for upwards of 6 to 8 hours a day. Typical Customer Service job, the most stressful part is the people your helping. Virtually no contact from management, you'll be told to contact your team lead if you have a problem and then get no response for WEEKS.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-04-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 122 reviews