SYKES "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,412 Ratings
  1. "Inbound rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Kingstree, SC

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Providing great customer service and helping resolving customers issues

    Cons

    Dealing with customers with heavy accents are hard to understand sometimes

    SYKES2018-05-07
  2. "Contact Center Sales Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Sales Agent in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Typical customer service Easy Training is alright Once you clock out you don't have to worry about work Good summer job for college students Plenty of bonus oppurtunities

    Cons

    Sales with quotas low base pay

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-03-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "It was poorly ran ...the people there acted like highschool kids I stead of adults. Management played favoritism ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Morristown, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the customer service part ,and talking to different people everyday ...pay was decent

    Cons

    Benefits are crap, they could do better with the selection with benefits . Management needs to stay neutral

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-03-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative/Agent in Burkburnett, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding Customer Service Great management, Great Trainers. Shift swap available Possibility for advancement

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-01-11
  5. "Work at home Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy interview and hiring process. Provide remote desktop dock, great for those new to customer service and work at home positions.

    Cons

    Very low pay, difficulty accessing systems, leaving as soon as I find a more stable position.

    SYKES2018-01-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company with very caring supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Alpine Access CCP in Ocala, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Although virtual, I feel appreciated and very connected with my co-workers and team lead. They really are supportive! This company encourages promotion from within.

    Cons

    No paid vacation time. The company used to offer PTO, but they've gotten away from that. I am part time and don't work enough hours to "earn" PTO each quarter. $0.15 raises every 3,000 hours. Depending on the client, call handle time or AHT is a big deal. Sometimes it's hard to give excellent customer service when the clock is ticking. How can one verify an account, engage the customer, resolve issues, probe for future issues, upsale a product and send emails to assist with the resolution, offer a survey and close the call in 7 to 9 minutes? More leniency on call handle time would be great.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-12-03
  7. ""Corporate Travel Agent""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Travel Agent in Sumter, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are none. Really, I am not kidding...please run from this program.

    Cons

    Run, don't walk far away from this job opportunity. Prior to getting hired on here I worked for the US Government booking travel, using only Sabre (no GDS system). This place is not a real travel agent job, customers are able to book their own travel via the same GDS system that you will be using. Therefore, customers only call you because the GDS system is not working for them, they need their ticket exchange, or they have some other complaint. Very rarely will you be making reservations for customers, as stated they can do that on their own. Have to deal with angry customers because they were charged for a hotel stay by this company even though they cancelled within the contract cancellation policy, needless to say if you like angry, rude, inpatient customers this is the place for you. Hopefully you know the travel industry inside and out, don't even think about making any mistakes. These people want robots, not humans to do their work. They expect 100% accuracy, same goes for customer service...even if you have an angry customer who gives you a bad review (they will blame you). When you make a mistake they will wait weeks to tell you about it, blame you, not show you where you made the mistake, and they don't try to get you some extra help to make sure you don't have anymore mistakes. Basically, this company sets you up to fail.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2018-01-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Campaign, but Wrong Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good campaigns such as Walmart, Legalzoom, etc

    Cons

    Low Pay at $9-$10/hour Management is not very smart or friendly, usually people who were customer service agents that were "promoted"

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-12-18
  9. "Subject Matter Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Being able to help people understand their finances and how to improve them. Working closely with a team and customer service agents and being able to teach them and keep them updated on new company policy's.

    Cons

    Dealing with irate customers and descalating them.

    SYKES2017-10-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Rep (Work from Home)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Work from home, no commute. Good supervisors.

    Cons

    Low pay, poor scripts for customer service. Have to be dishonest to consumers regarding their accounts and advertising practices.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-10-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 122 reviews