SYKES "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,409 Ratings
  1. "My feels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    This customer service is not onerous as far as switching between different computer screens

    Cons

    Despite what the agents are tolled, their call center is NOT much different than any others I've worked in as far as meterics are concerned.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-04-01
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sounds Better than it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    Working from home Portable if you move from one location to another Will pay you hourly not per call Has room for advancement

    Cons

    Training is iffy; spent a lot of training hours listening to trainers fixing other students problems--some people did not receive equipment or passwords in a timely fashion Promised 20-30 hours per week--actually received 13-15 (except between Thanksgiving and Christmas) but you were still required to be available to them 42 1/2 per week making it difficult to get a second job "Support" consisted of typing questions into a chat room window and hoping someone saw the question, read it properly and answered it correctly. Support reps often couldn't answer questions so you were supposed to tell customers to go to dot com or that the issue was "still being researched" inadequate answers that left customers frustrated and you on the receiving end of this frustration. There was also some sort of online support document that was difficult to search. Software was out of date. Soft phone was problematic and often went down and dropped calls One of the worst jobs I've ever had. Worked seasonal for Hallmark and was then offered a job for Frontier Communications which has some of the worst customer service reviews I've ever read. Gave up on this company and moved on.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-04-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Rep."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Energetic Work environment. Great training personel

    Cons

    They push SALES way to much at my site vs the overall customer service aspect overall. They don't accept a Dr's note for time missed even when medically necessary.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-02-20

    SYKES Response

    June 21, 2017HR Representative

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Working in a customer facing position can sometimes be a challenge, especially learning to balance customer needs with team and corporate goals. At SYKES, we believe that our skilled representatives are empowered to go beyond service and to treat every interaction as an opportunity to deepen the relationship with customers.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bonton- Project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    Training was always available if needed. It was a real & actual work from home job. Pay was every 2weeks with very few discrepancies. Paid training.

    Cons

    Pay was too low. Not much room for growth. Employees are not able to change their work schedule from what they originally signed up for. That is about it. I really feel the pay should be increased for at home customer service workers.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-01-22
  5. "Sykes work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SYKES for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked from home, picked schedule within 12 hour alotted shift

    Cons

    Training in no way prepared you for the live environment, in training they only told us we would be customer service rep then when we started taking calls they forced us to make sales, it took forever to get a response from management when you needed help with a customer

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-02-25

    SYKES Response

    June 21, 2017HR Representative

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated. With a large staff that spans many locations and countries, SYKES has a vested interest in providing the best training we possibly can. We are continually doing research to improve training techniques and have developed exclusive training roadmaps that integrate a mix of hands-on practice, whole group activities, peer-to-peer small group collaboration, and live call shadowing. Our aim is to provide employees with a thorough understanding of what their new jobs will entail.

    Continue reading
  6. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Customer Service Friendliness Attitude Positivity Control

    Cons

    There's no downside to working here.,

    SYKES2017-01-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    FLORIDA in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is above average for call center work in Lakeland Good entry level position to customer service

    Cons

    Pay is not enough for the amount of work required No raise/pay increases, nor commission at this time Workplace often feels akin to a high school type environment, Team Leads acting like teachers and agents acting like adolescents with disciplinary issues

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-01-05

    SYKES Response

    April 18, 2017HR Representative

    Thanks for sharing your observations. We are working every day to improve management standards throughout the organization. Attracting quality people who want to excel is important to our future success.

    Continue reading
  8. "Customer Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Fort Bragg, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got a experience with working as a Customer Service Agent. Got to help customer with what they called in for

    Cons

    Pay sucks. It was like a big high school. Hours were ridiculous

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-12-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's like a big high school...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    - They feed you when corporate comes - Above average starting pay ($9 starting out, $9.50 after 6 months)

    Cons

    - Mandatory overtime some days. (When the call volume is expected to be high, or when the new iPhone releases you will have mandatory overtime. Which means instead of a hour lunch you will have a 30 min lunch.) - "Petty" co-workers, and managers. If you have a question about a call, or a customer wants to speak to a manager they will usually try to avoid taking the call, or mutter something under their breath, because everyone hates working there. - You won't be properly trained to sell DirecTV service. (This job is DirecTV sales first, and customer service second. A majority of customers you speak to will already have DirecTV.) - They also caught people smoking weed, and having sex inside one of the bathrooms that's why they lock the front bathrooms after 6pm.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2017-01-02

    SYKES Response

    April 18, 2017HR Representative

    This is valuable feedback, and we appreciate your post. It's unfortunate that your experience was less than ideal. SYKES strives every day to make improvements in training -- not only for employees -- but also for managers. We know that finding and keeping top talent will set us apart in the long run.

    Continue reading
  10. "Customer Care Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care Provider in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    Working from home is the most important thing for me.

    Cons

    Customer service is hard. They didn't have a de-escalation policy, or training in place when I was hired.

    SYKES2016-12-02

    SYKES Response

    February 9, 2017HR Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to rate SYKES. Your feedback, especially about solidifying our de-escalation processes, is really valuable. We will use your input to continue to improve. Thank you for your service in caring for the customers who call in for our help.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 122 reviews