SYKES "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

SYKES Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
SYKES President & CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,420 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Las Vegas At&t / Direct TV Office ???????????"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent I in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    No Pros! There is nothing really good to say about this location.

    Cons

    Extremely unprofessional and savage workplace. Training is very minimum to none. Low pay for the list of responsibilities under the job description of a customer service agent. Horrible insurance options and expensive. Less than qualified management team in place. Reminded of their "laundry list" of rules daily. Very, very strict attendance policy. Moral in the office is non-existent. Management or floor walkers can careless about the customers. Just an overall poorly managed location.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-07-07
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People I worked with at the agent level were great. The work was great I love working in customer service

    Cons

    Upper management had there own click and if you weren't part of it look out you where going to be gone. It takes a long time to get a livable salary.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-05-18
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Horribly slave job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CRS in Alpine, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    none only if you like sitting and working under stress and getting bad health because of it

    Cons

    often tech issues are not paid for. System problems make you work to get on line but until you are, you do not get paid. One tie worked 6 hours and pay came out to 3.5 really! Rebooting, waiting fto system to up load etc. all made this job more horrible. at one point they began to say lies about what i was saying and what was noted on customer acct. This made you loose bonuses. That was the last straw. I quit this deceptive, slave driving company. homedepot people are I guess forced to b ruthless customer service people and many customers of credit cards Walmart had complaints that in turn made the calls hell screaming cursing, etc.g. Loss of wages was significant sorry I did not cut my losses sooner. No pay for amount of calls although many days calls were back to back resulting in 101 calls taken in 4 hours...Horrible

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-06-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "went through initial application process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at SYKES

    Pros

    work at home jobs! enough said!

    Cons

    job i applied for was listed as PART TIME on the sykes website invited to interview, picked slot, then proceeded to upload 3 screen shots w/ info on my pc (took about 2-3 hours) also answered 3 customer service related questions in prep for interview called in to meeting answered various poll questions prompted by leader of meeting schedule requirements were to be:AVERAGE WEEKLY HOURS OF 32-40 HOURS not part time i have been corresponding with this co for 6 years now I AM DONE!

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-06-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Horror Stories"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time work above minimum wage, schedule flexibility, teammates are generally friendly

    Cons

    SALES SALES SALES- when you interview they say it's customer service that includes sales. It's really Sales with customer service if it can't be avoided. Honestly, the sales weren't too hard for the services that were actually related- upgrades and addin lines of service, but someone who's calling in because a family member dies and their bill is 4x higher than expected doesn't want to be pitched TV. It's been a year and I still hear the phrase "pitch on every call" in my dreams. The upper management definitely slept with agents and the best way to get promoted was to go to the bar with the AM's. It's the kind of stuff you read about but never expect in a real job, but it's there and it's obvious. Also, for 3 months of the year they browbeat you into working a bunch of overtime and giving you 35 minute lunches, and the rest of the time you're forced to clock out for 90 (or longer) minute lunches and go home early- that kind of stuff eats into your pay check.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-05-01
  6. "Great place to work. Love the Culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work if you are looking to gain new skills or put your customer service and sales experience to good use. Sykes has great on the job training and support to help with an individual’s development. Throughout my career here there is always a plan for the next step of my devolvement. Great place to start some roots.

    Cons

    No real cons in my book.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-03-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "customer Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Customer Service Representative in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at SYKES for more than a year

    Pros

    Sykes is a pace where there is oppuritunity if you are looking for a challenge. The system runs off metric and customer service.

    Cons

    Sometimes unfair when it comes to the surveys, However the surveys will cause you to go above and beyond the call of duty.

    SYKES2016-03-20
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sykes recognizes potential and ensures that people will the drive and motivation to succeed get to the next level. Fun work environment, good people and has truly helped me develop into a leader, the skills I have learned and manicured are applicable to any sales or customer service oriented business.

    Cons

    There's really not much to say in this section.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-03-15
  9. "Favoritism gets you where you want to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training was about the only good part about working for Sykes, but even then, you needed to get a good trainer. Training for the center that I worked at was 6 weeks, so it is a great sourcr of income while you are looking for a job that will appreciate you.

    Cons

    Favoritism all around. When I was in training, me and two other people were neck and neck in being the top of the class. Our trainer gave us advice on what we could do to get promoted. Once out into live production, it became very obvious that those that got promoted had to be in the pocket of the AMs (one in particular). How did you get in their pocket? You closed out calls to avoid bad surveys, rather than deescalating angry users; you sold a ton of products, but not too many or they'd keep you on the phones; you went to bars and hung out with them and supervisors outside of work. My Supervisor was great when I first got on their team. But, there was a quick downfall. Her and her boyfriend (who got together when he was her supervisor) broke up. She then never showed up to work, only sat down and gave feedback to like 3 people on the team, and never fought for her team and defended them. Then, the sales requirements went through the roof. Our client was a large cell phone provider that also had an internet/homephone/tv package. It was a requirement to pitch the home service on every single call. I get sales positions...but they had no leeway. You had to pitch this service, even if it was not available in the customers area. There was an article from our client specifically stating to not do that. I personally got pulled aside and talked to because I didn't offer this service to a person who seemed like a fraudster...they couldn't verify any information on their wireless account. I was told that I should tell them I can't help them with their wireless account, but I could possibly get them home service. That is not good customer service.

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-03-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working here can be a challenge but at least its fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Decent pay with commission -Helpful Co workers and team leaders that want you to suceed -They are always giving away stuff form shirts to cookies and treats. - They have food vendors that are at the site for those who dont get to leave for lunch

    Cons

    Sometimes there is overtime that is unavoidable. When days are requested off it is hard to get them approved you need to stay on top of it. Systems go down frequently making it hard to deliver fast customer service

    Continue reading
    SYKES2016-01-15
Viewing 61 - 70 of 123 Reviews
Previous PageNext Page