Safeway Bakery Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Bakery Clerk Reviews

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
11 Ratings
  1. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk in Sammamish, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Don't get me wrong Safeway is a great Company byitself and the hour are great and everything else is great

    Cons

    The only con I have for the whole company is the dress code is just super formal like I understand formal is good but sometimes it could just be work casual can be good too i like the days were you could dress down for once

    Safeway2017-07-13
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk 
    Recommends

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full-time employees are offered great benefits. Employee discounts on groceries.

    Cons

    There are really no "cons"

    Safeway2020-01-04
  3. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time

    Pros

    Stable hours, consistent work, alright pay

    Cons

    Management is bad, your just a number to them

    Safeway2019-10-10
  4. "When I asked for hours they were willing to train me in a new department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Tigard, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of job experience with all the departments you can work in.

    Cons

    You have to fight for hours. Seniority always wins. Sometimes you're hungry.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2019-08-06
  5. "Good company but lousy pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Mesa, AZ

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the team, laid back environment

    Cons

    Lots of physical heavy lifting

    Safeway2019-04-06
  6. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli/Bakery Clerk in Benicia, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, paid vacation, steady work.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better dental sucks

    Safeway2019-01-01
  7. "“Customer is Always Right”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Mililani Town, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Job security School Reimbursement Program Hours Employee Discount

    Cons

    There will be regular food scammers at the bakery and managers will blame employees. Their solution is to refund every “customer complaint” and based on your sales they will cut your hours because of it. Management will also make you do illegal tasks that the big boss and audit will write you up for. When you don’t do what mangement tells you to do they’ll write you up for doing something “right.” They do not care about their employee rights/policies. The business only cares about their sales and money.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2018-11-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bakery clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk in Rohnert Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not one I can think of.

    Cons

    Get visits from the"BIG" boss and the man never once acknowledged any one, wait a minute aren't we the ones who make money for him? You work till you drop, they keep your hours under 25 so no insurance. Never have I worked for a company who cares so little for their employees. Sad.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2018-08-28
  9. "You feel like you are in a marathon going from task to task"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a feeling of community

    Cons

    You have to work really fast and move from task to task

    Continue reading
    Safeway2018-06-06
  10. "Bakery Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Store manager is great Bakery manager is great Busy work which makes the day go by faster $15 an hour starting pay in Seattle

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours Some of the workers can be really rude and management doesn't do anything about it because of their seniority. Union takes about $80 a month around the third week of every month, it's outrageous.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2018-05-28
Found 50 reviews