Safeway Canada Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Canada Clerk Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Safeway Canada President and COO Chuck Mulvenna
Chuck Mulvenna
16 Ratings
  1. "No pay increase or mental stimulation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible with requests for time off. Great manger Leslie robb very understanding of personal situations.

    Cons

    Too many changes. Every time I come in for a shift something has moved and no communication as to where it has been placed.

    Advice to Management

    Pull people aside and do more reviews on staff so they know where they need improvement to keep happy customers. Have a typed memo for all courtesy clerks for locating products to shorten time for price checks.

    Safeway Canada2020-01-01
  2. "Good staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accessible location and good staff

    Cons

    Out of stock or supply

    Safeway Canada2019-12-19
  3. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only good for students. Dont go

    Cons

    Sucks for everyone else. dont go

    Safeway Canada2020-01-20
  4. "Poor employee Treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours Tasty deli food

    Cons

    Management has no interest in lower level employees, treats people poorly

    Safeway Canada2019-12-03
  5. "Night crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Safeway Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No uniforms Small crew

    Cons

    Bad management No personal life Bad pay

    Safeway Canada2019-08-20
  6. "Checkout Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clerk 

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Enjoyable -Lots of hours available

    Cons

    -Very early opening, and late closing shifts

    Safeway Canada2019-07-10
  7. "Life at Safeway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Sherwood Park, AB

    I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, and helpful benefits

    Cons

    Several workers do not match my work ethic

    Advice to Management

    Please be considerate on disabilities

    Safeway Canada2019-07-05
  8. "Poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers, fair pay.

    Cons

    Almost everything. I'm part-time but get full hours. I dont get paid vacation like the actual full timers do. I do grocery produce and occasionally floral . I've been full time hours for almost 2 years now. The management is not great. If you're not in the "in" crowd your treated badly. Ever since sobeys took over its only gotten worse. No one ever says thank-you, good job, looks great, ect...

    Advice to Management

    Consistency is key.. rules are rules not just for one person but for everyone. And when someone brings issues to you, and they're in tears, it maybe a good idea to listen and not blow them off.

    Safeway Canada2019-07-15
  9. "Hard physical work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floral Clerk in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay learned a lot about flowers and plants

    Cons

    Not enough hours manager was miserable

    Safeway Canada2019-05-26
  10. "Depends on the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grocery Clerk in Castlegar, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Straight forward, learnable, exercise, friends, mutual respect

    Cons

    Lack of mutual respect, work place bullying, worked like mules,

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating managers so well and treat the workers with more respect and appreciation. You couldn't run the place without them. Otherwise great place to shop, not to work.

    Safeway Canada2019-05-24
Found 51 reviews