Safeway Canada Reviews

Updated May 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
44%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Safeway Canada President and COO Chuck Mulvenna
Chuck Mulvenna
94 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of hours for part-time employees(in 17 reviews)

  • "I've been full time hours for almost 2 years now(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "cashier"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I worked at Safeway Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    Safeway is an awesome place to work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to submit

    Safeway Canada2018-10-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "CASHIER"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Safeway Canada

    Pros

    GREAT BENEFITS..NOTHING ELSE TO SAY

    Cons

    LOUSY PEOPLE TO WORK WITH VERY EGOTISTICAL, not friendly, very indifferent, snobs, low life's...... management does not say one word to you after 6 months of being there....... when it changed from Albertsons to safeway it was awful. the computer system was not compatible with the software applications and visa versa, customers were complaining, after over 2.2 years of working there I quit...... could not take the incompentance of the management and computer programing, software etc..... very bad customer service after the new safeway registers were in effect............ people arguing and complaining constantly... after 11 years a guy who was working there said it was quitting time after the new registers were installed on self check out because he could not take people complaining each second... it was awful.... bad choice of replacing the registers, etc....... NEVER KNOW THE HOURS AND DAYS YOU WILL WORK CHANGES ALL THE TIME. CALL YOU ON YOUR DAYS OFF AND EXPECTS YOU TO WORK.

    Continue reading
    Safeway Canada2016-08-09
  3. "not a great place to start"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Promotional Specialist in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Safeway Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn to deal with bad management

    Cons

    zero training on inner software systems, bad management

    Safeway Canada2016-02-03
  4. Helpful (24)

    "customer service"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service in Houston, TX

    I worked at Safeway Canada for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of different locations to work at college tution rembiursemebt for certain classes. Good co workers for the most part, Employee discount at times

    Cons

    There should be a lot more positive feedback instead of negative so much. Employee uniforms are pretty non flattering lot of micro managing

    Continue reading
    Safeway Canada2015-07-23
  5. "Night Stocker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Safeway Canada

    Pros

    Interesting experince, no interaction with people

    Cons

    Work night shifts, bad sleeping cycles

    Safeway Canada2014-11-22
  6. "I worked for them as a order selector in the warehouse"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada

    Pros

    you are just talking to the talk man everyday throughout your shift,

    Cons

    management push workers to their limit management follow and spy on workers whether they are working or no talking is prohibited

    Safeway Canada2014-06-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The flexible schedule is nice, especially if like me you are a student and need to be able to work the schedule around classes.

    Cons

    This place is okay to work for in the short term. i would not recommend making working here a permanent career choice as there is little to no room for advancement.

    Safeway Canada2013-05-21
  8. "Meh."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Lovely coworkers. Mandatory wage increases each year.

    Cons

    Poor management team, long periods standing, expectations to do duties outside of normal job duties.

    Safeway Canada2020-05-06
  9. "Provides value for long time staff"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Edmonton, AB

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay scale for employees based on seniority

    Cons

    Quality decreases in work depending on local management

    Safeway Canada2020-04-19
  10. "Great start to a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is a perfect mix of old and new hires. You will always find a friend Can work with you to get more hours depending on your situation Tons of entry level experience with a low tolerance for error Unionized in some locations References and relationships can last forever and give you a good start for the next jump in your career. Always room to grow. Many people start simply as a cashier and can move to management or corporate with some hard work.

    Cons

    Getting full time takes years of effort Unions can be a Pro and a con depending on how you look at it Small yearly salary increases to start. Giiving a 3 star just because I was not there to really experience the full effect of the union raises on my benefits.

    Continue reading
    Safeway Canada2020-03-30
Found 285 reviews