Safeway Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Canada Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Safeway Canada CEO Chuck Mulvenna
Chuck Mulvenna
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay eventually, people good, stable industry(in 13 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours is the only plus(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "When you are part time you are unable to pick your hours to work(in 13 reviews)

  • "No benefits for part time people(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Safeway Canada (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Safeway is an awesome place to work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to submit

    Safeway Canada2018-10-06
  2. "CASHIER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Safeway Canada

    Pros

    GREAT BENEFITS..NOTHING ELSE TO SAY

    Cons

    LOUSY PEOPLE TO WORK WITH VERY EGOTISTICAL, not friendly, very indifferent, snobs, low life's...... management does not say one word to you after 6 months of being there....... when it changed from Albertsons to safeway it was awful. the computer system was not compatible with the software applications and visa versa, customers were complaining, after over 2.2 years of working there I quit...... could not take the incompentance...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    SAY HELLO TO YOUR EMPLOYEES MAKE THEM FEEL LIKE A SEMI HUMAN BEING... UNREAL.......... THEY HIRE LOW LIFE'S NOT A GOOD PLACE TO GET A JOB...... GIVE THEM A ZERO OUT OF A FIVE....

    Safeway Canada2016-08-09
  3. "not a great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Promotional Specialist in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Safeway Canada full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Learn to deal with bad management

    Cons

    zero training on inner software systems, bad management

    Safeway Canada2016-02-03
  4. Helpful (24)

    "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Houston, TX

    I worked at Safeway Canada for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of different locations to work at college tution rembiursemebt for certain classes. Good co workers for the most part, Employee discount at times

    Cons

    There should be a lot more positive feedback instead of negative so much. Employee uniforms are pretty non flattering lot of micro managing

    Advice to Management

    Please consider not talking down to lower level employees and be more respectful of peoples feelings and circumstances. Treatment of employees need to be better

    Safeway Canada2015-07-23
  5. "Night Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Safeway Canada

    Pros

    Interesting experince, no interaction with people

    Cons

    Work night shifts, bad sleeping cycles

    Safeway Canada2014-11-22
  6. "I worked for them as a order selector in the warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada

    Pros

    you are just talking to the talk man everyday throughout your shift,

    Cons

    management push workers to their limit management follow and spy on workers whether they are working or no talking is prohibited

    Safeway Canada2014-06-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The flexible schedule is nice, especially if like me you are a student and need to be able to work the schedule around classes.

    Cons

    This place is okay to work for in the short term. i would not recommend making working here a permanent career choice as there is little to no room for advancement.

    Safeway Canada2013-05-21
  8. "Great for starter jobs, bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's easy to get a position at Safeway, and they are relatively flexible with your schedule. You get very good health benefits even in part-time positions.

    Cons

    They keep you part-time to keep their costs down, they cut your hours without informing you when they hire students for the summer months.

    Safeway Canada2019-04-11
  9. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Safeway Canada part-time

      Pros

      Great team environment, flexible hours

      Cons

      Not much cons, great start for first job

      Safeway Canada2019-03-19
    • "clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time

      Pros

      flexible hours good environment ability to transfer

      Cons

      no benefits inconsistent part time hours

      Safeway Canada2019-03-15
    Found 236 reviews