Safeway Canada "good pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Canada Employee Reviews about "good pay"

Updated 10 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
44%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Safeway Canada CEO Chuck Mulvenna
Chuck Mulvenna
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay, not much stress, unionized(in 14 reviews)

  • "Safeway is unionized, didn't require previous experience(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of hours for part-time employees(in 17 reviews)

  • "No benefits for part time people(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It was a good first job, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time

    Pros

    Good pay for part time, everyone was really helpful and friendly, and the hours were good too

    Cons

    I was promised a job in a different department as soon as a position opened, and they gave it to other people three times within a few months, and cashier jobs aren’t good for people who need to be moving around

    Safeway Canada2019-08-10
  2. "Baker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grande Prairie, AB

    I have been working at Safeway Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, union environment. Put my through a apprenticeship.

    Cons

    Listen to employees ideas. Moving towards a from frozen baking program...

    Safeway Canada2019-01-19
  3. "friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Safeway Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, not much stress, unionized

    Cons

    everything is mostly worked in employees favour. no cons

    Advice to Management

    good job

    Safeway Canada2018-04-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Race to the bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in North Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours is the only plus. If your old school its good pay with great paid time off!

    Cons

    Store management are pressured to produce unrealistic standards with an inexperienced workforce. Company is always trying to pay less to their employees.

    Safeway Canada2018-03-16
  5. "Great people lead by the leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay eventually, people good, stable industry

    Cons

    Lock step management, company driven by the current leader, some staff not up to par

    Advice to Management

    Make decisions based not on perceived immediate need but rather on facts and helpful suggestions

    Safeway Canada2018-02-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Deli Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli 

    I have been working at Safeway Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay (for now) and great Benefits (for now)

    Cons

    Too much change with no appreciation for employees

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people and they will take care of your customers

    Safeway Canada2017-12-28
  7. "Do yourself a favor and just avoid the deli."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get the job. Mostly friendly coworkers. Basic training is good. Pay is very slightly above minimum wage with good increases. Looks good on resume. If you ever want to return, you're put down as a "rehire" which makes it very easy to return to the company.

    Cons

    Scheduling is a nightmare, following absolutely no pattern with no planning on the worker's part. If you're put on the work schedule but need to change it, you're out of luck with few exceptions. Safety protocol is non-existent (respirator equipment for use with toxic oven cleaner was not provided after 1 month of requests). Beyond basic training (slicer cleaning, dishwashing), you're very much on your own. Several... different "correct" methods to do some tasks, leaving me to be scolded by several senior coworkers for not doing it "right" and needing to be "retrained" by them while on the job. Deli management and the store's 1st assistant manager attempted to terminate me for several things I was never trained on or was never instructed to avoid, as well as "not improving my performance based on coworker's complaints" (complaints I didn't know existed until my termination), which left me in unpaid limbo for 3 weeks while the union got my job back. Understaffed often. Brand new employees were expected to close the department alone with little to no guidance. Some senior coworkers abused the coworkers they were training while department management watched on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you get dozens of transfers a year out of the deli, but never into the deli, you have a problem you need to fix.

    Safeway Canada2017-05-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Safeway is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Cutter in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, decent scheduling, nice stores, people will make your career advance if you show promise, always something to do.

    Cons

    Union bible thumpers, politics, it's making me put 20 words so not I'm just filling up space to go To the next part.

    Advice to Management

    Keep training a priority

    Safeway Canada2016-03-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "great job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Port Coquitlam, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay for a newbie, fun experience, friendly staff, learn alot of stuff

    Cons

    tiring, not given enough breaks, no discounts for employees, cant choose hours

    Safeway Canada2015-07-17
  10. "meat manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Safeway Canada

    Pros

    good pay until the end on the current contract

    Cons

    sobey has taken over, job losses, poor communication with head office

    Safeway Canada2015-06-29
Found 14 reviews