Safeway Checker Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Checker Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
56%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
20 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checker in Port Angeles, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - extensive paid on-site training - you always get your breaks - good employee discount and perks - benefits as soon as you join the union

    Cons

    - it can take a long time to work your way up - you won't necessarily get the dept. you want - I wasn't given a uniform but expected to make an XL shirt work about 3 months in

    Safeway2019-12-20
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker 

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a great opportunity

    Cons

    None I enjoyed my time at Safeway

    Safeway2019-11-14
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Safeway Checker in Tucson, AZ

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in

    Cons

    people could work a little harder

    Safeway2019-10-10
  4. "It's Called Slaveway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker/Cashier in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible with high-school student schedule

    Cons

    Nonexistent employee morale No incentives to perform job quickly or efficiently Wide array of petty managers with different agendas Unclear chain of command Complete powerlessness at the hands of pushy customers completely in the wrong Outdated equipment Constantly malfunctioning coupons

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like they're human beings. Give the cashiers incentive to become quick and efficient. Overhaul your registers and get the coupons working. No more 10325.

    Safeway2019-11-08
  5. "Fast Pace. Didn't like being ranked on checking time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Checker 

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Easy to pick up. A lot of support.

    Cons

    Not environmentally friendly. Kept throwing away their plastic bags in the garbage. Would rank checkers based on how fast they could get through customers

    Safeway2019-09-18
  6. "Uhg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Grocery Checker 

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    some nice coworkers, there were mats to stand on

    Cons

    bad management, busy with no help, bad hours, missed breaks because you're not allowed to leave until you are told to go on break, expected to break your back just to have your hours cut.

    Safeway2019-08-08
  7. "Good entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good entry level job for a high school/college student.

    Cons

    Not much in terms of professional growth or salary

    Safeway2019-06-03
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Checker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The start pay is to low

    Cons

    The co coworker are nice

    Safeway2019-06-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "No way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Checker in Everett, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At least I have a job

    Cons

    Terrible, greedy company that doesn't pay enough for what we have to go though on the daily. The shoplifters are rampant and no one cares

    Advice to Management

    We are not robots. We have feelings and we need water and we should be allowed to go to the bathroom if we're about to pee our (mandatory out of pocket) uniforms

    Safeway2019-05-14
  10. "Hit or Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Union makes it hard to get in trouble

    Cons

    Management doesnt always have good training, no hours some weeks, very few benefits for part time

    Safeway2019-03-04
Found 90 reviews