Safeway Courtesy Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Courtesy Clerk Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
54 Ratings
  1. "Great company to start working life with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in Soquel, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked around school schedule! Extremely flexible!

    Cons

    Workers should be given more breaks.

    Safeway2019-07-05
  2. "My Time at Safeway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and great customers as well as a flexibility with hours.

    Cons

    Management is lacking which makes chaos

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat courtesy clerks like they are children

    Safeway2020-01-20
  3. "Minimum wage job, minimum decent treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Gilbert, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discounts, sometimes customers would tip me for carrying groceries to their car

    Cons

    long hours, lots of outdoor work collecting carts

    Advice to Management

    show better treatment to your employees

    Safeway2020-01-16
  4. "Awful never work here!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in Bend, OR
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    getting paid every week some co workers made it tolerable

    Cons

    sexual harassment by like 40 year old co workers when i was a minor (getting told they are good at cuddling etc.) stalked on lunch break by co worker (got watched in the parking lot) co workers would text me outside of work and would bother me and i was a minor at the time. didn’t get the position i even applied for and they lied to me and told me i’d start in starbucks in a week and 2 months later nothing. bad management. if someone lies about you they don’t get your side of the story. would work in the 95 degree heat and would get in trouble for coming in for water because a co worker said i was inside for 20 minutes when i was in for 5 minutes just trying to cool off and get some water. got in trouble because someone lied pretty much. harassed by customers and they didn’t do anything until a lady harassed me and got in my face for no reason and i said maybe i should sit in the back for a couple minutes to avoid this women who cussed me out and they actually agreed for once. maybe this was just my store but when people say working at safeway is more like working at slaveway BELIEVE THEM! i lost 35 pounds in a month from stress and i wish i quit sooner!!!! Management could care less about an employee and if they hated you they made it known. i know if i ever made a complaint about anything they would not have cared one bit and i would’ve been fired most likely. they didn’t believe i was suffering until i cried and said i was going to the hospital, which i did from how much stress i was feeling. WORK SOMEWHERE WHERE THEY VALUE YOU!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone equally

    Safeway2019-12-30
  5. "Decent job for high school student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Hanover, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Hours, Easy Work, Friendly Co-Workers

    Cons

    Bad Management At The Time

    Safeway2019-10-24
  6. "Bagger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger 

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    A friendly staff and discounts on safeway items

    Cons

    Bad hours, especially during holidays.

    Safeway2019-10-08
  7. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Redding, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Works around school schedule. Requested days off work well Great benefits!

    Cons

    Open on holidays Raises take a lot of time

    Safeway2019-10-03
  8. "Hard work, little benefit, barely any professional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Newberg, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will get plenty of hours working at Safeway, and with those hours, more money. Occasionally, you will be rewarded with some kind of gift card or something for your hard work, in addition to your pay check. If you are in need of a job of any kind and are unfortunate enough to live closer to a Safeway, this is a choice.

    Cons

    You will be doing tough work, even doing things that aren't on the job description, like cleaning up giant piles of human poo when you signed up to be a cashier!! Plus, you'll likely be dealing with rude coworkers and a management team that could care less about your needs. And do not even bother asking about training and promotions, you are stuck with what they give you.

    Advice to Management

    Its as simple as care a bit more about your employees, they deserve better than this. Here's how: provide easy access to additional training and a lucrative promotion that keeps people motivated to keep working for you. Additionally, you guys can spare the expense and get rid of those awful Recycling Vending Machines, there is no need for them other than to make the courtesy clerks want to blow their brains out from having to comtinuously go out and either repair or clean those wretched machines. THE RVMs NEED TO GO. Lastly, go through and fire the managers that don't care about the staff, this is the biggest heartbreak about working for Safeway, the managers don't care about the guys who have to break their backs everyday trying to keep the stores in shape.

    Show More
    Safeway2019-11-06
  9. "Average , good hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Roseville, CA

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you get good hours most weeks

    Cons

    management needs to improve to be a better work enviroment

    Safeway2019-09-08
  10. "Really Not Fun When You Get Injured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    It was nice at first, people were fairly laid back, I was good at getting everything done, it was straight forward and I didn't have to constantly question what I should do because I was too busy to. As long as you can do the job, it's a good place to work. There wasn't any thinking involved unless it was to do product substitutions, talking to customers during carry-outs, or settling disputes in the bottle return. It was 95% physical and/or cleaning, which I liked.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wasn't treated well after an on-the-job injury. For two months, I was supposed to be on light duty. The whole time, I was constantly being told to do things I was expressly told not to that were listed in my doctor's note because they kept scheduling me alone. The last straw was when I was told in a "You can't say no" way to do a task I wasn't supposed to one week after I was hospitalized due to nerve complications from the injury. Needless to say, I wouldn't go back after that treatment; even if my injury didn't make it so I can't.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat the employees like people with realistic limits, especially when they're injured. Also, don't guilt trip your injured employees "to motivate recovery" because all that does is make you look like an inconsiderate jerk which causes anger and mistrust in your leadership. Especially if that employee shows up even though they can barely dress themselves and cries when they get home because they're essentially helpless. I know; I was on the receiving end and worked hard to keep my injury from impacting my job as much as my life outside my job.

    Show More
    Safeway2019-08-31
Found 298 reviews