Safeway Deli Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Deli Clerk

Safeway Deli Clerk Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
35%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
40 Ratings
  1. "Organized and Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Recommends

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They worked well with my college course schedule and were professional employers.

    Cons

    Working in the deli when you don't eat any of the items you're serving was challenging, but nothing wrong with the company.

    Safeway2019-08-16
  2. "Deli Clerk is challenging and hard work but it is rewarding to those who can handle the load. GREAT team environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team work, fair and friendly managers. Managers work with us and work hard too! Excellent benefits: 401k on day one. superb health care for both part time employees after one year and all full time employees. Union pension after 5 consecutive years too. Pay is guaranteed under union contract so if you prove your prior experience applies to your new position you will be paid accordingly. This can be very significant. For those who thrive in challenging, labor- intensive, customer service environments, this is rewarding and time flies.

    Show More

    Cons

    Deli Clerk is a very high labor job. You must be able to perform the required duties in your allotted time. On busy days this can be very challenging. This includes lifting, cooking, assembling, slicing, preparing, hours standing on feet, and lots of deep cleaning. It is not for the faint-hearted but for the right person very rewarding nonetheless.

    Advice to Management

    Always meet, greet, say goodbye to get to know your employees. Sometimes (only sometimes) management seems a little aloof. Smiles go a long way to make our team stronger, happier, and more efficient.

    Safeway2020-01-14
  3. "Loved my job providing superbed service, management was lacking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Clearlake Highlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the customers and enjoyed providing superbed service. Was happy to work. Would love to work for them again.......,....

    Cons

    The customer service was lacking and management did not care.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee's

    Safeway2020-01-04
  4. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    You gain experience in many different areas, including cistomer service.

    Cons

    Sometimes its not how long you have worked there but who you know for advancement.

    Safeway2019-12-28
  5. "Don't do it...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    close to home, they have the brand and quantity of popcycles I like

    Cons

    many, many problems - not enough staff who care about the business; not enough staff because the pay is $2 to $3 less per hour compared to other similar businesses

    Advice to Management

    raise the hourly wage to be competitive with surrounding similar businesses and keep employees so the store is adequately staffed and decent service is provided

    Safeway2020-01-01
  6. "Hard but Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I have been working at Safeway full-time

    Pros

    I had a bad day, talked to the manager about it and got time off to deal with it. Coworkers are also wonderful.

    Cons

    Not enough People working the deli/juggling too many different tasks at once Impatient customers make food safety difficult to adhere to Frequent breakdowns in equipment or equipment in need of proper care and maintenance that seems to take weeks to address

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people in the deli to spread out the workload and minimize the risk of burnout and lapses in food safety handling, increase pay & decrease hours.

    Safeway2019-11-14
  7. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Safeway Deli Clerk 

    I have been working at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    You meet nice people that work there

    Cons

    You do a lot of tasks

    Safeway2019-11-05
  8. "Employees are scapegoat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ease of entry/easily apply Semi-flexible hours

    Cons

    - Overloaded with tasks - Poor break policy. Leaves employees exhausted/fatigued. Affects customer service and work efficiency. - Managers publicly belittle and berate employees - Underpaid with a low glass ceiling - Little to no benefits for part time or fulltime - Taking verbal abuse from customers and managers alike - Understaffed while being critized for not completing all tasks without going overtime. Get ridiculed for going overtime to complete tasks. Darned if you, do darned if you don't. - Poor training (sink or swim method), this affects customer satisfaction while green horns are learning.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on a business structure that incentivizes employees to stay and grow in the company. My experience there was scapegoating and intentional sabotage practices. I.e. the business model is to focus on recruitment and overwork green horns to the breaking point of employee termination or quitting. This model works because the people are dispensible, job is low skilled, and the model is a low-costed investment. Don't need to give raises or benefits if they quit or get let go. So might as well overwork them and blame them when they don't meet the growing demands. Morale is low when this happens and employees turn on each other; increasing the already toxic environment. Staff more people even if that affects profit. This will improve customer satisfaction and will ease the task loads so standards can be met. Increase wages. This will improve employee confidence in the company and will retain experienced employees.

    Show More
    Safeway2019-11-21
  9. "Good for Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 

    I have been working at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, you get what you put in.

    Cons

    Union fees, monotonous work and hard to be recognized

    Safeway2019-10-11
  10. "Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people tend to be nice Flexibility in the schedule

    Cons

    Constantly understaffed High stress environment Constantly on feet Frequent heavy lifting

    Advice to Management

    Hire enough people to actually staff your departments. It is difficult to operate without enough bodies, especially when someone has to call out suddenly or goes on vacation.

    Safeway2019-10-18
Found 192 reviews