Safeway Front End Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Front End Cashier Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
56%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
11 Ratings
  1. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Monroe, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Part time and they work with schedules

    Cons

    The personal side we had with Albertsons didn’t carry over to Safeway.

    Advice to Management

    Take time to get to know your employees and listen to their concerns.

    Safeway2020-01-03
  2. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SafeWay Is A Great Invironment And Has And Has The Best Experience For Customers When Shopping. The Customer Service Is Excellent And Has Good Benefits.

    Cons

    The Store May Be Filled With Customers And Will Have To Work Harder And Quickly.

    Safeway2019-10-02
  3. "Not bad, but not goid either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, opportunity to move up in company.

    Cons

    Upper management is always changing, very corporate, dealing with difficult and rude people daily.

    Advice to Management

    Stop transferring upper management so much. As soon as the employees get used to their mamagers they get moved to another store.

    Safeway2019-09-24
  4. "Disheartening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Vail, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, plenty of work to keep busy with. Nice customers for the most part, and nice coworkers.

    Cons

    -Most managers are nice, others are not and will treat you like you are stupid or untrustworthy without any given reason. -I’ve seen people’s applications been rejected and laughed at because of their preferred gender (I imagine they were transgender) when Safeway boasts about being an equal opportunity employer.

    Advice to Management

    Work with people, ease up, and don’t assume every employee is lazy or trying to cheat the system. Most do their best every day, but treating them like they don’t matter, or belittling them will make them look elsewhere for jobs, and you’re already understaffed.

    Safeway2019-09-30
  5. "It's not the same as it used to be in grocery anymore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job, that's it.

    Cons

    It could be better, but who knows when.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being greedy.

    Safeway2019-06-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Never wanted to hire enough front end staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Truckee, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours and friendly/helpful management

    Cons

    Always busy, long lines all day long, no baggers, bare minimum staffing, not a living wage, to many varied hours scheduled, rather overwork and make customers wait in long lines than hire more cashiers and/or courtesy clerks

    Advice to Management

    I don't blame in store management. Their hands are tied by higher ups. It's a very fast paced work environment and lots of departments trying to make it all work. Not sure how the front end lifers do it.

    Safeway2019-05-30
  7. "Great Food Choices! Great Customer Service! Great job opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Brentwood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dude the best reason to work at safeway is you get to work with cool positive people, you have medical benefits and if you want to work your way up it's good for that too! Plus a club cars discount aww Yeah! Best decision I ever made!

    Cons

    I didn't have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Be cool management!

    Safeway2019-02-05
  8. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Sun Lakes, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Busy Clean Fast paced Friendly Amazing! Managers are kind and understanding Great for people that dont fit the 9 to 5 mold Move up fast

    Cons

    Old people can be mean Odd shifts Start low on the pay totem pole

    Advice to Management

    Stay amazing. No one can leave my store!!! I love all of my work friends!!

    Safeway2019-01-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a job for anyone who’s ever had a “real” job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    I mean, they pay you

    Cons

    Everything. Entitled customers. Rude management, schedules that don’t get honored. A horrible place to work for anyone that’s ever had a “real” job

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting inconvenienced by your employees and get your training up to snuff

    Safeway2019-02-16
  10. "costumer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Chico, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    did allot with customer service and it helped out so much I'm seriously greatful especially because I was working as a student they will understand

    Cons

    working late nights on weekends

    Safeway2018-08-25
Found 52 reviews