Safeway Head Clerk Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Head Clerk Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
37%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
7 Ratings
  1. "Good job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Clerk in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to move up. Union and benefits.

    Cons

    Management think they know whats best

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees

    Safeway2017-10-30
  2. "Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Clerk in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great career lessons, generally fun atmosphere. Good pay.

    Cons

    Subject to normal retail hours; late nights, holidays and early mornings. Interacting with customers are the best and worst part of the job.

    Safeway2019-12-27
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time

    Pros

    Good pay Good co workers

    Cons

    Not flexible Poor communication Poor direction

    Safeway2019-12-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Put me through school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Clerk in Wheat Ridge, CO
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It all comes down to if you have a good management team. I was lucky at my store, not all stores are as helpful and flexible.

    Cons

    Pay is mediocre. Not always flexible with scheduling. The changing schedule every week can be difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be flexible.

    Safeway2019-02-26
  5. "What a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Clerk in Bakers, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits but not that great

    Cons

    Terrible management but they were nice

    Advice to Management

    Get your head out of your

    Safeway2019-01-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's all what you make of it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Clerk in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Customers get to know you very well since you help them on a personal level. Stable job. Weekly paycheck. Opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    The more you know, the more hats you are expected to fill. Can be mentally draining. Can injure yourself from repetitive movement type of work.

    Advice to Management

    Delegate tasks evenly so that a certain few don't get burnt out from the job. Help coach new hires better so that they know what's expected and feel more welcomed instead of quitting. Show appreciation.

    Safeway2018-08-12
  7. "Great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Clerk in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are awesome and the schedule is flexible.

    Cons

    Upper management micromanages and is reactionary in everything they do.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the store directors and take the time to properly train employees. Priotize customers time first rather than hitting some ridiculous salary percent target.

    Safeway2018-01-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Going downhill over the last few years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Head Clerk in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are okay. Scheduling can be flexible.

    Cons

    Heavy restrictions on scheduling means that many stores are understaffed these days. Corporate only looking at the numbers and not getting a feel for what's going on at store-level.

    Safeway2017-07-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Head clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Clerk in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not much to say here. I loved the work. Hated the politics.

    Cons

    Safeway is a very backstabbing business. I pointed out a safety issue and because of it the asked for my resignation. I was told that making notes of such a situation was not done.

    Advice to Management

    No advice. There are some things that can't be fixed.

    Safeway2017-06-06
  10. "Assistant Bakery Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Bakery Clerk in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paid weekly, easy to get hired, the money is descent if your in a management roll, customers can be the highlight of your day.

    Cons

    Long hours, high turnover rate, lack of training, upper management can't help much, stores can be sexiest and racially influenced. The company expects too much for not very much pay. Employees are expendable!

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees as well as customers, if you offered better pay you might be able to keep your employees longer

    Safeway2017-04-02
Found 32 reviews