Safeway Pharmacy Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Pharmacy Technician Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
11 Ratings
  1. "Great Teamwork Helps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Pharmacy Technician CphT in Roseburg, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had the opportunity to help build a successful team that the community could be proud of for once. Our team of five really became a close knit family. Thank you, Albertsons Companies!

    Cons

    I don't know of any cons for this location.

    Safeway2019-10-10
  2. "It was awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I liked that we had a union. And that the store was a neighborhood store.

    Cons

    The management was completely dishonest and at times, cruel.

    Advice to Management

    Go look for a job where you ca2 nt impact peoples careers or self woth.

    Safeway2019-11-18
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good place to work, keep them to promises."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience and coworkers and got more hours than I expected.

    Cons

    Was paid less than what was promised in the interview and was treated as a subordinate to (and was paid less than) a less qualified employee.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better, you would have fewer techs and pharmacists quitting which would allow better teamwork increasing prescriptions filled daily and customer satisfaction.

    Safeway2019-10-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I worked at one of the Washington, D.C locations..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked with a great team I trusted at the time but most have left or moved to other sites

    Cons

    - low pay rate - once it transitioned to Albertson's, the number of completing prescriptions per day increased significantly-- operational process is quite inefficient. It's all a numbers game to ensure that the store is making money but doesn't account for how many people picked up and actually completed the transaction. More work for the techs and less pay.

    Advice to Management

    Manage your stress levels so it doesn't affect those who work under you. Pay techs more-- they do the bulk of the work and are treated poorly! Pharmacy Techs are undervalued and they have important jobs.

    Safeway2019-07-17
  6. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician CPhT 

    I have been working at Safeway full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are great, love them.

    Cons

    Company is bad, doesn’t do good things for employees

    Safeway2019-03-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Safeway Pharmacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, love my coworkers.

    Cons

    No extra coverage for sick time/vacation.

    Safeway2019-04-06
  8. "Decent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Salida, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good fellow employees inside and outside pharmacy

    Cons

    Not enough staff for pharmacy - overworked and underpaid

    Safeway2019-02-17
  9. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Certified Pharmacy Technician 

    I worked at Safeway for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, and always plenty of shifts to work (if you're willing to float)

    Cons

    NO job security, no help when shorthanded

    Safeway2019-01-19
  10. "Pharmacy Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Pharmacy Technician in Prescott, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits because of union negotiators.

    Cons

    Too much job stress, always behind with work flow, difficult customers.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more help to get the job done in a timely fashion.

    Safeway2019-01-14
  11. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Pharmacy Technician in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In all honestly I can’t think of any pro’s

    Cons

    I worked with TERRIBLE pharmacist, one pharmacist had an issue with all the techs even techs at the former store. Nothing ever got resolved ! They treat you like slaves and expect you to do everything for them, we get paid so little meanwhile they get paid SO much and they don’t do HALF the work we do ... pay is also terrible . Decided to resign and go to cvs. Also no hours !

    Advice to Management

    Be pleasant to your techs ! They’re everything to your team and vice versa. If someone has an issue resolve it, don’t beat around the bush.

    Safeway2018-09-13
Found 50 reviews