Safeway Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Safeway Store Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
91%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
13 Ratings
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Store Manager in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway

    Pros

    Great people and great pay

    Cons

    Work life balance need improvement

    Advice to Management

    Add help into the stores

    Safeway2017-04-10
  2. "Good Job for Hard Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Starbucks Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love my coworkers - keeping in mind, not everyone has the same work ethic. But that's life.

    Cons

    Working holidays, but that's retail.

    Safeway2019-12-21
  3. "assistant store mananger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - AA Assistant Store Manager in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy to get promoted to assistant manager.

    Cons

    They schedule you 11 hour days. No set schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Ask a lot a questions

    Safeway2017-10-12
  4. "Second assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Tualatin, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great experience and great people that I worked with

    Cons

    I left the program because I changed my mind and was not willing to relocate

    Advice to Management

    Change the guidelines and the turn over would get better for the management program

    Safeway2017-03-02
  5. "No Respect, empathy and no training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in No BrenTownshipood, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None if you would of asked me 13 years ago even 10 years the best place to work.

    Cons

    The company that owns Albertsons bought Safeway and we all know what happened with them.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of lining your pockets, please help us little people succeeded and get some training PLEASE.

    Safeway2017-03-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Definition of insanity..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Wenatchee, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Compensation, serving friends and neighbors, climate control

    Cons

    Upper Management. Career assassination targeting of long-term, well compensated employees. Non-Union, salary, exempt employees have no rights (unless you belong to a protected group).

    Advice to Management

    Pray. Expectations from upper management are unrealistic, and circumstances have zero effect on expectations. Zero work life balance. Unhappy, run down staff

    Safeway2016-09-29
  7. "Corporate Hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Eureka, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway for more than a year

    Pros

    Paycheck Easily sued due to massive failures of accountability Weekly pay You feel awesome when you leave Cannot get any worse

    Cons

    Do more and more with less and less, blood from a stone doesn't do it justice Absolutely cynical, dictatorial executive management, with an "emporors new clothes" effect, no one will actually stand up and call out even the smallest aspect of the catastrophic damage being done by the absolutely single minded goal of reducing costs. The effect has been the reduction of sales instead, the complete failure of the leadership and every strategy they have rolled out, the sale of the company, and more of the same. Pathetic

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ride this dying behemoth into the ground, and stuff your pockets on the way down. Too late for any kind of reversal of fortune, this thing is flatlined.

    Safeway2016-09-15
  8. "Starbucks Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Starbucks Store Manager in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get Great benefits from Safeway.

    Cons

    Not enough hours to get all work done and they pay no overtime.

    Safeway2016-08-12
  9. "store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Grand Junction, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Safeway for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Nice benefits. Great employees.

    Cons

    Expect way too much of managers.

    Safeway2016-06-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Get out now, life is so much better on the other side!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway

    Pros

    Wages for management, the customers.

    Cons

    Company is very cooperate driven, and does not care about their people. They say they do, but it is always a "what have you done for me lately mentality." 60 hours a week with odd days off is the standard. No matter how well you do, upper management looks at you like they have been their and done that. They do not care if you are happy, you are just a body to man the store.

    Advice to Management

    Create a home/work life balance. Just because you went through it, does not mean everyone else should. Create an atmosphere that people want to be apart of!

    Safeway2016-05-05
Found 87 reviews