KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Safeway

Engaged Employer

Safeway

Add a Review

Safeway Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO Vivek Sankaran (no image)
Vivek Sankaran
287 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits health vision etc very nice(in 181 reviews)

  • "Good manager, flexible hours, good people(in 174 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper Management cant handle stores(in 167 reviews)

  • "The hourly pay was under minimum wage(in 134 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Safeway and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "flexible hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company!

      Jan 10, 2021 - Courtesy Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Staff and Leadership. Flexible hours

      Cons

      Can work quite late sometimes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed working at Safeway!

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good work, I enjoyed my time there

      Jan 21, 2021 - Currently Unemployed and Seeking Work in Clackamas, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Made good friends with co-workers, close to home, flexible hours, great starting job

      Cons

      Some mismanagement, overworked at times, some co-workers sucked, and of course bad customers at times, but overall good.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Deli Cleark

      Jan 22, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Boulder, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay for the job, Flexible Hours

      Cons

      Work is tough, Not enough workers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Decent

      Dec 6, 2020 - Produce Clerk in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours experience with customer service

      Cons

      management thinks more about what their bosses want than the people they work with will likely work holidays, especially if les seniority

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Safeway. We appreciate all of your feedback!

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good for teens

      Dec 10, 2020 - Safeway Checker in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Low stress, flexible hours, training, meet new people

      Cons

      Rude customers, unpredictable schedule, stocking shelves

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Safeway! We appreciate your balanced feedback. Have a great day! :)

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It has its ups and downs

      Jan 13, 2021 - Frozen/Dairy Clerk in Prescott, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros is that everyone I work with is friendly and they have very flexible hours which is good because I am a student.

      Cons

      They do have some strict rules about dresscode and work conduct.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Thank you for leaving a review of Safeway. We appreciate it!

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Exactly what you expect

      Nov 9, 2020 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Cave Creek, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management, flexible hours, fun people to work with

      Cons

      The holiday season loses all flexibility as expected

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Thank you for the review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Safeway. We're happy to hear you enjoyed being a Sales Associate as well as your coworkers, management and the flexible hours. :)

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Cashier

      Jan 10, 2021 - Cashier in Fairfield, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours Nice management and staff

      Cons

      Pay is not well. Manager get upset when you have personal issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Hello! Thanks for sharing your experience. We're glad to hear you enjoyed flexible hours and the management and team! We also appreciate the feedback about pay and management. Thanks for your time spent on the team. We appreciate you!

    9. 4.0
      KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.seasonal-former

      Solid job if you're looking for work

      Oct 30, 2020 - Courtesy Clerk in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, easygoing, ease of entry

      Cons

      Can become menial and repetitive, turnover

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Safeway review

      Dec 9, 2020 - Meat Clerk in Castro Valley, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible hours - Friendly and easy work environment

      Cons

      - Hours are inconsistent: 40hr/week to 25hr/week - Unorganized

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoy flexible hours and a friendly and easy working environment. I appreciate your feedback on hours and organization. My email address is kelly.brown@albertsons.com if you would like to chat more about what you think could be improved. Have a wonderful day!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 173 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Safeway Job Seekers

    Courtesy Clerk
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Safeway? Share Your Experiences

    or