Safeway "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO Bob Miller
Bob Miller
921 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SafeWay Is A Great Invironment And Has And Has The Best Experience For Customers When Shopping. The Customer Service Is Excellent And Has Good Benefits.

    Cons

    The Store May Be Filled With Customers And Will Have To Work Harder And Quickly.

    Safeway2019-10-02
  2. "I enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, cheap insurance, pto and sick time, discounts, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Drama and politics, sometimes cut hours without notice

    Continue reading
    Safeway2019-11-07
  3. "Work work work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits and paid holidays

    Cons

    The company is not how it used to be before

    Safeway2019-10-18
  4. "Hm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks 

    I have been working at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits sick pay PTO etc.

    Cons

    Poor Management, uncomfortable working environment

    Safeway2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The job title is fine but the coworkers are not people you want to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bakery Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, grocery discount, good food.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about you. The people who work there most of them have been there for 10+ 20 + years and have no lives outside of work and are bitter and just want to be negative and knock you down and gossip.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2019-10-10
  6. "Don't Look Here for Anything Other Than Temporary Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Clerk in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits from the Union. Depending on your management, the work environment can be very forgiving and easy-going.

    Cons

    There is no opportunity to grow here. Ultimately Safeway views it's employees as replaceable cogs. Your reward for climbing the ranks will be less respect of your personal time, comfort, desires, and your family.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2019-09-18
  7. "Part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clerk in Vallejo, CA

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits , nice coworkers, good pay

    Cons

    Rude customers, management sucks, no flexibility with hours

    Safeway2019-08-13
  8. "Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and good benefits.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations, back breaking work. To much work load on one person.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2019-08-06
  9. "Great people,Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk in Citrus Heights, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My team is great Good benefits Deli department has a good amount of hours

    Cons

    Management is poor, They're consistently micromanagong instead of trusting us to do the job. It is very difficult to get days off and you are guilt tripped for asking for them Extreme understaffing; If theres a call out theres seldom someone to cover and you're left manning the whole department alone throughout close Little chance to move up if you're good in the department because they want to keep you there At 40 hours the closing shifts monopolize my whole days and i dont get a life outside of work

    Safeway2019-07-20
  10. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seafood Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    union job - good benefits, 1.5xOT / 2.0xOT on Sundays, variety of shifts friendly team members

    Cons

    Secret mystery shoppers Work on holidays

    Safeway2019-07-19
Found 161 reviews