Safeway "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Safeway Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
928 Ratings
  1. "If you want to a career in food services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Combo Clerk/Cashier in West Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits over time, room for growth, secure stable pay.

    Cons

    Usual retail schedules apply minimum wage with salary increase over time. Very physically demanding work.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better and they will serve the company better.

    Safeway2019-05-10
  2. "Meat clerk to apprentice to meat cutter to journeyman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meat Cutter in Flagstaff, AZ
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Met some great cutters that taught me how to cut meat after I convinced them I was worth it. -At the time (2012-2015) AZ Safeway meat cutters were unionized allowing for good pay and support against unfair company policies if needed. -Pay scale was on a strict hour basis, meaning if you worked full time (40hrs a week) for two years, you would become top pay. -Good benefits at the time

    Cons

    Depending on the store you worked at, you could expect hours to fluctuate (if not employed under full time status). However by aligning yourself with other meat department managers, it was possible to "float" from store to store if needed. Otherwise expect all the normal grocery store bs.

    Advice to Management

    Dont have much advice as I knew different managers with different styles, both good and bad. I'm a manager now outside the retail meat business and have to say I learned plenty from the different folks that mentored me back then.

    Safeway2019-05-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hrs. Must work hard. Good benefits

    Cons

    Lazy managers in some stores

    Safeway2019-05-02
  4. "safeway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    its alright good benefits i guess

    Cons

    management is bad honestly dont work here

    Safeway2019-04-02
  5. "Unfortunate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, kind of flexible hours, sometimes cool employees to know, union backed.

    Cons

    If you have bad managers, the poison runs through the store and there is nothing you can do about it.

    Safeway2019-03-24
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Shopper in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have really good benefits, they have a union, and they also pay quite well.

    Cons

    Management had some communication issues

    Safeway2019-03-19
  7. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, nice staff, good benefits

    Cons

    A lot of stress, upper management causes a lot of it, lots of turnover

    Safeway2018-12-20
  8. "Starbucks department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time

    Pros

    The customers you meet, safeway has good benefits the longer you work there. Also work for a union.

    Cons

    You could put so much work into the company but even after 9 years of dedication, they wouldn't hesitate to replace you.

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved with your coworkers. Don't show favoritism. Act like you care about your workers.

    Safeway2018-10-04
  9. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Manager in Euless, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, room for advancement

    Cons

    Good ol boys club, will stab you in the back

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better, they will work for you, if you work with them

    Safeway2018-10-22
  10. "Floral Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floral Designer Manager in Englewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Union, Holiday Pay

    Cons

    Heavy work with very little help., schedule is not flexible , extremely demanding

    Advice to Management

    Provide more assistance and department . Provide a more upbeat and friendly your environment for employees .

    Safeway2018-10-14
Found 161 reviews