Safeway Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 166 of over 6K reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO Vivek Sankaran (no image)
Vivek Sankaran
286 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits health vision etc very nice(in 181 reviews)

  • "Good manager, flexible hours, good people(in 174 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper Management cant handle stores(in 167 reviews)

  • "The hourly pay was under minimum wage(in 134 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Safeway and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Freelancer

      Good

      Jan 22, 2021 - Assistant Bookkeeper in Mesa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Work Schedule, and team

      Cons

      Upper management at my location was less that favorable, but depends on location.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      welcome to hell

      Dec 12, 2020 - Deli Clerk in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      some of the people you work with are hard workers who know what they are doing, others not so much.

      Cons

      nothing gets fixed properly and is worn down with multiple things completely broken, sometimes your asked to work outrageous shifts, upperanagement has no college education and through there stupidity it shows, dog eat dog mentality to try and get to the top, employees get screwed over so upper management can get substantial bonuses for doing a lousy job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Hello! Thank you for sharing feedback. We’re so sorry that you didn't enjoy your time at Safeway. Please help us to improve by providing more information on your employee experience. You can reach me at kelly.brown@albertsons.com if you would like to chat. Thank you! -Kelly

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Not Bad

      Jan 22, 2021 - Florist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule for your position

      Cons

      Upper Management cant handle stores

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do research on location before applying.

      Aug 22, 2020 - Department Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the best reasons working for Safeway is there is always opportunity for Growth and advancement. Good benefits and ability to make a career out of this profession.

      Cons

      Some coons about working here is that there are many times that a person will do the job of two people. Upper management isn’t always held accountable for inappropriate attitudes or mistreatment of employees. It’s all about the numbers not so much employee satisfaction. I believe this can vary from store to store. I left because of this very reason I requested a transfer to another store and it was not given

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      All about the money

      Aug 12, 2020 - Maintenance Supervisor in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good older staff, Dale Hart is great but safeway treats and pays him like crap even though he's the only guy holding the buildings together

      Cons

      Absolutely awful people to work with. other managers do zero work and complain 24/7 while doing nothing of what they're asked. entirety of buildings responsibilities including sanitation, security, and workers safety in other departments all fell on me while the other managers worked out in the gym all day or just talked to upper management. heavily abusive to the employees, especially the ones who don't speak English, highest turn over rate I have ever seen in my life, and most penny pinching upper managers I've ever had to deal with.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Job Security

      Nov 17, 2020 - Assistant Store Manager in Elk Grove, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A essential job with job security

      Cons

      Overworked and high expectations from upper management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Thanks so much for leaving a review of Safeway! We're sorry to hear you feel overworked. We definitely want our employees to have a good work-life balance. If you'd like to share more specific feedback on how we might improve, feel free to email me at kelly.brown@albertsons.com. We want to make the employee experience great and your feedback is valued. :) Thanks so much!

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good experience at one store, awful experience at another

      Aug 8, 2020 - Bookkeeper 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, promoted internally. I had some good managers at my first store that made it a great experience.

      Cons

      Bad managers at my second store made the work awful. Very little respect and value for the employees at my second store (timing people’s ten minute breaks and reprimanding you if you took 11, not believing you when you call in, scheduling you for 7.75 hours instead of 8 to get out of a legally obligated lunch break). Working here is also Low paying unless you’re in upper management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not the best place to work

      Oct 10, 2020 - Deli Clerk in Aztec, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with some great people.

      Cons

      No benefits until a year of employment. Raises were a rare thing after the first month or two. Upper management was terrible. They cut hours at Christmas time and expected more workout of you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Safeway Response

      Social Media Writer

      Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I’m sorry that you didn’t have a great experience at Safeway. My email address is kelly.brown@albertsons.com if you would like to connect offline and chat in more detail about what you think could be improved. Have a wonderful day!

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Management Leaves Much To Be Desired

      Aug 5, 2020 - Courtesy Clerk in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work at Safeway is not only interesting and challenging, it can also be enjoyable, at times. I actually enjoyed the work itself, notwithstanding the fact that I can give Safeway no more than two (2) stars. For an explanation of the two star rating, please see "Cons," below.

      Cons

      Safeway seems to have unwittingly provide a playground for social misfits, masquerading as managers and professionals. I noticed some employees being unnecessarily being harassed, harangued, written up and discipline for the slightest infractions while more egregious violations of the rules and code of conduct were overlooked because the violators were long-term personal friends and acquaintances of management. For example, in my case, I was blamed by my immediate supervisor for everything that went wrong on a particular shift. During what purported to be my counseling, upper management discovered that on the night and shift in question, I was not even on the schedule -- I was 75 miles away in another state and unscheduled to work. When they discovered their mistake, no explanation or apology for the false accusation was ever issued. More importantly, the individuals who leveled the false report and accusations were neither challenged, counseled nor disciplined. Management shifts blame for things that go wrong to innocent employees to cover up their own dereliction of duty and incompetence. In addition to fraud, abuse, and mismanagement, I also witnessed massive waste of corporate assets on a scale that few would believe. I saw shopping carts loaded with dairy and fresh produce that were allowed to sit unattended in aisles for so long until the only thing the could be safely done with the items was to destroy them -- it was easier than restocking them in a timely manner, I witnessed massive thefts of property that, when reported to security, went unaddressed because security personnel were allegedly admonished by middle management that they were to do nothing -- they were not allowed to request receipts, conduct searches, leave the immediate premises for any reason, or secure the parking lot. One particular manager slept on the job or otherwise made himself scarce for, at least, half of every shift, And, the examples go on ... .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fun store environment, typical upper management macho mumbo jumbo

      Aug 12, 2019 - Barista - Starbucks 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many of the employees become your best friends. Management in the store was typically very friendly, understanding, and genuinely wanted the best for you. The reason this rating is 4 stars instead of 2 is solely based on the nice people, fun memories, and genuine kindness of the store and department managers.

      Cons

      Upper management (not store level) was never friendly, understanding and certainly did not care about the employees. They were money hungry and would ignore most part-time employees. Also - harassment was not uncommon among store-level employees and wasn't taken seriously prior to the Me-Too movement.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 166 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Safeway Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Safeway? Share Your Experiences

    or