Sage Environmental Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sage Environmental Consulting Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Sage Environmental Consulting CEO Steve Probst (no image)
Steve Probst
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Laid-back, yet professional workplace(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you don't like hard work then this is not the place for you(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Technical in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at Sage ATC for a few years now and it's been a phenomenal experience for my career. Sage has a wide range of clients and projects so I'm constantly working on different projects and learning new rules, programs, etc etc. The people I work under have given me guidance that I'll use for the rest of my career and I can confidently say I work with experts in the industry and that I'm becoming one. The... opportunity for growth is really amazing! The entrepreneurial spirit of Sage ATC really drives your growth in this company. With experts, guidance, and a variety of projects to work on- you set your own pace for your career. Self-accountability, excellence, and growth are top priorities at Sage! To address the regime change, Sage went under new management after ATC acquired Sage in 2016. There have been standards and culture changes that have impacted everyone for the better. There are real achieveable billable goals and management has an open door policy on tons of things that I care about: budgets, incoming projects, billable expectations, feedback on projects/performance, work schedules, flexible time, etc etc. It's been a positive change for me!

    Show More

    Cons

    Dedicated training for employees in transitional roles early on could alleviate some growing pains felt by the employee and the budget/performance data. Thankfully, there is always someone available to give coaching moments on this.

    Sage Environmental Consulting2019-08-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with a variety of opportunities offered."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Experience in a multitude of industries and regulations.

    Cons

    Expectations may be to work more than 50 hours per week.

    Sage Environmental Consulting2019-06-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Very poor upper management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multi-talented workforce across USA

    Cons

    Upper management very heavy and no supports

    Advice to Management

    Company merged with much better company and former management fired. ATC management completely different and much better than Sage

    Sage Environmental Consulting2019-06-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Project Technical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Technical 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Leadership, Great learning opportunities, Fun Culture

    Cons

    Company has gone through a new management transition and it is all on the upswing!

    Sage Environmental Consulting2018-10-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Project technical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Great space for collaborating in houston. Decent compensation.

    Cons

    Disorganized and the shakeup with ATC did not help the work environment.

    Sage Environmental Consulting2017-10-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Opportunities Exist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time

    Pros

    If willing, you will be able to work on multitude of projects, interact with a lot of clients, and may be able to work remotely to accommodate schedule.

    Cons

    Must work high number of hours, may work alongside co-workers with large ego's, and may need to play the 'political game' in order to earn desired work responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Coordinate a 'training' program in order to create a more consistent work product between Project Managers and Project Techs among respective business units.

    Sage Environmental Consulting2017-08-14
  7. "don't bother giving them a chance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your coworkers are great, and it's a very casual environment.

    Cons

    Management's expectations are impossible to achieve. They don't have much grasp on reality or what clients actually want/need. So much focus is on selling the conference, and everyone is expected to be all hands on deck for it, but it's incredibly disorganized. Expect to work 12hr days and most weekends while being poorly compensated.

    Advice to Management

    If you're not going to give us any direction whatsoever, then trust in the experienced individuals who step up as leaders...don't step in when you see someone else being a leader and then all of a sudden decide you want to be the boss, but then continue to give zero direction.

    Sage Environmental Consulting2017-08-12
  8. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice, dedicated employees who are highly qualified.

    Cons

    Lack of direction Constant pressure to get billable work without a supportive team.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like true professionals.

    Sage Environmental Consulting2017-08-04
  9. "Environmental Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with if you happen to be in the right team

    Cons

    No instructions and everything is not clear and so much policy

    Sage Environmental Consulting2017-05-26
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Environmental Consulting

    Pros

    Culture and atmosphere of the company

    Cons

    The corporate leadership tended to be out of touch

    Sage Environmental Consulting2017-02-16
Found 47 reviews