Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Sage Hospitality CEO Walter L. Isenberg
Walter L. Isenberg
156 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, Competitive Pay, ton of room to growth and Amazing Cuulture(in 10 reviews)

  • "They walk the talk when it comes to work-life balance(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a lot of upper management assistance, until the department is in shambles(in 11 reviews)

  • "Low pay; not much tip out as a host(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "True to its Values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company really lives its values and especially when it comes to its Employees and the Community. They care about their best assets, the Employees and create an environment that enables people to thrives.

    Cons

    The only down I could possibly find, is the size of the company, being on the small side with maybe less opportunities for people to progress fast. Not a deal breaker at all.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be true to your identity!

    Sage Hospitality2019-02-13

    Sage Hospitality Response

    February 25, 2019Co-Founder, President & CEO

    So happy to read your review and know you are enjoying your time with Sage. Thank you!

  2. "Wonderful company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - beautiful hotels - ample opportunity for growth - the dominant company in Denver

    Cons

    - tough hours (part for the course in hospitality, though)

    Sage Hospitality2019-04-19
  3. "Growth potential and opportunity in a historic hotel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great company that tells everyone that they want to hire great talent and work to give them the skills they need and promote from within and all that stuff... and they actually do it. I have watched many deserving people in the hotel in Nashville get promoted into new positions so they can continue to learn and grow. the HR manager really cares and is very approachable about situations and problems. My manager in...

    Show More

    Cons

    I see and hear a lot of pressure on the managers to cut hours and eliminate overtime even when the hotel is really busy and it is needed. It is hard to do your job well when youre help and backup is sent home early because it looks slow for 30 minutes and then a rush comes in and we get slammed. Hard to give good service when you are overwhelmed

    Sage Hospitality2019-04-06

    Sage Hospitality Response

    April 11, 2019Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to review Sage as an employer. We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your career, and are thrilled that you see us living our values, specifically celebrating personal and professional growth. We appreciate your feedback regarding overtime and will ...

    Show More
  4. "Management Issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sage Hospitality part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Restaurant-level management was frequently disorganized and didn't communicate effectively. Little room for advancement in guest-facing roles within the restaurant.

    Sage Hospitality2019-03-30

    Sage Hospitality Response

    April 11, 2019Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for your review.

  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Sage Hospitality part-time

      Pros

      Coworkers are great people to work with

      Cons

      Management and scheduling could use improvement

      Sage Hospitality2019-03-13

      Sage Hospitality Response

      April 11, 2019Co-Founder, President & CEO

      Happy to hear you're enjoying your Sage career. Thanks for the feedback!

    • "Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities for growth and development.

      Cons

      Upper management is not as diverse as i would have hoped

      Advice to Management

      Training and accountability is key

      Sage Hospitality2019-03-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Bad company making bad decisions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      When I first started the hotel I worked at was great, very relaxed but functioned well. Good inexpensive benefits.

      Cons

      Hired bad replacement managers, hotel went downhill and they lost it to another management company. Was offered a promotion to another hotel for an additional 50 cents per hr. Ridiculous.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your employees better and hire better managers

      Sage Hospitality2019-03-07
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front Office Supervisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Development, Engagement, Pay, Belonging, Community Service

      Cons

      Locations in the south are limited

      Advice to Management

      No advice to managers are good

      Sage Hospitality2019-02-18

      Sage Hospitality Response

      February 25, 2019Co-Founder, President & CEO

      Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you have been enjoying your Sage career!

    • "Great Resources and Great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Local Corporate office, Everyone is very accessible and if we need property assistance I can make a quick phone call and we can have someone at the property. There is great support from other GM, and the VPO even if you are not in their area.

      Cons

      One of the core values is to create a place to go to and not through, but they have not found the proper tools to implement in Low budget Brand hotels.

      Advice to Management

      Have some of the VP visit the Budget Brand hotels, so associates can feel the excitement from them and not only the GM's.

      Sage Hospitality2019-02-11

      Sage Hospitality Response

      February 25, 2019Co-Founder, President & CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to find tools to implement placemaking at all of our locations. Happy to hear you feel supported by the Home Office team and your VPO!

    • "Fulfilling workplace, community oriented, strong culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Phenomenal culture, surrounded by support and people who care, community involvement, innovative, talent development and internal growth, the list goes on. Sage truly embraces and lives by the idea that there is no greater asset than their associates and culture built around them. I started working for Sage Hospitality five years ago as a front desk agent, working evenings and overnights and have since worked my way up...

      Show More

      Cons

      No cons specific to Sage hospitality that would not be the same, and probably worse, at any other hotel management company. All I can think of our cons of the industry in general.

      Sage Hospitality2019-02-08

      Sage Hospitality Response

      February 25, 2019Co-Founder, President & CEO

      Wow, what a great Sage career story you have! Thrilled to read you have been enjoying your time with Sage for over five years! Thanks for your review.

    Found 260 reviews