Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated March 13, 2019
244 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sage Hospitality President and CEO Walter L. Isenberg
Walter L. Isenberg
155 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "True to its Values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This company really lives its values and especially when it comes to its Employees and the Community. They care about their best assets, the Employees and create an environment that enables people to thrives.

    Cons

    The only down I could possibly find, is the size of the company, being on the small side with maybe less opportunities for people to progress fast. Not a deal breaker at all.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be true to your identity!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    So happy to read your review and know you are enjoying your time with Sage. Thank you!


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Supervisor
    Current Employee - Front Office Supervisor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Development, Engagement, Pay, Belonging, Community Service

    Cons

    Locations in the south are limited

    Advice to Management

    No advice to managers are good

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you have been enjoying your Sage career!

  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality part-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are great people to work with

    Cons

    Management and scheduling could use improvement


  4. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for growth and development.

    Cons

    Upper management is not as diverse as i would have hoped

    Advice to Management

    Training and accountability is key


  5. "Bad company making bad decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    When I first started the hotel I worked at was great, very relaxed but functioned well. Good inexpensive benefits.

    Cons

    Hired bad replacement managers, hotel went downhill and they lost it to another management company. Was offered a promotion to another hotel for an additional 50 cents per hr. Ridiculous.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better and hire better managers


  6. "Great Resources and Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Local Corporate office, Everyone is very accessible and if we need property assistance I can make a quick phone call and we can have someone at the property. There is great support from other GM, and the VPO even if you are not in their area.

    Cons

    One of the core values is to create a place to go to and not through, but they have not found the proper tools to implement in Low budget Brand hotels.

    Advice to Management

    Have some of the VP visit the Budget Brand hotels, so associates can feel the excitement from them and not only the GM's.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to find tools to implement placemaking at all of our locations. Happy to hear you feel supported by the Home Office team and your VPO!


  7. "Fulfilling workplace, community oriented, strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Phenomenal culture, surrounded by support and people who care, community involvement, innovative, talent development and internal growth, the list goes on. Sage truly embraces and lives by the idea that there is no greater asset than their associates and culture built around them. I started working for Sage Hospitality five years ago as a front desk agent, working evenings and overnights and have since worked my way up to General Management. Fell in love with the company quickly.

    Cons

    No cons specific to Sage hospitality that would not be the same, and probably worse, at any other hotel management company. All I can think of our cons of the industry in general.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Wow, what a great Sage career story you have! Thrilled to read you have been enjoying your time with Sage for over five years! Thanks for your review.

  8. "Great Company, Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great culture and values - respectful - care about the people and the team.

    Cons

    None are perfect, but not micro managers.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of boomerangs with this company. People leave but come back.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for your review, and your excitement for Sage!


  9. "Bravo!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Fort Collins, CO
    Current Employee - General Manager in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Keep it up. So far so amazing!

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of. Fair company.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    We appreciate your review, glad to hear you are enjoying your Sage career!


  10. "They Live Their Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Sage is a hospitality company that lives their values. I have found the entire team to be very friendly and helpful. The company believes in and does a lot of work to better the community and their associates.

    Cons

    I haven't had any bad experiences.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Feb 25, 2019 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thanks for your review!