Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated September 18, 2018
219 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sage Hospitality President and CEO Walter L. Isenberg
Walter L. Isenberg
135 Ratings

219 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Not a lot of upper management assistance, until the department is in shambles" (in 10 reviews)

  • "VERY low pay, little recognition and appreciation" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "....As a Sage General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Beachwood, OH
    Former Employee - General Manager in Beachwood, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great corporate support.
    Strong leadership.
    Innovative ideas.
    Support, support, support

    Cons

    I no longer work for Sage. :(

    Advice to Management

    As a previous GM - from a property that was sold and no longer managed by Sage, I can't speak highly enough of my experience with the organization. The day after my hotel transferred ownership, the CEO of Sage, Walter Isenberg, left me a voice mail thanking me for my leadership during the sale - and I am sure he did the same for all 14 GM's who's properties transferred that day. From a man with so much on his plate, to take a moment to call a GM from Cleveland, Ohio, was priceless. FYI...I will be saving that message for a long time!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for your thoughtful review of Sage. Our Associates are the most important part of our business and I am always appreciative of the hard work that goes into making a hotel or restaurant... More


  2. "Great company to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Career growth
    Values
    Benefits-Hotel and restaurant discounts, healthcare

    Cons

    Work/life balance
    Maternity/Paternity leave benefits
    401K Match

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 17, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thanks for your review and feedback regarding opportunities for change. We are thrilled that you enjoy your career with Sage!

  3. "High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    When we had a Front Desk team work flowed nicely.

    Cons

    High Turnover, Management “worked from home”

    Advice to Management

    Corporate would come constantly to implement and fix issues but nothing ever was resolved. High management turnover as well.


  4. "Great company! Career opportunities/networking/development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Career opportnities - I was promoted to a new position and hotel in 2 years
    Networking - monthly meetings with people in similar position at other hotels, quaterly Team Denver meetings with education and networking
    Development - Annual development plans created in order to get you to your next step

    Cons

    While there are a ton of career opportunities, it did not feel as though being an internal candidate gave me an advantage for some positions. It did take 9 months to find my next step.

    Advice to Management

    Make internal candidates your top priority.
    But otherwise, keep up the good work! Sage is truly the best hospitality company in Denver!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 17, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy you enjoy working for Sage and we are delighted to hear of your professional growth with us.


  5. "Great hotels, Great restaurants, Great support and upward mobility!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    You can make the most of your abilities at this company - if you are a hard worker, smart and have drive there can be future upward mobility for you!

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to implement changes.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thanks for your great review!


  6. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Good culture.

    Cons

    Could be better at communicating long term strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and transparent. Trust leaders in your properties to understand your vision.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Sep 11, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    We are thrilled that you are enjoying your career with Sage, and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you!


  7. "Best Management Company I have worked for....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent Leadership
    Excellent Regional Support
    Engaged in Community
    Leadership Development for property leaders
    Management Development
    Work/Life Balance
    Jan Lucas/John Carter

    Cons

    No Sage properties in NYC, and I no longer work with Sage.

    Advice to Management

    I worked with Sage Hospitality from 2014 until my property transitioned in mid 2018. It was the best hospitality company I have had the pleasure of working for. It is hard to come by a group of people who genuinely care of their staff and the community and go out of their way to help. I have no advice for the company as they are obviously doing the right thing, Way to go Walter!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you!! We hope you find your way back to Sage someday.

  8. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Good at regional presence and support. Stressed values and culture. A sense of ownership of duties even with hourly staff. Aware of new properties entering portfolio and growth highlighted.

    Cons

    Sometimes leadership felt like a revolving door.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    We appreciate your review!


  9. "Working for Sage Hospitality was the best experience of my career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in New York, NY
    Former Employee - General Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you take pride in your hotel and are passionate about what you do and the team that you build around you, then Sage Hospitality is the company to work for. I have been in the industry 27 years and I have never worked for a company that did such a great job supporting their hotels and their people. From Walter Isenberg the co-founder/CEO down to the administrative assistants that work at the corporate office and support the field. Everyone who is passionate about the industry and what they do, should make sure they apply to work at a Sage Hospitality hotel. Hands down the best company I have ever worked for. They truly get the whole work/life balance and live the core values of the company. I loved working for this company because it's like working for family. They totally believe in promoting from within and taking care of their people. You definitely want to work for a Jan Lucas hotel if you get the opportunity. She is an unbelievable mentor, consummate professional and emanates a passion for the team and is just an all-around awesome human being.

    Cons

    I don't work for Sage due to ownership circumstances beyond Sage's control. I wish there were more New York Sage Hotels.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people like Jan Lucas or at least clone her.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thank you for the great review of Sage, we hope you boomerang back to us soon!


  10. "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    good work environment with team members

    Cons

    high turnover rate with management

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    Thanks for your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your time with Sage.


Showing 219 of 219 reviews
Reset Filters