Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
150 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Walter L. Isenberg
86 Ratings

150 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The community service that the whole company does really makes it a great place to work (in 6 reviews)

  • good benefits, fun team, active work environment (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management is complacent and too comfortable (in 8 reviews)

  • Back to the low pay everyone seems to look out for number one instead of taking care of the people that do the grunt work so turn over rate is high (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Can't believe I get to work here everyday!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    From the very first contact after my application, I was impressed by the care and dedication Sage Hospitality demonstrated to me, even just as a candidate. Their communication was always courteous, timely, and friendly! I could tell just from emails with them that they love their jobs and their company, and it was truly contagious.
    They are so intentional and genuine with everything they do. Management and coworkers are willing to be transparent and even vulnerable. They share their company values openly and are committed to them whole-heartedly. They aren't just some words written on a wall somewhere. I definitely consider myself lucky to now be part of such an incredible team.

    Cons

    There is so much growth, and "newness" (which is a great thing!) that adaptability definitely needs to be a key strength for employees. Perhaps there could be more training surrounding how to be adaptable. There is a lot of support from everyone, but maybe some more tangible skills could be beneficial.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 30, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you so much for such a great review. The experiences you have had so far are exactly what we strive for each and every day. It makes me proud to know that each department does their part in... More


  2. "I Love What I Do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Creates an environment for learning if you choose to engage that way. Always growing and creating opportunities for people. Results and people focused. I love fast paced environments and working with successful people so this is right up my alley. Company truly embraces and acts on it's commitment to give back to the community.

    Cons

    Sage could work on long term incentives for people who stay committed to them over time. There are some people leaders who need to develop better people skills.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to look for ways to recognize and reward your associates at the lower levels, not just the senior leaders. Remember they are the heart and soul of Sage.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience with Sage! We appreciate your advice and will share it with our leaders.

  3. "No work life balance, but a great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company cares about its employees. This is shown by awarding certain incentives and doing certain events for employees.

    Cons

    No work life balance.
    The pay isn't justified for the amount of work you are expected to complete.
    Upper management is complacent and too comfortable. They come in each day to collect a check and offer minimum assistance.

    Advice to Management

    Take the employee's lives into consideration. Also, if another manager isn't doing their best, don't bash this manager in front of other associates - it sets a poor tone.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you so much for your honest feedback and for your service to Sage in Austin for three years. I am glad that you enjoyed the incentive programs and the events that were put on for associates... More


  4. "Good company to get started in hospitality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Engineer in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Maintenance Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent work schedule, benefits, great co-workers, company culture.

    Cons

    General managers didn't seem to care much for their line-level employees, favoritism, hard work not rewarded, no training programs for skills development.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are what keeps the ship sailing smoothly, especially the crews that work behind the scenes. Get to know your people. Invest in them so they can provide better service and want to stay with your company.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you for your feedback on your Sage experience. I am glad that you noticed our company culture as being very important to us. We strive to ensure we have good benefits for our associates and... More


  5. "Dissatisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Meet differ people of many backgrounds and it's enjoyable experience
    Great discounts on hotels
    Good benefit

    Cons

    Understaffed and underpaid
    Managers speaks very poorly about other managers and staff
    Strong levels of favoritism
    People threaten to quit all of the time
    HR not helpful or on your side
    Managers not anonymous always talking people busy and about people
    Managers come/go when they want not get paid for doing nothing
    Alot of drama
    Alot of stress
    Alot of pressure
    No support at all
    Managers does not work together at all within this company higher management is all about themselves and belittle everyone else, always talking about each other how can you provide leadership when you are not being a leader or good example this is a good company with great potential but the higher management is not a good example or anyone I would want to represent

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better
    Work together
    Create a team not divide
    Appreciate hard work
    Work and assistant on busy times
    Be more respectful

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you so much for your honest feedback about your experience at Sage. I appreciate that you see what a great company we strive to be and providing great benefits to our associates. It sounds... More


  6. "OK as a temporary gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Host in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sage Hospitality part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Raise structure, cool co-workers, you will definitely get your breaks as scheduled which is appreciated.Also,they offer free meals to their employees in the cafeteria. I worked in a restaurant and even with my employee discount I couldn't justify the prices for my meal every shift.

    Cons

    Sage Hospitality is a Bureaucracy. A lot of the customers are very difficult to work with and act very entitled. Sage embodies a customer is always right attitude. Also, they take out a TON of taxes

    Advice to Management

    none

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jun 26, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your employment on Glassdoor. I am glad you enjoyed your experience working in one of our restaurants and felt that our pay structure, benefits and... More


  7. "Best in Class!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Corporate in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Growth, transparent, development, community involvment

    Cons

    Keeping up with the growth!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback!

  8. "Love my job !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I work with the best people around.There's a genuine commitment to make sure each employee has the opportunity to learn and grow. When things go wrong, I have an awesome team to help out and when things are great, we take time to celebrate successes. Work life balance is great too. I feel really lucky to work here !

    Cons

    Still in growth mode so it's very busy ! However, there's lots of support to get through the workload.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review, and passion for Sage!


  9. "Events Manager at the Renaissance Blackstone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits of a Marriott branded hotel, discounted room stays, employee email, ability to transfer to other Marriotts. Without the Marriott branding, there is nothing else good I can say about this hotel

    Cons

    This hotel has the highest amount of turnover in the entire city, they cannot retain both hourly and management staff, it makes working quite a challenge. Applying for a job is quite an effort, as you must submit an application 3 to 4 times, hiring managers will wait 2 to 3 weeks to follow up on any of your emails, HR is even worse. On top of that for a small boutique hotel, it is a union property. Nonunion management is afraid of the union, the hourly union associates run that hotel. Working in the sales office, with like one big sorority house. 100% run by women, instead of focusing on the business, they would criticize what you wore. I felt like I was back in high school. With so many hotels throughout the city of Chicago, my device to you, do not waste your time applying for a job at the Blackstone

    Advice to Management

    Go back to business school, and learn how to run a business. Insist that your managers follow up in less than two weeks, hopefully they're treating their clients a little bit better.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with the property team. If you have any additional thoughts or comments, please reach out directly to myvoice@sagehospitality.com


  10. "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company values mean a lot to me... Integrity, Goal driven, teamwork, community mided, etc.

    Cons

    Company is based in Denver. Must be willing to relocate to advance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you are enjoying your career with Sage!


Showing 150 of 150 reviews
Reset Filters