Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Sage Hospitality President and CEO Walter L. Isenberg
Walter L. Isenberg
173 Ratings
Pros
  • "They offer great benefits and a flexible schedule(in 12 reviews)

  • "good benefits( just because the place where I work is part of the Hilton)(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Restaurants are associated with hotels(in 20 reviews)

  • "Upper management is not as diverse as i would have hoped(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Excited for Many More Years!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really love working here. Everyone is really supportive and I feel like leadership is vested in my development and growth. Vacation policy is great, benefits are good--large network of doctors, tuition reimbursement is a HUGE plus for me.

    Cons

    While the company is going through its 2.0 stage of growth, there's a lot of change but I like the direction the organization is going.

    Sage Hospitality2019-06-12

    Sage Hospitality Response

    June 27, 2019Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thanks for the great review, we are thrilled that you are loving your career with Sage!

  2. "active"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Henderson, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    realy dont know to much

    Continue reading
    Sage Hospitality2019-12-22

    Sage Hospitality Response

    March 10, 2020Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thanks for your feedback, we hope you "boomerang" back to Sage someday!

  3. "Great company to work for. As a group."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Oceanside, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work for when you are looking for a family work balance

    Cons

    Local property struggling with external issues - construction train ....that can be frustrating

    Continue reading
    Sage Hospitality2020-05-30

    Sage Hospitality Response

    June 2, 2020People & Culture

    We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback above. We are glad to hear you found family work balance with Sage, as we strive to care for our associates and their well-being! Further, we thank you for the advice provided--we are actively and acutely focusing on innovation and ensuring it remains a foundational aspect of Sage’s culture. Best wishes to you!

  4. "Lacks Transparency"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director of Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with Sage Hospitality for two years. It was a great company to work for, given the benefits and the work/fun balance. The hotel discounts are great and the hotels are all gorgeous and well-maintained.

    Cons

    During the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic, there was a huge lack of communication from the home office and my specific hotel's Executive Committee (EC). One minute we were all carrying on with our jobs and the next, we were all "furloughed." We didn't have much advance notice and before the pandemic the leadership teams never communicated ways the employees could help by managing expenses, sanitizing, or even working from home. Our bosses never let us have the option to work from home; we were just furloughed one day and it caught us all off guard. After 60 days of waiting, the GM called us all to tell us none of us were coming back except for the EC team, who made the most money. At the end of the day, the people at the bottom of the totem pole were all let go and the people at the top got to keep their jobs. No job was secure, unless you were part of the EC team.

    Continue reading
    Sage Hospitality2020-05-20

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 29, 2020People & Culture

    We thank you for your feedback and are sorry to hear about your frustrations. Indeed this has been a tough and unprecedented time for all at Sage. Please know that all of our decisions were made by leadership with the utmost integrity based on the reality of the business at that time. We appreciate your constructive comments and will document those for future consideration, though we hope that our associates never have to go through something like this again! Thank you again and be well.

  5. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best management company I’ve ever worked for!

    Cons

    None- honestly. Amazing hotels and great corporate culture and leadership.

    Sage Hospitality2020-05-03

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 14, 2020People & Culture

    We really value associate feedback and appreciate the time you took to write this review. We are so glad to see your comments regarding our culture and leadership. We strive to be an employer of choice and will continue to focus on excellence in these areas!

  6. "Disorganized chaos"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Neat hotel properties with a lot of character

    Cons

    They have plenty of processes for things but zero desire to show you how those work. Incorrect paychecks, benefits that don't work, Senior Management that has more interest in drinking together on their properties then helping the properties flourish. Plenty of excuses for all of the things they get wrong and if they can blame the little guy they will.

    Continue reading
    Sage Hospitality2020-06-03
  7. "Unethical"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Cosmetologist in Napa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company gifts. Monthly luncheons. Daily meals.

    Cons

    Hostile. Toxic. Retaliatory. Incompetent. Turn over proves so ;)

    Continue reading
    Sage Hospitality2020-05-24

    Sage Hospitality Response

    June 2, 2020People & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value input from all associates so that we can ensure Sage continues to be a great place to work. Thank you also for the time and service you contributed to Sage. We take your constructive comments seriously and will look into them, as ensuring a safe and productive workplace is top priority for Sage (in alignment with our top value of Integrity/Ethics). Please reach out if you would like to provide further detail (myvoice@sagehospitality.com). We wish you the best.

  8. "One star for the good tips"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tips were good and consistent Co-workers were fun people for the most part

    Cons

    Toxic environment, inefficient and uncaring management, violence in the workplace, no work-life balance, lots of work politics, little opportunity to improve or grow, lack of necessary supplies and equipment, required overtime, unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Sage Hospitality2020-05-12

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 14, 2020People & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value input from all our associates as we continuously strive to make Sage Hospitality a great place to work. Without question, our top priority is the safety and wellbeing of our associates and guests. As such, we take the comments you made very seriously and will look into the situation immediately. Please connect with us at myvoice@sagehospitality.com if you would like to share additional information.

  9. "Great culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    Under staffing created heavy work loads

    Sage Hospitality2020-04-01

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 14, 2020People & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review, as we value feedback from all of our associates! We are so glad to read your comments about your fellow associates--our Sage family members truly make our company great! We also appreciate your constructive comment, please know we are always focused on creating an environment that engages our associates and sets them up for success. If you would like to provide further details, please contact us at myvoice@sagehospitality.com.

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Seemed to be a good place to work, but tough times showed the true colors."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality

    Pros

    There are many good people in Hospitality

    Cons

    Trying times show the true color of leadership and the organization’s values. When the employees needed Sage the most left them high and dry to protect the investors. Leaving little to no severance support and even using associates’ prior year bonus payouts to help float investor cash flow issues. Priorities were made very clear in these very difficult times as to what Sage cares about most. Hopefully they will find a way to navigate these dark waters and find a way to make things right.

    Continue reading
    Sage Hospitality2020-03-21

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 14, 2020People & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We value input from our associates at all times, especially the challenging ones. As you mention, these are very difficult times and Sage had to make unbelievably difficult decisions. I can assure you that leadership made these data-based decisions with integrity, while doing the best we could for as many associates as possible. As an example, we created an initiative to help associates in need by creating a Go Fund Me campaign to build and distribute care packages for our associates. If you would like to discuss further, please reach out to us at myvoice@sagehospitality.com.

Found 287 reviews