Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated July 20, 2017
33 reviews

Filter

Filter


1.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Walter L. Isenberg
16 Ratings

33 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Benefits include a free public transportation (RTD) pass, on-site gym, planned community service opportunities and lots of fun people to work with (in 6 reviews)

  • good benefits, fun team, active work environment (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management is complacent and too comfortable (in 8 reviews)

  • Back to the low pay everyone seems to look out for number one instead of taking care of the people that do the grunt work so turn over rate is high (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    None at all, very poor management company

    Cons

    Management is unorganized. Lack of follow through. Poor judgement. Phony. No care for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    I am sorry to hear that your experience at Sage was not what you hoped. In order to improve it is always good to get specific feedback on exactly what you experienced during your employment... More


  2. "Events Manager at the Renaissance Blackstone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits of a Marriott branded hotel, discounted room stays, employee email, ability to transfer to other Marriotts. Without the Marriott branding, there is nothing else good I can say about this hotel

    Cons

    This hotel has the highest amount of turnover in the entire city, they cannot retain both hourly and management staff, it makes working quite a challenge. Applying for a job is quite an effort, as you must submit an application 3 to 4 times, hiring managers will wait 2 to 3 weeks to follow up on any of your emails, HR is even worse. On top of that for a small boutique hotel, it is a union property. Nonunion management is afraid of the union, the hourly union associates run that hotel. Working in the sales office, with like one big sorority house. 100% run by women, instead of focusing on the business, they would criticize what you wore. I felt like I was back in high school. With so many hotels throughout the city of Chicago, my device to you, do not waste your time applying for a job at the Blackstone

    Advice to Management

    Go back to business school, and learn how to run a business. Insist that your managers follow up in less than two weeks, hopefully they're treating their clients a little bit better.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with the property team. If you have any additional thoughts or comments, please reach out directly to myvoice@sagehospitality.com

  3. "Look Elsewhere if in North Carolina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Paycheck, some benefits, good coworkers to suffer with, that's about it. I've heard if you're closer to head office it's a lot better.

    Cons

    Wages are not competitive, since the head office is in Denver they want to micromanage upper management with constant conference calls so that they can't actually manage the hotel themselves. They do everything to save a dollar, but still expect employees to do the impossible without giving them any tools of success. They're rather keep hiring new people than train and retain current employees. Upper managers abuse unlimited time off but lecture mid managers and staff about overtime, but refuse to assist.

    Advice to Management

    Let your upper managers actually be managers and see their staff instead of being chained to a desk 24/7 just to talk to you. Also, you need to spend some money to make all the money we do, unless you want to keep losing customers and good employees.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback and would like to hear your thoughts on how we can continue to improve as an employer. Please do not hesitate to reach out to myvoice@sagehospitality.com with constructive... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "" perception is NOT always reality""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A paycheck, some good conversation with some coworkers, Marriott discounts.

    Cons

    Expectations are way too high from management to the Front Desk staff. Their is obvious favoritism and special treatment given to those who quickly and not so secretly run to management with the latest gossip and "News of the day." Don't expect to be recognized for your daily hard work, but do expect to be told you need to improve, and to be asked why you did what you did, with results you wont like. Gossip runs rampid, and will be used against you, even though it is unsubstantiated, as long as their is a bias against you, you loose. Do yourself a huge favor, and keep looking.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We understand that the expectations for associates in a fast paced hospitality environment is not for everyone. Your feedback will be shared with our leaders and key folks on property. Please feel... More


  5. "Poorly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    There is a culture of wanting to get better, even if this desire is not focused.

    Cons

    The corporate structure leaves the support of the hotels way too lean.

    Advice to Management

    Do not skimp on takeover transition teams. When acquiring a new hotel, be sure all policies, processes, and procedures are set up and running before the transition team departs.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We appreciate your review and will share your feedback with our transition leaders.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Play the game, go far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Audit Supervisor in Westminster, CO
    Former Employee - Night Audit Supervisor in Westminster, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Have a lot of properties to get descent rates at.

    Cons

    They have no clue the talent they have, and if you don't play their games, you will go no where. There business moto is if you get 6 months out of an employee, it's a good thing. All employees are replaceable.

    Advice to Management

    Just because you have an employee that plays your games, doesn't mean they are good for the company.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. Please take a moment to visit our Sage Careers Facebook page (@mysagecareer) and review our Faces of Sage campaign. Twice a week it highlights our talented associates... More


  7. "Not So great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Oceanside, CA
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Oceanside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Great discount! and nice location

    Cons

    No employee outings and managers think they are always right and don't listen to staff.

    Advice to Management

    Employees need training and reward the employees once in a while. Please work on getting the employees motivated to look forward to go to work. Its not fun working with people that fear managers.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Oct 6, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thanks for your review! Your feedback is what can make us better as a company and we appreciate you taking the time to share your opinions. We will engage our operations team to take a closer look at... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    There's SOOO much turnover, they are always hiring and blaming it on the "economy". The majority of the employees don't stay with Sage because they are not treated like the select few "favorites".

    Cons

    Upper management uses their unlimited paid time off policy liberally while mid management and line level employees work all the hours without direction. I believe upper management thinks this incentive will keep their management team from leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Employees stay with the company when they feel appreciated. Equal pay and benefits is a way to show employees you appreciate them.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 11, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to hear more about your experience while working for Sage and invite you to contact us directly at myvoice@sagehospitality.com


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Front desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    none that I can comment on

    Cons

    Favoritism shown by management to certain associates over others.
    They do not uphold the standards of the brands they represent.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jun 28, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We appreciate your review. At Sage, our #1 Value is Act With Integrity, and we want to ensure our values are being upheld at all of our properties. Please feel free to reach out to us directly... More


  10. Helpful (5)

    "The Worst Hospitality Management Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Level Operations Manager
    Former Employee - Executive Level Operations Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Their "Independence Plan" for Executive Committee members grants "unlimited" PTO from day one. Due to high turnover within the company, there is always opportunity to move and do task force.

    Cons

    Where do I begin... There are many Sage specific systems, procedures and processes and they do not have any real training for them. Yet, you're expected to know them all. They present unrealistic promises and budgets to ownership and then put pressure on the property level associates to meet these goals. Task force at transition hotels is a joke. Very unprofessional, gossipy, didn't know the brand and didn't know Sage. Very desperate hiring decisions were made during transition. 6 months after the transition the hotel is back to square one, only one manager is still there. Corporate/Human Resources is a joke. Complaints and concerns fell on deaf ears. Very unsupportive and "deal with it yourself" attitudes.

    Advice to Management

    If you're going to take over a hotel, please make sure that it is set up for success. Ensure the right task force team is is place and ensure that your new team has the tools and knowledge to run the hotel.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 18, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Many of our leaders do seem to appreciate the trust we put in our leaders to take the time off that they need via our Independence Plan. Currently we are... More


Showing 33 of 153 reviews
Reset Filters