Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated January 21, 2017
24 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Walter L. Isenberg
10 Ratings

24 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • good benefits, fun team, active work environment (in 6 reviews)

  • Great benefits, managers are personable and easy to communicate with (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Back to the low pay everyone seems to look out for number one instead of taking care of the people that do the grunt work so turn over rate is high (in 7 reviews)

  • Upper management uses their unlimited paid time off policy liberally while mid management and line level employees work all the hours without direction (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Bad experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Restaurant Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits was good and really the only good thing

    Cons

    Everything was bad by far one of tge worst companies to work for...you try so hard to improve score just to be failed by management again...Staff runs Management

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better the Staff runs Management...high turn over rate and no structure


  2. "The company as a whole is great, the downtown denver property at springhill suites not so much"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits from the company

    Cons

    The management at Degree restaurant are unprofessional, lazy, almost never around. Promises of advancement but its all smoke and mirrors. Certain employees get to play by a different set of rules.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to get new management. I have been in management for 5 years and i have never seen a restaurant ran like this.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We will share this feedback with our leaders. Please feel free to reach out directly to discuss your thoughts further by emailing us - myvoice@sagehospitality.com


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They are located in Colorado so most communication is done through phone or email. Benefits are pretty good, but could be better.

    Cons

    Terrible at employee retention. Does not allow the managers to handle issues, it must be "approved". Which can take days or even weeks. No clear discipline procedures so the laziest employees get away with EVERYTHING. While the hardest workers get talked to if something minor was not accomplished.

    Advice to Management

    Give the GM the authority to run his hotel as he deems fit. Discipline the employees that are CONSISTENTLY not completing assignments and/or CONSISTENTLY tardy or calling off.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your concerns, please email us directly at myvoice@sagehospitality.com.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You get paid for the work you do

    Cons

    There no consistency oh how things get done because it's a revolving door there

    Advice to Management

    Find out why so many people leave the company

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Sep 13, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Currently we are experiencing 12% turnover year to date as a company. However, it sounds like your experience felt different. We would love to invite you to tell ... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "On paper they look good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    In comparison to the former management company before Sage took over, Sage is fine. They offer PTO (3 hours per pay period) Sick pay (3 days per year) discounted health, vision, and dental, 401K with company matching (3%). At my hotel, people aren't denied time off requests.

    Cons

    Management is always unavailable because Sage loves conference calls, forecasting, and meetings, and compliance audits. as a line level employee you don't get the support needed from management because they aren't available. They took hospitality and made it not fun anymore. Since coming to Sage nearly 3 years ago I've applied for 4 promotions, and haven't moved up or learned anything new, because managers are too busy to teach. So the opportunity to move up within your own hotel is difficult especially when no one is available to show or teach new skills. Sage Hospitality is located 2,000 miles away and doesn't understand the market or special events that fill the city loves overselling our hotel, even when there is no place to walk to, but as a line level front desk agent who has no incentive to sell out, 98% occupancy with no walks is better than 100% occupancy with 1 walk. Also it's a hotel, so the hours aren't ideal. everyone else leaves at 5, and you're stuck until 12. Since Sage took over in Charlotte (4 hotels) they've lost 5 General Managers in 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    limit conference calls, and meetings, and compliance audits, and make hospitality fun again. In comparison to our previous ownership group for a line level employee Sage is a better company on paper, but it's not enjoyable. Also teach employee new skills, allow them to grow. Create and incentive plan for then to want to sell out the hotel.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 9, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We would like to hear more about your Sage experience, please feel free to email myvoice@sagehospitality.com so we can discuss your review further. Thank you for your feedback.


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Craziest Company Ever"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance if you put in the work.

    Cons

    Ridiculous expectations and too much pressure. No matter how well you do, it's never enough.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to you employees and give them a work-life balance.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 4, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We hope you mean CRAZY AWESOME! It's true, we do advance our associates throughout the ranks of our hotels and restaurants. Achieving personal and professional growth is one of our Sage Values! A ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Accounting Clerk"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Accountant in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Busy environment, growing organization in a growing town(Nashville). Good benefits. A nice situation if you like a fast pace.

    Cons

    Somewhat impersonal and too focused on numbers only. It's the hotel business, but there is a lot of turnover. Compensation not great.


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to move within the city. The benefits were pretty good and some great teammates

    Cons

    Challenges are management at hotel and corporate is horrible. I tried following protocol no luck and corporate hr was a major joke.

    Advice to Management

    Open door policy should be just that, its time for consistency.


  10. Helpful (9)

    "I hope as a company they aren't indicative of the property I worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Manager in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Front Office Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Widespread location opportunities
    Great once you ascend past a director position
    You will get in a good year or two depending on the position and meet some great hard working people you can network with once you all leave.

    Cons

    Complete lack of training other than systems at my property
    Complete lack of staff cultivation or protection of talent
    The most minor of staff gratification whether it be budgets, appreciation or programs.
    Complete protection of faulty upper management who are utilized as the decision makers of line up to mid level management
    Complete lack of oversight at our property with regards to core values, respect and staff treatment.
    Profits over people mentality.

    Advice to Management

    The Nines has the highest turnover rate in the city yet the general manager for the property received yet another promotion. Same with the Director of H.R. who now resides over multiple Sage properties. You need to start caring about your line, and mid level management. They matter too, not just your Directors on up. Why is it when you have your annual ratings the people with the lowest scores receive the promotions? Better oversight on the upper management you protect. The Nines is recognized by H.R. Directors and the industry as a whole in the city of Portland as being a horrible place to work. So many great people walk out your door and yet you spend how much on on-boarding? Let's get real here. I will never work for Sage again. It's just not worth it and I have worked in this industry for almost 16 years.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Oct 5, 2015 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Hello and thank you for your feedback! We take these reviews to heart and pass them along to the people that can help to create change on property. It's nice to know that you were able to meet ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Local Company, involved with the community a lot. Multiple hotels in Denver area, with room to grow.

    Cons

    Fast growing company, unable to hire experienced upper management (a lot of turn over).

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees



Showing 24 of 128 reviews
Reset Filters