Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
26 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Walter L. Isenberg
10 Ratings

26 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Benefits include a free public transportation (RTD) pass, on-site gym, planned community service opportunities and lots of fun people to work with (in 6 reviews)

  • good benefits, fun team, active work environment (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management is complacent and too comfortable (in 8 reviews)

  • Back to the low pay everyone seems to look out for number one instead of taking care of the people that do the grunt work so turn over rate is high (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Restaurant Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    The company's growing faster than it can handle.

    Cons

    Vacuum in leadership and corporate attention.

    Advice to Management

    This is a people industry, invest in people. Morale is huge in service.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you for your honesty in reviewing your employment in one of our restaurants while you are still employed. Sage is growing very quickly and at times we do have growing pains. I would love to... More


  2. "Dissatisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Meet differ people of many backgrounds and it's enjoyable experience
    Great discounts on hotels
    Good benefit

    Cons

    Understaffed and underpaid
    Managers speaks very poorly about other managers and staff
    Strong levels of favoritism
    People threaten to quit all of the time
    HR not helpful or on your side
    Managers not anonymous always talking people busy and about people
    Managers come/go when they want not get paid for doing nothing
    Alot of drama
    Alot of stress
    Alot of pressure
    No support at all
    Managers does not work together at all within this company higher management is all about themselves and belittle everyone else, always talking about each other how can you provide leadership when you are not being a leader or good example this is a good company with great potential but the higher management is not a good example or anyone I would want to represent

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better
    Work together
    Create a team not divide
    Appreciate hard work
    Work and assistant on busy times
    Be more respectful

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you so much for your honest feedback about your experience at Sage. I appreciate that you see what a great company we strive to be and providing great benefits to our associates. It sounds... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Restaurant Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits was good and really the only good thing

    Cons

    Everything was bad by far one of tge worst companies to work for...you try so hard to improve score just to be failed by management again...Staff runs Management

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better the Staff runs Management...high turn over rate and no structure

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We are delighted you liked our benefits package while working for Sage. We would love more insight into your comment "staff runs management", as it is hard to understand exactly what that means for... More


  4. "The company as a whole is great, the downtown denver property at springhill suites not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits from the company

    Cons

    The management at Degree restaurant are unprofessional, lazy, almost never around. Promises of advancement but its all smoke and mirrors. Certain employees get to play by a different set of rules.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to get new management. I have been in management for 5 years and i have never seen a restaurant ran like this.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We will share this feedback with our leaders. Please feel free to reach out directly to discuss your thoughts further by emailing us - myvoice@sagehospitality.com


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They are located in Colorado so most communication is done through phone or email. Benefits are pretty good, but could be better.

    Cons

    Terrible at employee retention. Does not allow the managers to handle issues, it must be "approved". Which can take days or even weeks. No clear discipline procedures so the laziest employees get away with EVERYTHING. While the hardest workers get talked to if something minor was not accomplished.

    Advice to Management

    Give the GM the authority to run his hotel as he deems fit. Discipline the employees that are CONSISTENTLY not completing assignments and/or CONSISTENTLY tardy or calling off.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your concerns, please email us directly at myvoice@sagehospitality.com.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You get paid for the work you do

    Cons

    There no consistency oh how things get done because it's a revolving door there

    Advice to Management

    Find out why so many people leave the company

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Sep 13, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Currently we are experiencing 12% turnover year to date as a company. However, it sounds like your experience felt different. We would love to invite you to tell... More


  7. Helpful (6)

    "On paper they look good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    In comparison to the former management company before Sage took over, Sage is fine. They offer PTO (3 hours per pay period) Sick pay (3 days per year) discounted health, vision, and dental, 401K with company matching (3%). At my hotel, people aren't denied time off requests.

    Cons

    Management is always unavailable because Sage loves conference calls, forecasting, and meetings, and compliance audits. as a line level employee you don't get the support needed from management because they aren't available. They took hospitality and made it not fun anymore. Since coming to Sage nearly 3 years ago I've applied for 4 promotions, and haven't moved up or learned anything new, because managers are too busy to teach. So the opportunity to move up within your own hotel is difficult especially when no one is available to show or teach new skills. Sage Hospitality is located 2,000 miles away and doesn't understand the market or special events that fill the city loves overselling our hotel, even when there is no place to walk to, but as a line level front desk agent who has no incentive to sell out, 98% occupancy with no walks is better than 100% occupancy with 1 walk. Also it's a hotel, so the hours aren't ideal. everyone else leaves at 5, and you're stuck until 12. Since Sage took over in Charlotte (4 hotels) they've lost 5 General Managers in 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    limit conference calls, and meetings, and compliance audits, and make hospitality fun again. In comparison to our previous ownership group for a line level employee Sage is a better company on paper, but it's not enjoyable. Also teach employee new skills, allow them to grow. Create and incentive plan for then to want to sell out the hotel.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Aug 9, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We would like to hear more about your Sage experience, please feel free to email myvoice@sagehospitality.com so we can discuss your review further. Thank you for your feedback.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Craziest Company Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance if you put in the work.

    Cons

    Ridiculous expectations and too much pressure. No matter how well you do, it's never enough.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to you employees and give them a work-life balance.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 4, 2016 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We hope you mean CRAZY AWESOME! It's true, we do advance our associates throughout the ranks of our hotels and restaurants. Achieving personal and professional growth is one of our Sage Values! A... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Accounting Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Accountant in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Busy environment, growing organization in a growing town(Nashville). Good benefits. A nice situation if you like a fast pace.

    Cons

    Somewhat impersonal and too focused on numbers only. It's the hotel business, but there is a lot of turnover. Compensation not great.


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to move within the city. The benefits were pretty good and some great teammates

    Cons

    Challenges are management at hotel and corporate is horrible. I tried following protocol no luck and corporate hr was a major joke.

    Advice to Management

    Open door policy should be just that, its time for consistency.


Showing 26 of 160 reviews
Reset Filters