Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated June 13, 2017
145 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Walter L. Isenberg
85 Ratings

145 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • The community service that the whole company does really makes it a great place to work (in 6 reviews)

  • good benefits, fun team, active work environment (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Back to the low pay everyone seems to look out for number one instead of taking care of the people that do the grunt work so turn over rate is high (in 7 reviews)

  • Upper management uses their unlimited paid time off policy liberally while mid management and line level employees work all the hours without direction (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Can't believe I get to work here everyday!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    From the very first contact after my application, I was impressed by the care and dedication Sage Hospitality demonstrated to me, even just as a candidate. Their communication was always courteous, timely, and friendly! I could tell just from emails with them that they love their jobs and their company, and it was truly contagious.
    They are so intentional and genuine with everything they do. Management and coworkers are willing to be transparent and even vulnerable. They share their company values openly and are committed to them whole-heartedly. They aren't just some words written on a wall somewhere. I definitely consider myself lucky to now be part of such an incredible team.

    Cons

    There is so much growth, and "newness" (which is a great thing!) that adaptability definitely needs to be a key strength for employees. Perhaps there could be more training surrounding how to be adaptable. There is a lot of support from everyone, but maybe some more tangible skills could be beneficial.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 30, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you so much for such a great review. The experiences you have had so far are exactly what we strive for each and every day. It makes me proud to know that each department does their part in ... More


  2. "Night Auditor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Fun, flexible, staff, work, energy

    Cons

    Turnover, managment changes, extended shifts, no overtime, parking

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jun 14, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thank you for writing a review!


  3. "Leadership that sincerely cares...but with flaws"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    The focus on community involvement was a priority, which made the team feel that their work matters. The company truly care about employees and community. When my hotel's ownership changed management companies, the team was very unhappy. We enjoyed working with Sage.

    Cons

    There were a couple people in senior leadership positions that had the power to change the whole dynamic of the division, turning it into a high-pressure environment.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Thanks for your thoughtful input. We’re glad you appreciated and connected to our core values, specifically giving back to the communities in which we work and live. We also appreciate your ... More


  4. "OK as a temporary gig"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Host in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sage Hospitality part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Raise structure, cool co-workers, you will definitely get your breaks as scheduled which is appreciated.Also,they offer free meals to their employees in the cafeteria. I worked in a restaurant and even with my employee discount I couldn't justify the prices for my meal every shift.

    Cons

    Sage Hospitality is a Bureaucracy. A lot of the customers are very difficult to work with and act very entitled. Sage embodies a customer is always right attitude. Also, they take out a TON of taxes

    Advice to Management

    none


  5. "Great opportunities!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Sage has been an incredible company to work for. They truly take care for their associates. Over the last several years of hard work and great passion for the business, I have been afforded many great opportunities to advance my career. I highly recommend this company if you are results-driven, passionate and looking to advance your career.

    Cons

    Sage is not always the best at procedures and systems but we more than make up for it in how we take care of our people.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing. Take care of your people. Be heart-led leaders!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 30, 2017 – Co-Founder, President and CEO

    Congratulations on being with Sage for over 10 years! That speaks volumes as to our Sage culture and our ability to provide advancement opportunities for our associates. I want Sage to continue to ... More


  6. "General Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Allows me to run my business without interference. Trusts me to make on site decisions. Allows me to do charity work and actually makes it part of my performance review.

    Cons

    Orientation process is not exactly fine tuned. You need to be a self starter.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 25, 2017 – Co-Founder, President & CEO

    It is great to hear from a recently hired General Manager that you feel empowered to act independently and that you too value community service and its’ impact. We take pride in our hiring process ... More


  7. "Events Manager at the Renaissance Blackstone."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits of a Marriott branded hotel, discounted room stays, employee email, ability to transfer to other Marriotts. Without the Marriott branding, there is nothing else good I can say about this hotel

    Cons

    This hotel has the highest amount of turnover in the entire city, they cannot retain both hourly and management staff, it makes working quite a challenge. Applying for a job is quite an effort, as you must submit an application 3 to 4 times, hiring managers will wait 2 to 3 weeks to follow up on any of your emails, HR is even worse. On top of that for a small boutique hotel, it is a union property. Nonunion management is afraid of the union, the hourly union associates run that hotel. Working in the sales office, with like one big sorority house. 100% run by women, instead of focusing on the business, they would criticize what you wore. I felt like I was back in high school. With so many hotels throughout the city of Chicago, my device to you, do not waste your time applying for a job at the Blackstone

    Advice to Management

    Go back to business school, and learn how to run a business. Insist that your managers follow up in less than two weeks, hopefully they're treating their clients a little bit better.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with the property team. If you have any additional thoughts or comments, please reach out directly to myvoice@sagehospitality.com


  8. "Best in Class!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Corporate in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Growth, transparent, development, community involvment

    Cons

    Keeping up with the growth!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thanks for your feedback!


  9. "I Love What I Do!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Creates an environment for learning if you choose to engage that way. Always growing and creating opportunities for people. Results and people focused. I love fast paced environments and working with successful people so this is right up my alley. Company truly embraces and acts on it's commitment to give back to the community.

    Cons

    Sage could work on long term incentives for people who stay committed to them over time. There are some people leaders who need to develop better people skills.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to look for ways to recognize and reward your associates at the lower levels, not just the senior leaders. Remember they are the heart and soul of Sage.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience with Sage! We appreciate your advice and will share it with our leaders.


  10. "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Sage is a great company! The values the company has is what they strive for every day. They make a difference in every community where they have a hotel. Continue enriching lives, one experience at a time!

    Cons

    This is a difficult industry as the labor pool is a challenge. This isn't unique to Sage though.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to blend the two hotel divisions.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We appreciate your review of Sage and are delighted to have you on our team. Thanks for helping us continue to create places people go to, not through!


Showing 145 of 145 reviews
Reset Filters