Sage Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated August 15, 2017
153 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

153 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Benefits include a free public transportation (RTD) pass, on-site gym, planned community service opportunities and lots of fun people to work with (in 6 reviews)

  • good benefits, fun team, active work environment (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management is complacent and too comfortable (in 8 reviews)

  • Back to the low pay everyone seems to look out for number one instead of taking care of the people that do the grunt work so turn over rate is high (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sage Hospitality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Innovative, Growing, and much Room for Advancement

    Cons

    There are not more properties in my cluster

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review!


  2. "Events Manager at the Renaissance Blackstone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - CSM in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits of a Marriott branded hotel, discounted room stays, employee email, ability to transfer to other Marriotts. Without the Marriott branding, there is nothing else good I can say about this hotel

    Cons

    This hotel has the highest amount of turnover in the entire city, they cannot retain both hourly and management staff, it makes working quite a challenge. Applying for a job is quite an effort, as you must submit an application 3 to 4 times, hiring managers will wait 2 to 3 weeks to follow up on any of your emails, HR is even worse. On top of that for a small boutique hotel, it is a union property. Nonunion management is afraid of the union, the hourly union associates run that hotel. Working in the sales office, with like one big sorority house. 100% run by women, instead of focusing on the business, they would criticize what you wore. I felt like I was back in high school. With so many hotels throughout the city of Chicago, my device to you, do not waste your time applying for a job at the Blackstone

    Advice to Management

    Go back to business school, and learn how to run a business. Insist that your managers follow up in less than two weeks, hopefully they're treating their clients a little bit better.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    May 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with the property team. If you have any additional thoughts or comments, please reach out directly to myvoice@sagehospitality.com

  3. "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company values mean a lot to me... Integrity, Goal driven, teamwork, community mided, etc.

    Cons

    Company is based in Denver. Must be willing to relocate to advance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you are enjoying your career with Sage!


  4. "Good Temporary Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Oceanside, CA
    Current Employee - Server in Oceanside, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Can't complain about the ocean front view! This is a good part time job with the potential to make good money. Managers are flexible around employee schedules. Employees are offered benefits which is unheard of for a server. Also discounts on Marriott rooms..sweet perk.

    Cons

    Managers are sometimes too lax and the restaurant can be disorganized. There needs to be stricter policies implemented. The restaurant is also centered around tourism so summers are slammed and winters can be dreadfully slow. No income consistency but that comes with the territory of being a server. This place is also very cliquey..also comes with the territory of being a server.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so lax! Hold people accountable when they don't complete their side work etc. Show more appreciation for the employees that are consistently on time, do their work, and genuinely give good service to guests.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate this feedback and will pass it along to our leaders. Please feel free to reach out directly to myvoice@sagehospitality.com with any additional comments.


  5. "Look Elsewhere if in North Carolina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Paycheck, some benefits, good coworkers to suffer with, that's about it. I've heard if you're closer to head office it's a lot better.

    Cons

    Wages are not competitive, since the head office is in Denver they want to micromanage upper management with constant conference calls so that they can't actually manage the hotel themselves. They do everything to save a dollar, but still expect employees to do the impossible without giving them any tools of success. They're rather keep hiring new people than train and retain current employees. Upper managers abuse unlimited time off but lecture mid managers and staff about overtime, but refuse to assist.

    Advice to Management

    Let your upper managers actually be managers and see their staff instead of being chained to a desk 24/7 just to talk to you. Also, you need to spend some money to make all the money we do, unless you want to keep losing customers and good employees.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback and would like to hear your thoughts on how we can continue to improve as an employer. Please do not hesitate to reach out to myvoice@sagehospitality.com with constructive... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "" perception is NOT always reality""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A paycheck, some good conversation with some coworkers, Marriott discounts.

    Cons

    Expectations are way too high from management to the Front Desk staff. Their is obvious favoritism and special treatment given to those who quickly and not so secretly run to management with the latest gossip and "News of the day." Don't expect to be recognized for your daily hard work, but do expect to be told you need to improve, and to be asked why you did what you did, with results you wont like. Gossip runs rampid, and will be used against you, even though it is unsubstantiated, as long as their is a bias against you, you loose. Do yourself a huge favor, and keep looking.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We understand that the expectations for associates in a fast paced hospitality environment is not for everyone. Your feedback will be shared with our leaders and key folks on property. Please feel... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Restaurant Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits was good and really the only good thing

    Cons

    Everything was bad by far one of tge worst companies to work for...you try so hard to improve score just to be failed by management again...Staff runs Management

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better the Staff runs Management...high turn over rate and no structure

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We are delighted you liked our benefits package while working for Sage. We would love more insight into your comment "staff runs management", as it is hard to understand exactly what that means for... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Property needs better management and diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Food for lunch and dinner during 30 minute break.
    Opportunity to transfer departments and location, if applicable,
    Opportunity for overtime and doubletime when needed.
    Vision and dental is free and included for full time benefits.
    Full time benefits kick in 90 days.

    Cons

    Medical insurance needs to be better and would be great if benefits and PTO would start after 90 days.
    Seniority schedule is only effective when department is NOT understaffed.
     Health insurance is 80/20
    During "slow season" after holidays, staff hours are reduced drastically. Only top two seniority gets 40 hours.

    Advice to Management

    Hire diverse and create a healthy environment. Some managers encountered that quit were only praising their "favorites" and didn't recognize hard working people. Make sure HR staff is inviting and not hostile. Renaissance Blackstone DOES not carry out Sage's core values and culture. Some upper management are hostile.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. Please reach out to myvoice@sagehospitality.com directly as we would like to better understand your concerns. Your employment with Sage is important to us and we want you... More


  9. "Poorly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    There is a culture of wanting to get better, even if this desire is not focused.

    Cons

    The corporate structure leaves the support of the hotels way too lean.

    Advice to Management

    Do not skimp on takeover transition teams. When acquiring a new hotel, be sure all policies, processes, and procedures are set up and running before the transition team departs.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    We appreciate your review and will share your feedback with our transition leaders.


  10. "The company as a whole is great, the downtown denver property at springhill suites not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Hospitality full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits from the company

    Cons

    The management at Degree restaurant are unprofessional, lazy, almost never around. Promises of advancement but its all smoke and mirrors. Certain employees get to play by a different set of rules.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be to get new management. I have been in management for 5 years and i have never seen a restaurant ran like this.

    Sage Hospitality Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Communication and Branding Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We will share this feedback with our leaders. Please feel free to reach out directly to discuss your thoughts further by emailing us - myvoice@sagehospitality.com


Showing 153 of 153 reviews
Reset Filters