KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sage Products

Part of Stryker
Is this your company?

Sage Products

Add a Review

Sage Products Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 87 of over 94 reviews

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Sage Products Chairman and CEO Vince Foglia (no image)
Vince Foglia
67 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome company and starter!

    Jun 20, 2022 - Associate Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great role to learn and grown alongside seasoned sales representative. You must make sure that you are the one most worried about your mobility and ability to move on from this role.

    Cons

    Depending on your manager this could be a job that is short term, in and out. No real development plan for Associates to be retained.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good products that work but overall leadership is inconsistent

    Dec 10, 2019 - Sales Support in Cary, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    On-site fitness center and wellness center Very community oriented organization--they sponsor a lot of local events and have many ties to the community Strong history with good products that really solve healthcare problems Sales training process is very strong Good benefits--including better paternal leave benefits Vince Foglia (company founder) left an extremely strong legacy

    Cons

    Sage Products was acquired by Stryker Medical in 2016 and many of its great qualities were starting to disintegrate as time went on. Location is far out from the Chicago market, so attracting/retaining top talent is challenging Salaries are below average Company was very hesitant to allow remote working options during tenure (only a few exceptions) High-level turnover since the acquisition by Stryker Develop people to perform a role well but do not offer opportunities to grow (limited within Sage) Suffered a recall in late 2017 that took time to recover from Their interview process can be extremely lengthy (phone interview, 3 on-site "interviews"). I understand why they do it, but it can be extremely intimidating at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place To Work

    Feb 23, 2018 - QC Technician in Cary, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Before I proceed, I am not one that write reviews but I also appreciate a good experience. This is a good company to work for. I cannot speak for each department but the QC lab was a fun group. The QC supervisor and QC leads were great communicators and expects the best from its team (rightfully so). The QC lab techs all worked together to get their jobs done. Yes, as with every team we have different personality types, so shut up and isn't that the case in every work of life. However I am impressed on how the team blended together to get each task accomplished. This would have being a good place to name drop some work heroes I personally knew but it won't be fair for those I didn't work with because I was there for a short time. All in all great staff, easy going and expects excellence which is all you can ask for.

    Cons

    Like I mentioned above, I cannot speak for the company as a whole but I enjoyed the few months in the QC lab and maybe i wasn't there long enough to see loop holes. Any cons I might have seen are all fixable and might have being fixed while I was there. (Btw had nothing to do with me, it's all a team effort, so shut up!)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Change can be hard for many but it is still an amazing company

    Apr 28, 2018 - Manager in Cary, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of changes in leadership but all for the better. Many long time Sage leaders who have been with the company want to retire and enjoy their lives. Some don’t want to be part of a larger public company and that’s ok. Not for everyone. The opportunity for advancement now is incredible. We are seeing people move into new roles, promoted in to leadership and have expanded responsibility that would never have happened without Stryker. Has Sage changed? Yes. Are we still an amazing company where we care about the people, the products, and quality? Absolutely! Stryker is the 16th Best Company to work for. We are so lucky to be part of this organization.

    Cons

    Change is hard. For long time Sage employees I’m sure it looks different and feels different. There are many new faces and many long time leaders have left. But the people that have come in care about our people. They want sage to be successful. We will continue to make changes. Everyone needs to understand we are part of a 16B public company. It is no longer a small private company.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Extraordinary Company!

    Mar 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Sage culture is awesome! From the top level down, the main focus is on people and relationships. The President as well as the Chairman of the Board knows everyone's name, they both have an open door policy, and they both truly care about each & every person that walks through the door. They are very generous, very caring and have a true passion to help people succeed...not only in business, but in life. Good health is strongly encouraged. To support that, Sage has a 24 hour fitness center and gym, fitness classes, a Wellness Center staffed with a nurse practitioner and a doctor, a physical therapist, and an occupational therapist. Family values and strong ethics are also encouraged. "Always take the high road" is the way of doing business here. People are happy to come to work, feel good about what they do and feel valued to be a part of Sage.

    Cons

    It's hard to stay humble and not brag about Sage when talking to family, friends and neighbors.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work.. if you are hired on........

    May 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cary, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clean building, good amount of nice people . Clean bathrooms , nice cafeteria and what not , had a nice gym but you had to be hired on for that........

    Cons

    Being a a temp : impossible to be hired on...., if machines are down you are thrown out and not allowed to work so hired on people have work which is ridiculous it’s just because the multi billion dollar company doesn’t want to help pay extra for people they are using like trash for work. Hmmm.. also you get no benefits obvouiusly ... you aren’t allowed to participate in any activities because you have to be hired on. Good amount of people look down on you because you are a temp and are talked down to. They say they care about you and you working but they honestly don’t because they are using you for when that one hired on co worker calls off on Good Friday that is lazy so you can work then guess what you don’t work the next week.. did I mention that you are told you are fulltime but really a part time if nothing employee?? Do not waste your time working here because guess what ... you will never work and be able to save any money. This is a joke .

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Unbelievable place for true sales people

    Aug 25, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company's growth has been amazing and continues to be impressive. Leadership is always focused on how changes will impact things at the sales rep level because the executive leadership is made up of people that have all been in sales. The company has always developed top quality products that help solve problems that people in healthcare are motivated to fix so the products are very fun to sell. As a salesperson, it is an extremely challenging job but very rewarding. Sales incentive trips are amazing for both reps and spouses. The compensation for sales reps is exceptional and goals are realistic for anyone willing to put the work in. The company's growth has led to a variety of promotional opportunities for the best quality individuals in all departments including the sales force.

    Cons

    Those who are unwilling to re-locate, will have significantly less opportunities for promotions. There are still opportunities but there are far more options available for those willing to move.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I never want to leave!

    Aug 1, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Cary, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The leadership at Sage is phenomenal. They truly mean it when they say they care about their people. Not only does the company create fantastic products that make a huge difference in the lives of patients, but they also support the local community with several activities throughout the year. During my time with the company, I have seen opportunities for promotions in almost every department as the company continues to grow. They also have an amazing internship program for college students.

    Cons

    Some departments aren't growing as fast as they need to in order to keep up with the increased demands of the growing company. But positions are being created all the time so it doesn't stay like that for long. Other than that, I have no complaints!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A Company That Cares

    Oct 8, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They work hard on maintaining their company culture and connecting with employees. They have great benefits including an on-site health clinic, fitness classes, health insurance, 401K, and profit sharing. They understand that we are human and that we all need time away from work to do our best at work.

    Cons

    Vacation policy is below average for professional employees (new hires). Leadership and employee accountability varies across departments. In some departments, employees whose performance is sub-par sneak by or are not always addressed by their managers. Leadership isn’t always comfortable making difficult decisions when it comes to staffing and addressing employee performance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Sales Representative

    Sep 21, 2015 - Inside Sales Manufacturing Representative in McHenry, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sage provides excellent resources that make most calls into healthcare warm with the ability to offer education or awareness on products or devices that the facility may already be using. Sage recognizes success and offers a great environment to work in with many additional perks that reward employees for effort.

    Cons

    There are occasions when it is difficult to keep pace with an ever changing healthcare environment and competition seems to come into play for products that have become a commodity.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 87 Reviews

Sage Products Reviews FAQs

Sage Products has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 94 reviews left anonymously by employees. 87% of employees would recommend working at Sage Products to a friend and 72% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Sage Products employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Sage Products. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

87% of Sage Products employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Sage Products 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Sage Products to be senior leadership, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, compensation.

Work at Sage Products? Share Your Experiences

Sage Products logo
or

Sage Products Photos

+ Add Photo
Sage Products photo of: Aerial view of Sage Products
Sage Products photo of: State-of-the-art manufacturing equipment
Sage Products photo of: Sage Building
Sage Products photo of: Sage associates enjoying their break in the atrium
Sage Products photo of: In-house mock ICU room for product demonstrations
Sage Products photo of: Sage associates ensuring product quality

Have you worked here?

See All Photos