Sage Products Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Sage Products Chairman and CEO Vince Foglia (no image)
Vince Foglia
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting work, good work environment, great people(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great benefits (again, pre-Stryker)(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "high level(in 3 reviews)

  • "acquisition by stryker(in 2 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      R&D Research Associate Specialist

      Nov 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very welcoming and team oriented. CEO was involved and supportive of people and culture.

      Cons

      A bit of a boys club and upward mobility was unclear.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good products that work but overall leadership is inconsistent

      Dec 10, 2019 - Sales Support in Cary, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      On-site fitness center and wellness center Very community oriented organization--they sponsor a lot of local events and have many ties to the community Strong history with good products that really solve healthcare problems Sales training process is very strong Good benefits--including better paternal leave benefits Vince Foglia (company founder) left an extremely strong legacy

      Cons

      Sage Products was acquired by Stryker Medical in 2016 and many of its great qualities were starting to disintegrate as time went on. Location is far out from the Chicago market, so attracting/retaining top talent is challenging Salaries are below average Company was very hesitant to allow remote working options during tenure (only a few exceptions) High-level turnover since the acquisition by Stryker Develop people to perform a role well but do not offer opportunities to grow (limited within Sage) Suffered a recall in late 2017 that took time to recover from Their interview process can be extremely lengthy (phone interview, 3 on-site "interviews"). I understand why they do it, but it can be extremely intimidating at times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Sad to watch

      Dec 16, 2018 - Operations in Cary, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Still a nice environment to work as far as the upkeep of the place.

      Cons

      Been there 18 yrs and it’s just sad to see the culture absolutely destroyed the way it has been. Went from a top 10 companies to work for to one of the average at best in the small town it’s located in. HR leadership is so mean and unapproachable.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Aug 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people good products

      Cons

      FDA Recalls. New leadership from Stryker ruining culture.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      May 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaged leadership, community partners, great benefits and in a growing industry.

      Cons

      Acquisition by Stryker Medical has leveled some of the truly unique aspects of Sage: promoting from within, community investment, keeping it personal with associates.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Change can be hard for many but it is still an amazing company

      Apr 28, 2018 - Manager in Cary, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of changes in leadership but all for the better. Many long time Sage leaders who have been with the company want to retire and enjoy their lives. Some don’t want to be part of a larger public company and that’s ok. Not for everyone. The opportunity for advancement now is incredible. We are seeing people move into new roles, promoted in to leadership and have expanded responsibility that would never have happened without Stryker. Has Sage changed? Yes. Are we still an amazing company where we care about the people, the products, and quality? Absolutely! Stryker is the 16th Best Company to work for. We are so lucky to be part of this organization.

      Cons

      Change is hard. For long time Sage employees I’m sure it looks different and feels different. There are many new faces and many long time leaders have left. But the people that have come in care about our people. They want sage to be successful. We will continue to make changes. Everyone needs to understand we are part of a 16B public company. It is no longer a small private company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work.. if you are hired on........

      May 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cary, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clean building, good amount of nice people . Clean bathrooms , nice cafeteria and what not , had a nice gym but you had to be hired on for that........

      Cons

      Being a a temp : impossible to be hired on...., if machines are down you are thrown out and not allowed to work so hired on people have work which is ridiculous it’s just because the multi billion dollar company doesn’t want to help pay extra for people they are using like trash for work. Hmmm.. also you get no benefits obvouiusly ... you aren’t allowed to participate in any activities because you have to be hired on. Good amount of people look down on you because you are a temp and are talked down to. They say they care about you and you working but they honestly don’t because they are using you for when that one hired on co worker calls off on Good Friday that is lazy so you can work then guess what you don’t work the next week.. did I mention that you are told you are fulltime but really a part time if nothing employee?? Do not waste your time working here because guess what ... you will never work and be able to save any money. This is a joke .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place To Work

      Feb 23, 2018 - QC Technician in Cary, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Before I proceed, I am not one that write reviews but I also appreciate a good experience. This is a good company to work for. I cannot speak for each department but the QC lab was a fun group. The QC supervisor and QC leads were great communicators and expects the best from its team (rightfully so). The QC lab techs all worked together to get their jobs done. Yes, as with every team we have different personality types, so shut up and isn't that the case in every work of life. However I am impressed on how the team blended together to get each task accomplished. This would have being a good place to name drop some work heroes I personally knew but it won't be fair for those I didn't work with because I was there for a short time. All in all great staff, easy going and expects excellence which is all you can ask for.

      Cons

      Like I mentioned above, I cannot speak for the company as a whole but I enjoyed the few months in the QC lab and maybe i wasn't there long enough to see loop holes. Any cons I might have seen are all fixable and might have being fixed while I was there. (Btw had nothing to do with me, it's all a team effort, so shut up!)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      To the Wind that Shakes the Barley

      Mar 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cary, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good regional sales management - Decent comp plan - Great sales support - Part of a big company that can offer opportunity to move around within - Good 401k plan for office folks (up to 11% company match)

      Cons

      Make no mistake about it, this is a Stryker company now. The majority of upper management now consists of Stryker implants; creating a Vichy-esc community of Sage diaspora looking to either move on, retire, or simply escape the throes of a Stryker occupation. Sage was a great company before Stryker. Our culture, products, and integrity were the best in the business - no exceptions. Stryker, however, will try to sell you on the idea that we're somehow "better together"; a propagandized campaign slogan that attempts to placate some of the smaller-minded folks who were worried after Sage was purchased. "Better together" - you hear it everywhere. It's getting stale and annoying. We were better before. Period. The culture is slowly dying. The new products are, quite literally, laughable. And the foreseeable future is bleak, despite what they tell you. But, what does that mean for you as a prospective employee? Probably not as much as it does to the folks who experienced Sage before the sale. Stryker killed Sage, but they're not a terrible company. If you didn't know the old Sage, then there is nothing to miss. Stryker is a global company that can offer opportunity to move between departments, states, or even countries. They're a growth company that has a history of success. In 2018, Sage had the worst year in its history, the consequences of which will hamstring the company for the next several years. But, it will recover eventually. So if you're thinking about joining Sage and can handle a couple lean years, then it's a great time to jump on board. There will be plenty of open positions once the exodus is complete.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good place to work - was employed until 2008

      Feb 21, 2018 -  in Cary, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At the time good benefits and matching 401k.

      Cons

      Pay was frozen in my position.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 86 English Reviews

    Work at Sage Products? Share Your Experiences

    Sage Products logo
    or