Sage Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Products Reviews

Updated Dec 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Sage Products CEO Vince Foglia (no image)
Vince Foglia
67 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Sad to watch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Cary, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Products full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Still a nice environment to work as far as the upkeep of the place.

    Cons

    Been there 18 yrs and it’s just sad to see the culture absolutely destroyed the way it has been. Went from a top 10 companies to work for to one of the average at best in the small town it’s located in. HR leadership is so mean and unapproachable.

    Advice to Management

    None really, we know you don’t listen anymore unfortunately

    Sage Products2018-12-16
  2. "R&D Research Associate Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time

    Pros

    Very welcoming and team oriented. CEO was involved and supportive of people and culture.

    Cons

    A bit of a boys club and upward mobility was unclear.

    Advice to Management

    More clarity in reviews and opportunities

    Sage Products2018-11-23
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time

    Pros

    Great people good products

    Cons

    FDA Recalls. New leadership from Stryker ruining culture.

    Sage Products2018-08-10
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time

    Pros

    Engaged leadership, community partners, great benefits and in a growing industry.

    Cons

    Acquisition by Stryker Medical has leveled some of the truly unique aspects of Sage: promoting from within, community investment, keeping it personal with associates.

    Advice to Management

    See what worked for 40+ years and try to embrace it.

    Sage Products2018-05-30
  5. "Good place to work.. if you are hired on........"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean building, good amount of nice people . Clean bathrooms , nice cafeteria and what not , had a nice gym but you had to be hired on for that........

    Cons

    Being a a temp : impossible to be hired on...., if machines are down you are thrown out and not allowed to work so hired on people have work which is ridiculous it’s just because the multi billion dollar company doesn’t want to help pay extra for people they are using like trash for work. Hmmm.. also you get no benefits obvouiusly ... you aren’t allowed to participate in any activities because you have to be hired... on. Good amount of people look down on you because you are a temp and are talked down to. They say they care about you and you working but they honestly don’t because they are using you for when that one hired on co worker calls off on Good Friday that is lazy so you can work then guess what you don’t work the next week.. did I mention that you are told you are fulltime but really a part time if nothing employee?? Do not waste your time working here because guess what ... you will never work and be able to save any money. This is a joke .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop using people.... stop treating people that are temporary workers like garbage. You care about your products because you care about people well how can you care about that when you treat people in the workplace like this ? That’s pretty hypocritical .

    Sage Products2018-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Change can be hard for many but it is still an amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cary, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of changes in leadership but all for the better. Many long time Sage leaders who have been with the company want to retire and enjoy their lives. Some don’t want to be part of a larger public company and that’s ok. Not for everyone. The opportunity for advancement now is incredible. We are seeing people move into new roles, promoted in to leadership and have expanded responsibility that would never have... happened without Stryker. Has Sage changed? Yes. Are we still an amazing company where we care about the people, the products, and quality? Absolutely! Stryker is the 16th Best Company to work for. We are so lucky to be part of this organization.

    Show More

    Cons

    Change is hard. For long time Sage employees I’m sure it looks different and feels different. There are many new faces and many long time leaders have left. But the people that have come in care about our people. They want sage to be successful. We will continue to make changes. Everyone needs to understand we are part of a 16B public company. It is no longer a small private company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep it personal. Continue to be transparent. Continue to have town halls and keep us informed. Act on Q12 advice. Hold leaders accountable.

    Sage Products2018-04-28
  7. Helpful (5)

    "To the Wind that Shakes the Barley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sage Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good regional sales management - Decent comp plan - Great sales support - Part of a big company that can offer opportunity to move around within - Good 401k plan for office folks (up to 11% company match)

    Cons

    Make no mistake about it, this is a Stryker company now. The majority of upper management now consists of Stryker implants; creating a Vichy-esc community of Sage diaspora looking to either move on, retire, or simply escape the throes of a Stryker occupation. Sage was a great company before Stryker. Our culture, products, and integrity were the best in the business - no exceptions. Stryker, however, will try... to sell you on the idea that we're somehow "better together"; a propagandized campaign slogan that attempts to placate some of the smaller-minded folks who were worried after Sage was purchased. "Better together" - you hear it everywhere. It's getting stale and annoying. We were better before. Period. The culture is slowly dying. The new products are, quite literally, laughable. And the foreseeable future is bleak, despite what they tell you. But, what does that mean for you as a prospective employee? Probably not as much as it does to the folks who experienced Sage before the sale. Stryker killed Sage, but they're not a terrible company. If you didn't know the old Sage, then there is nothing to miss. Stryker is a global company that can offer opportunity to move between departments, states, or even countries. They're a growth company that has a history of success. In 2018, Sage had the worst year in its history, the consequences of which will hamstring the company for the next several years. But, it will recover eventually. So if you're thinking about joining Sage and can handle a couple lean years, then it's a great time to jump on board. There will be plenty of open positions once the exodus is complete.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sage Products2018-03-11
  8. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - QC Technician in Cary, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Before I proceed, I am not one that write reviews but I also appreciate a good experience. This is a good company to work for. I cannot speak for each department but the QC lab was a fun group. The QC supervisor and QC leads were great communicators and expects the best from its team (rightfully so). The QC lab techs all worked together to get their jobs done. Yes, as with every team we have different personality... types, so shut up and isn't that the case in every work of life. However I am impressed on how the team blended together to get each task accomplished. This would have being a good place to name drop some work heroes I personally knew but it won't be fair for those I didn't work with because I was there for a short time. All in all great staff, easy going and expects excellence which is all you can ask for.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like I mentioned above, I cannot speak for the company as a whole but I enjoyed the few months in the QC lab and maybe i wasn't there long enough to see loop holes. Any cons I might have seen are all fixable and might have being fixed while I was there. (Btw had nothing to do with me, it's all a team effort, so shut up!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Passion is addicting!

    Sage Products2018-02-24
  9. "Good place to work - was employed until 2008"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cary, IL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products for more than 8 years

    Pros

    At the time good benefits and matching 401k.

    Cons

    Pay was frozen in my position.

    Advice to Management

    Middle management was rough. Best intentions from the top down got screwed up by middle management

    Sage Products2018-02-21
  10. "No empathy workplace and discriminationary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant in Cary, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work, co-worker seems friendly

    Cons

    Bad management and also have no empathy, when at first they would treat you nicely and being friendly with you, they would make you “feel welcome” but with time goes on, when a mistake is made, they would harass and use a lot of criticism to you, pushing them, causing the behavior to change. They don’t seem to take their job seriously, in fact they were involved in 6 FDA recalls regarding to the healthcare products.... If it happens once, and they can fix it, no problem, but if they are 6 recalls in a number of years recently, then something is up, and on the last note to it, when something would happen in work, they would laugh and thinks it’s funny, it’s not, it really does not, in fact, on the last day of work, they were talking about breaking a policy, then laugh about it, they don’t understand feeling at all and this place should shaken up to the core and they should take their jobs seriously and learn how to treat with respect in a correct way. Also with lot of patience too

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please don’t harass and laugh and it really hurt feelings.

    Sage Products2018-01-28
Found 86 reviews