Sage Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Products Reviews

Updated 16 Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Sage Products CEO Vince Foglia (no image)
Vince Foglia
67 Ratings
  1. "Don’t fix what’s not broken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hmm? Cary is a beautiful town and conveniently located near the Metra station. There are still some great people left.

    Cons

    Took away profit sharing bonuses 3p. Have to beg for paid lunch meetings unless the FDA is involved. Absolute lies from top management. Or at the very least, no transparency. Can’t recognize all the new faces. Bringing in recent grads and paying them next to nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Remember what made Sage successful.

    Sage Products2018-01-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Stryker is Killing what Sage Used to be..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Field Sales Representative in Cary, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sage Products full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you had asked me 2 years ago about Sage, I would have wholeheartedly recommended it as an outstanding place to work. Amazing products that truly save patient lives, incredible culture, and very family-oriented with an incredible sense of teamwork both inter and intra-regionally. It's a very demanding sales job with some long hours, late nights and early mornings, but the compensation was excellent and you... really had a sense of purpose knowing that your blood, sweat and tears were literally saving patients lives (and preventing nurses from getting injured).

    Show More

    Cons

    Stryker purchased Sage, and it's going down the tubes. There was a eerie calm after the ink dried, and it seemed like status quo for a while, but typical of Stryker acquisitions, the core of what made Sage amazing is getting eroded on a daily basis. Several top individuals in management have either been let go or have quit. I estimate at least 50% of the field sales force is actively looking for other... opportunities (myself included). Credit where credit is due, Stryker really helped dig us out of the last product recall, but other than that they've really made a mess of the culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mr. Vince Foglia, thank you for building an amazing company that I had several great years at. You've made an incredible impact on healthcare and also philanthropically within the community, and I wish you and all your charitable pursuits the best of success. To current management, I have no idea what your vision is, but your top people are either leaving or have left. Maybe that's the plan? The phrase "better... together" is getting very old - we were truthfully way better off on our own, before the acquisition. And a quick public speaking tip - maybe don't share an anecdote about a dilemma over which $40k wrist watch to purchase in front of a group of people who may have annual salaries in that range. It's bad optics.

    Show More
    Sage Products2018-01-15
  3. "NPD Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, good work environment, great people

    Cons

    Not really team base activities, boring city

    Sage Products2017-11-07
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Products full-time

    Pros

    This is a great company with a great culture

    Cons

    The company was recently acquired

    Sage Products2017-10-06
  5. "Sales Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Products full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture and great quality of Co-Workers. Really good benefits, including nice 401K contributions. Onsite health clinic as well as workout space.

    Cons

    Difficulty finding opportunity to move up unless having significant sales experience.

    Sage Products2017-09-20
  6. "QC Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sage Products full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, family like collegaues

    Cons

    not enough communications between departments and management

    Sage Products2017-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Products full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great products, great company, great job, want to retire here.

    Cons

    The commission structure could be better. It promotes sand bagging because if you lose sales in a product category then you best not be selling it till next year.

    Advice to Management

    Stop applying your sales pressure to the sales reps. we get it. we want to make money and sales too

    Sage Products2017-05-22
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Products full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I didn't appreciate what being a "sales driven" company truly meant until after I left. When inevitable challenges arise, upper management considers options to make it right.

    Cons

    After 40+yrs of being privately owned by its visionary founders, the company was bought by a large player. Changes to the culture have started and will continue.

    Advice to Management

    To the old management, thank you. To the new management, you know that the company you bought was extremely successful- try to resist making unnecessary changes.

    Sage Products2017-05-15
  9. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Cary, IL

    I worked at Sage Products for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family Oriented Company, Great Leadership

    Cons

    None, None, None, None, None

    Sage Products2016-10-05
  10. "Great culture, great community, great future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cary, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Products

    Pros

    Sage has a great culture, which is being strengthened by the recent acquisition by Stryker. Senior management remains engaged with employees from top to bottom. Pay and compensation is competitive if not superior to other companies in the area.

    Cons

    The company really needs to expand its facility. It's already bursting at the seams and there is almost nowhere to park.

    Sage Products2016-10-03
Found 86 reviews