Sage Therapeutics Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Therapeutics Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work life balance is taken seriously even though there is always a lot going on at Sage(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people, great culture, innovative live changing therapies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains, culture seems like it’s starting to shift(in 11 reviews)

  • "That we aren't all in one building in Cambridge(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Refreshingly innovative workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Rooted in science. - Tremendously mission focused. - High emphasis on innovation and originality. - Growth mindset and surrounded by high performers. - Deliberately authentic work culture. - Very competitive benefits. - Fabulous HR department - very thoughtful, creative engagement plan.

    Cons

    - As a rapidly evolving company, it maybe challenging for folks who value steady state stability in daily activities

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2019-05-31

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    June 12, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. You’ve captured many of the areas we have been working on since we started. We care about the journey each team member takes with the company and have always been a science-driven organization! We recognize that without strong science we would not be able to deliver new medicines to patients. With Do Big as one of our core values, we need innovative thinkers to drive us forward. This isn’t a place for people who don’t want to be challenged; we continually push each other to rise to the occasion and think differently. The feedback on culture and HR team mean a lot to me – thank you! We work hard at evolving our culture in the right way and are intentional in all we do! -Erin

    Continue reading
  2. "Great people and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Therapeutics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, lots of food! Collaborative

    Cons

    Overlap of responsibilities, sometimes there is no ownership of a particular project

    Sage Therapeutics2019-11-04

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    November 22, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Our culture is crucial to our success and glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. We always welcome feedback and will look for ways to address ownership as that is critical for career development and we certainly want clear roles and responsibilities for all. Thanks, Erin.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Letting go people at current situation is really bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - BSA Analyst in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time

    Pros

    People are good , atleast my manager is great.

    Cons

    - Do not let all free lunches, catered lunches, food fool you.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2020-04-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've never worked for a company like Sage. The benefits, the work/life balance, the people, the mission, the culture, and the overall commitment to employees, moms, and science are just absolutely incredible. Thank you, Sage, for feeding us, supporting our mental health, offering "Wellness Weeks", giving us a fabulous company culture we can be proud of and an important mission we can work towards together.

    Cons

    This company is growing - and fast. It's not without our share of growing pains and chaos as we build this ship.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2019-10-25

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    October 28, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Wow - this made my day! So glad to hear you are having a great experience so far. We are working hard to build a company that demonstrates our commitment to the wellbeing of all Sageans. The work we do is incredibly important for our patients and their families and we know it is important for all of us to be at our best while doing that work. As you mentioned, we are growing, and we continue to be focused on a culture that grows and evolves with us. We have growing pains for sure but ask everyone to have conversations in the moment to address those and ensure we are moving in the right direction. Thank you for your feedback and advice. Keep it coming! -Erin

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great start - interview and onboarding processes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview process was open and realistic, allowing time for questions and discussion. The energy and commitment to the mission by the group was very evident. It got better with on-boarding: My manager had paved the way ... systems and tools were ready for me to jump right in. As I met with key contacts from the various departments I was welcomed personally as well as professionally. They made it clear my experience was valuable to the team. All interactions at every level have been positive so far. Great company culture that values its employees.

    Cons

    Just a month in so no con's at this time.

    Sage Therapeutics2019-10-17

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    October 21, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Wow, this is such great feedback. Thank you for your review and for giving kudos to the teams that have worked so hard during the recruitment process as well as to ensure that every Sagean is onboarded with the energy and commitment you refer to. Getting you the tools you need to succeed on day one, week on, year one and beyond are critical to the success of our own mission. We aim to Put People First and to do that, we need to start with Sageans. I hope you continue to enjoy your journey at Sage. -Erin

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Clinical Research Associate in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Motivating and supportive environment - high energy. 2) Great benefits with consistent emphasis on work/life balance 3) Lots of opportunities for learning/growth and having a voice

    Cons

    None! I am a fairly new employee, but it's been a great experience so far.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2019-09-16

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    October 7, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review and so glad your initial experience with Sage is positive! We do have a great team and we are working on very purposeful work that is making a difference for people living with CNS disorders. I can assure you that we will keep the focus on culture and maintaining a positive atmosphere. That is an incredibly important part of our overall business strategy! - Erin

    Continue reading
  7. "Love working at Sage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow personally and professionally. Work done here at Sage is meaningful both to employees and patients alike.

    Cons

    Typical challenges facing a rapidly growing biotech. Having said that, the LT is committed to maintain the culture and values - that's a real positive

    Sage Therapeutics2019-09-27

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    October 7, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Appreciate your input and feedback and so glad you are seeing opportunities for growth! That is a key focus for us as we do value growing through learning and change and with our business and world moving so rapidly we all need to adapt constantly! We have to work hard for all of the people we are looking to make medicines for! We are in rapid growth mode and do have some challenges with that. We try and create an open feedback environment, have conversations in the moment to navigate that growth as best we can! You are also right, there is a strong commitment from the top to having people enjoy their journey with Sage! - Erin

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapeutic Business Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Innovative, always trying to think differently, leadership that actually gets it!

    Cons

    It’s hard to find a con, but I think trying to stay different from big Pharma is hard-and trying to avoid the tendencies to encompass big Pharma into Sage will be challenging.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2019-06-27

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    July 29, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I agree with you that we need to continue to focus on building the company in the right way and we always look for input to be able to do that. Our work is purposeful and is important to Sageans. We have a mission to deliver treatments to people facing brain disorders. To do that, we need to keep doing big and taking smart risks to ensure we can help the most people possible. - Erin

    Continue reading
  9. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company environment, everyone is so friendly and welcoming. On-boarding is as stress free as possible because there is always someone willing to help. Good opportunity for growth within despite where you start. Amazing perks (lots of food, free/discounted activities, company gifts etc.) Pay and benefits are top of the line as well.

    Cons

    Not a negative for me, but the company is growing so it is busy and ever changing - can get a little hectic and difficult to stay on top of but employees support each other well in the craziness.

    Sage Therapeutics2019-06-21

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    July 29, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    I love that you end by speaking to how Sageans support each other in the craziness. That’s so true. As part of a growing company there are a number of moving parts and our people have done such a great job of adapting and evolving as we grow. Our onboarding was recently updated to ensure that new hires get what they need without being overwhelmed. Our revamped employee experience including inviting those who have been with Sage to attend re-boarding sessions as well to ensure everyone is hearing the same strategies, messages and feeling the culture every day. Thank you for your feedback and please let me know if you have any further advice. -Erin

    Continue reading
  10. "Sage Therapeutics is a fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are dedicated, work hard, and know how to have fun!

    Cons

    Nothing negative in my experience so far.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2019-06-21

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    July 29, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for your review! Sageans are driven by the purposeful work that we do. This is shown through the dedication you’re witnessing first-hand. We expect a lot out of our people which is why we also have a core value focused on Work Fun! We believe in celebrating the big and the small wins and everyone who contributes. This is what keeps everyone going. -Erin

    Continue reading
Found 80 reviews