Sage Therapeutics Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
83%
Recommend to a Friend
Sage Therapeutics CEO  Barry Greene
Barry Greene
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Work life balance is taken seriously even though there is always a lot going on at Sage(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great benefits, great W/L balance(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains, culture seems like it’s starting to shift(in 11 reviews)

  • "Rapid growth has been interesting(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      great company, great colleagues

      Mar 3, 2021 - Associate in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people with creative thinking

      Cons

      constantly pivoting due to new information can make work difficult

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your recommendation and your feedback! I agree that the people at Sage are great. Their do big mentality combined with the know how to put people and patients first makes me proud to work at Sage. Drug development is certainly not easy! At this stage in our growth, we have a great deal of data pending and that makes it necessary to pivot at times. That said, we know that this can be challenging and appreciate your open and honest feedback. Best of luck on your career journey. -Erin

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      Jan 18, 2021 - Therapeutic Business Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very innovative and great culture.

      Cons

      There were no major cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      Thank you for your input and for your time with Sage. I have had the pleasure of working with so many great people in my time with the company and working with the sales team was a highlight. I’m glad you were able to experience that as well as the amazing culture while you were here. I also appreciate your advice. We now have a DEI action team within the company and some outside experts helping us deliver the right DE&I initiatives one our way to becoming an even more inclusive and diverse company. Thank you for your advice as we build our Sage Citizen and DEI initiatives. -Erin

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Company

      Nov 25, 2020 - National Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Doing the toughest job in the world by developing CNS drugs, many to help those who need it most, suffering from mental illness.

      Cons

      None to speak of at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your thoughts!. We love getting feedback and I agree with you – changing the way people see brain health is important. Sageans like you help us further our mission to make medicines that matter so people can get better sooner. We appreciate that you and your colleagues continually rise to the occasion and are making a difference in brain health. -Erin

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Bad hires have ruined the place. Some really toxic people

      Jan 28, 2021 - Quality Assurance 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. don't understand all the hyped reviews!

      Cons

      False promises, Rookies are sitting in higher positions who don't know about the Industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      I’m so sorry to hear you are not having a positive experience. Putting People First is core to our values and that also means finding and hiring people that fit our culture and grow with us over time. Our work is a journey and we are committed to making it the best journey possible for all of our employees. If there is anything we can do to better support the colleagues we hire or to set our teams up for success, we want to hear about it. Thank you for providing feedback and I’d welcome further discussions to help understand and address your concerns. Please consider reaching out to me, your manager, or your People and Experience business partner so we can address your experiences head-on. We would love the chance to make this right. -Erin

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Community

      Jan 20, 2021 - Desktop Support Technician in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, inclusive, hard-working, lots of food

      Cons

      Amount of meetings, upper management not being translucent

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      Thank you for the feedback. Our people are incredible at what they do and you’re right-on when you way hard-working. I see people rise to the occasion every single day! We’ve worked incredibly hard to grow our culture and 2020 was a tough year all around. We updated our benefits and added things like the Calm app, tutor.com and other great benefits to reflect the changes in working remotely and the need for all of us to have moments to relax. We’re also working to continually share with our employees all along the way and added many new ways to communicate including lessons learned sessions, SLT discussion forums and “ask me anything series”. Try to attend any of these to find out more information. We do work to try and decrease the number of meetings but that one is still a work in progress! I’m glad your part of Sage and I’m also glad you appreciate the Sage community. -Erin

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Mediocre place now...it used to be good!

      Aug 20, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management and Human Resources takes effort in building the right culture Good benefits Promote innovation and innovative ideas

      Cons

      No clear vision in R&D and Commercial space There are some excellent and deserving people but promotions are very political and depend on your relationship rather than performance. Correct or have some promotion policy. Evaluate the industry experience and compare it with successful companies around you before distributing titles. It is people who bring change. Celebrations are enjoyable but don't overkill it. Didn't have any vacation policy. People are regularly out of the office on crucial times and had to chase them to get their job done. It shows a lack of sincerity. A day in delay means a day in suspension for patients to get access to treatment.

      5 people found this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      We appreciate your candor and I’d love to have a conversation with you about your thoughts. What we do is purposeful and I’m very proud of what we’ve accomplished to date. That said, there is always room for improvement. My door (via zoom these days) is always open and I’d love to hear your thoughts on ways we can improve. We strive to put people first and that means listening to both good and bad feedback. We strive to evolve our culture as the company develops further. Our recent operating and leadership updates were made to set and fulfill the vision of changing the way brain health is seen and understood. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. - Erin

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people to work with

      Dec 11, 2020 - HR- Consultant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exciting pipeline Experienced, talented people Fun work environment

      Cons

      Grew very fast, which impacted culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      Thanks so much for taking the time to write and your contributions to Sage! I am glad we had the opportunity to work together. We do have some of the best people who all work very hard on our mission to bring medicines that matter to patients. We did grow fast and with that comes growing pains. We do work hard to continually address those, find new ways of working and keep building our culture. Work fun is important to us. Thanks again! - Erin

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture

      Sep 25, 2020 - Regional Business Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, Treat employees very well, listen to employees

      Cons

      Moved too fast with big decisions

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      At Sage, we live our core values and Put People First is crucial to our success. The culture you feel and the way we treat our Sageans goes a long way to our future success. We also take a great deal of pride in actively listening to what everyone has to say. We cannot succeed without the ideas and insights from across the organization. I’m glad you felt that while you were here. I know I’ve said this in other responses, but I want to reiterate how tough 2020 was for most people and companies. Biotech decision making is ever changing and considers multiple perspectives. We always strive to make the best decisions we can with the information available at that time. Thank you for your time at Sage. I wish you all the best on your future journey. -Erin

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fluff and Meringue

      Nov 8, 2020 - Therapeutics Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is competitive and typically above industry standards

      Cons

      Lots of empty promises, inexperienced leadership,

      3 people found this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      Thank you for your honest feedback. I’m sorry that feel that way you do. 2020 was a tough year all around. We went through a lot of changes in 2020 and are ending the year with renewed hope. I’m excited about our new CEO, Barry Greene and the wealth of experience he brings to the team. In addition, we have a new partnership that will allow us to focus on developing additional programs to help improve brain health. I wish you all the best on your career journey. -Erin

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      1st class company

      Aug 24, 2020 - TBS in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Miss what they stood for. First class company.

      Cons

      Primary endpoint phase 3 study

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Therapeutics Response

      SVP, People & Org Strategy

      Thank you for the kind words. We’re so lucky to have worked with so many great people over the years. While our most recent phase 3 study was disappointing it had a lot of promise and we are excited about what 2021 and the prospect of what Zuranolone can offer. The purposeful work we do drives us to rise to the occasion and posts likes these remind us of how great all of our people are. Best of luck in your future endeavors and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please stay in touch! -Erin

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sage Therapeutics Job Seekers

    Associate Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Clinical Research Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Director, Internal Communications
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Director, Quality Operations
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sage Therapeutics? Share Your Experiences

    Sage Therapeutics logo
    or