Sage Therapeutics Reviews | Glassdoor

Sage Therapeutics Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapeutic Business Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Complete transparency from the top down. Fun environment where everyone works hard and wants to win big for patients. Product pipeline is phenomenal. The people here are down to earth and real, not fake and stuffy at all. Best training program. Focused on unmet needs in the market. Most talented employees in the industry “best of the best” which just makes us all better. Small company that values every employee.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any offhand.

    Sage Therapeutics2019-01-30

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    February 6, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    I love it here too and am so glad you are enjoying your time at Sage so far! We do our best to be transparent and have an open dialogue with all Sageans. We are very proud of our product pipeline and are excited to hopefully launch the first product for women suffering form Post-partum Depression (PPD). Meeting many of our TBS team recently, we are all equally impressed with our new team members and so glad you made the decision to join Sage! Really hope this is an incredible journey for you! - Erin

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place for professional and personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership and management "walk the walk" when it comes to mission statements and core values. It really feels like a place where people are motivated by a commitment to serve patients and support employees/colleagues in the process. Individual contributions are recognized and celebrated, but there is also a strong emphasis on teamwork.

    Cons

    Nothing specific to Sage. There will always be room for improvement but, in my experience, one of the great things about management and leadership at Sage is how open they are to feedback from all levels.

    Sage Therapeutics2019-01-24

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    January 28, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Wow, I loved reading your review! We work really hard to ensure that employees like you enjoy their journey at Sage. It is humbling to have someone who has been here for more than 3 years be so aware and supportive as you’ve seen us go through tremendous growth, especially in 2018. We will continue to celebrate both the individual and the team as they are integral to our future. The work we are doing here is so purposeful it is exciting to come in and make a difference every day! Thank you for your feedback and keep it coming! -Erin

    Continue reading
  3. "Sage Therapeutics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time

    Pros

    The culture at Sage sets it apart from anywhere I’ve ever worked. The energy and passion is evident in all functions. The team first mentality is amazing. In addition, the science sets the stage to truly help patients in need.

    Cons

    No Cons from my perspective.

    Sage Therapeutics2019-01-24

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    January 28, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We have been incredibly focused on maintaining and evolving the great culture that we have all built here. We know how important it is to everyone and it continually comes up in discussions, meetings and employee surveys. It’s so important, we have an entire team dedicated to nurturing and growing our culture in a positive way. And, I agree with you on the science. It’s truly amazing the impact we could have on patients and their families! Erin

    Continue reading
  4. "Best overall career development opportunity and advancement!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined the company as a new Associate Director. With the rapid growth and needs of the company, my managers and the upper level leadership at Sage have offered me opportunities to try on new roles with increasing levels of responsibility and have greatly broadened my portfolio of professional expertise. The work environment at Sage supports cross-functional collaboration and encourages innovative thinking.

    Cons

    With the fast pace and early success of the development programs, the work can be demanding and it is important to consciously manage my work-life balance.

    Sage Therapeutics2019-01-11

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    January 28, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    It is so great to hear from someone who has grown with Sage. Our goal is to help you broaden your responsibilities as you grow and develop. We’re lucky and excited to have so many of you stay with us during our tremendous growth. You are totally on point regarding the demands of the work as we expand our success across multiple trials within CNS. We can’t say that we Put People First if we don’t take care of each other. This is why we decided focus on health and well-being – starting in 2018 and into 2019, including free exercise classes, massage therapists, healthy meals and flexible work schedules. I hope you’ve been able to take advantage of some of the offerings. We’re so lucky to have people like you to help us stay focused on our people as we grow. Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts! We do appreciate it. Erin

    Continue reading
  5. "Changing the treatment of depression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commercializing a drug to treat post-partum depression is incredibly motivating. Plus super smart people who love the process of drug development. Genuinely caring colleagues. All reasons that keep me coming into work every day with a smile on my face.

    Cons

    Fast growth means sometimes systems/processes aren't quite ready for the sheer number of people who are now employees. Not everyone is going to love the constant change and dynamic environment. These are growing pains, not deal-breakers.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2019-01-09

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    January 28, 2019SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for your thoughtful comments! Getting ready for commercialization is fun, and brings lots of new people and ways of working. I love that you say you come in with a smile on your face each day - that makes me smile! Keep bringing that positive energy into the company as it makes a real difference! You’re right about growth. We hired over 400 new Sageans last year who all brought new ideas and ways of working. We are sorting through that daily and it takes folks like who see the big picture yet work through putting in just the right amount of process. We’re doing all of this for the patients and that keeps us going. Your advice is completely on point. Culture always has been incredibly important to us and we will be very intentional about how we evolve our culture to keep Sage a great place to work! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! Erin

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Programmer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Progame Anlyt in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly people accessible and always ready to help. Great community of people that want to do good

    Cons

    parking is always a problem in Cambridge.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2018-11-08

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    November 13, 2018SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback! We really value conversations in the moment at Sage! Could not agree with you more on the great team of people we have at the company! It truly is a pleasure to work with such a bright and passionate group of people. Keep the feedback coming! If you have any parking ideas - let me know - it is a struggle here in Kendall Square! Erin

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "They are who they say they are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Manager IT in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When I interviewed at Sage I was blown away by how welcoming, intelligent and happy every one was. Though a part of me was a little skeptical. I thought okay everyone is on their best behavior and putting their best foot forward but what is it really going to be like? Two months later and I still feel the same as the day I interviewed. I can't say enough positive things about Sage. The values they present are the values everyone lives. It is truly amazing and a wonderful place to work.

    Cons

    Other then commuting to Cambridge, I can't think of a com.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2018-11-02

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    November 5, 2018SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thank you for your review and so happy to hear you feel that way! Our values truly are the cornerstone of our culture. Your review reminds me of why we put in the effort we do to live our values and reinforce them every single day. We want you to Do Big, Put People First, Grow Through Learning and Change, Be Accountable and always Work Fun! We could not agree more on the importance of continuing to focus on and live our values as we grow. That is one of the key reasons we have set up our Culture and Accelerate Teams at Sage – they help us ensure this happens! Thank you again for your thoughtful review and believe me, I wish I could do something about the commute. -Erin

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (20)

    "Sage is the place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When you look at the Sage website you clearly see the values , culture and mission everywhere. When you walk in the doors of Sage, you feel it and see it in everything they do. They expect feedback, they want you to be heard and open to trying new innovative ideas that other companies are too risk averse to try. They are building and growing quickly and fitting in the CULTURE is paramount to finding the right people for the roles. At Sage, you have to be able to fit in to that culture of wanting to be an entrepreneur, roll up your sleeves and work hard, but have fun doing it - Work Fun! I have never been in a company where you can feel the excitement of everyone that is working there. They are happy, thriving and growing in a place where you are encouraged to think outside the box and push back at every level. It is a breadth of fresh air that I'm excited to see continue for many years to come. They truly put people first! Including Sageans, patients and their families.

    Cons

    Rapid Growth - it's hard to keep up with the movement and shift of people learning their new roles, but it's also a positive from my perspective.

    Continue reading
    Sage Therapeutics2018-07-12

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    July 23, 2018SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Wow, you have really done your homework and sound like you are already fitting in quite well at Sage. I’m so happy that our culture, values and mission were easy to understand and clear to you prior to joining and I’m even happier that we delivered on what we promised. We do put people first at Sage. It’s important from a cultural standpoint that we do this from the patients we are working so hard to help to the families affected by CNS disorders and equally important we put Sageans and their families first. We know it takes all of your efforts to fulfill our mission, so we need to ensure you’re happy, healthy and motivated to come in every day. We have a team of people dedicated to ensuring our culture grows with us. We know what we have is special and if we keep finding great people like you’re, we’ll stay on the right track. Thank you for joining Sage and thank you for your thoughtful review. Enjoy the Journey! Erin

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company: best people, culture & mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage Therapeutics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    respectful leadership team who take care of their employees, work-life balance is apparent, collaborative workplace with common goal - help patients!

    Cons

    some positions are harder to move out of than others...

    Sage Therapeutics2018-08-30

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    September 5, 2018SVP, People & Org Strategy

    I read your headline and was so happy you posted! There are times, when we’re working incredibly hard, that it’s easy to forget that we have something special. You reminded me of that with your emphasis on our people, culture and mission. They are so synergistic and it’s humbling to work with such great people toward a common cause of changing the way CNS disorders are treated. Thank you also for the feedback. Career development is important to us and want everyone to feel like this is the best experience of their career. Please come and see me, your HR business partner or manager. We can work with you to develop a career plan so you can continue to grow and learn here! Thank you again for your thoughtful response! Erin

    Continue reading
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage Therapeutics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit, great working environment

    Cons

    Alittle bit loudly, it’s better if more employees can have offices

    Sage Therapeutics2018-08-26

    Sage Therapeutics Response

    August 29, 2018SVP, People & Org Strategy

    Thanks so much for your feedback! Yes, we do get a bit loud when we’re having this much fun. You are also right that it would be nice to have some additional space, and that is exactly what we’re doing. We are a little tight at the moment and during this tremendous growth we’ll probably be tight for a while, but we are continually finding new and better ways to expand and still keep the great environment you mentioned. We were thrilled to have such great interns this year and wish you all the best as you get back to school. Hopefully, the next time you see us we’ll be just as fun and have more great people for you to work with and more space! Erin

    Continue reading
Found 80 reviews