Sage Reviews in Vancouver, BC | Glassdoor

Sage Vancouver Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Sage CEO Steve Hare
Steve Hare
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the location and the people are great!

    Cons

    I'm still under guarantee but I will be interested to see how the commission works once I will no longer be under guarantee. Cause apparently the % of commission went down...

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-05-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Culture, Great People, Successful High Performance Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing people with family environment!! - Making big investments in innovation and products!! - Amazing senior management who continuously deliver world class results but are so genuine, humble, and caring - Great training for new colleagues with a genuine effort to help grow people - Solid attempt for work-life-balance - Best of both worlds = aspects of being a startup and part of a multi-billion $ global organization - Get to support a huge loyal customer base in Canada - Canada is among the best teams globally in the Sage Universe - Brand new office in Richmond - Free Parking - Amazing benefits + fun events throughout the year - 5 paid days a year to support a charity

    Cons

    - Commute via transit can be a challenge - Best to bring a lunch as there are limited options nearby

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-03-15
  3. Helpful (38)

    "It's a trap!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits 4 weeks PTO Monday to Friday

    Cons

    When signing up for this company, you're going to get sold an open, career oriented and customer focused environment with incentives. You'll quickly realize that this was a trap for the following reasons: - There is no advancement even if you are in the top performers of your team. You will fill in a fantastic career growth plan with your manager that you'll never hear about ever again. - You'll get overwhelm with work because even though the core value of this company is "customer first", they are only focused on getting their investors happy which means high revenue and low expenses so short staff and frustrated customers is the day to day routine there. - The CEO or president will fly in from the UK once a year to let you know how proud he is and how good of a job you made and one month later, your manager will announce you that there will be no bonuses and all that good work you did was for nothing. - Looking for good work/life balance, working from home, time off to see your family during the holidays? The answer is NO. Blackout period during holidays and in the middle of summer plus most of your day off request denied because the company operates at barely minimum staff. - The company will never adjust your salary so if you work there for a couple years, you'll realize newbies will be making more money then you do. - You're performance oriented and good at generating leads? Great, you'll get rewarded with dollar store garbage. - You're bilingual? Definitely a plus but wait! You'll get no extra money for this skill and you'll get terrible working hours. So overall, if you are ambitious, hard working and looking for a real career with good work/life balance, I would strongly recommend you to look somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Sage2018-10-29
  4. Helpful (28)

    "Technical support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage

    Pros

    They pay for your MSP.

    Cons

    I was in the technical support of their most developed product as bilingual tech support. Sage is an awful company to work. The managers always put pressure on you to take calls. You get warnings and they chat you as soon as you are not right on time with the rules. You have basically 4 mins after call to get back in queue. If you want to go to the washroom, they will chat you right away to ask why you are not on queue. They give you the illusion of a career plan, but it's fake, they need SO MUCH french speaking that they will never let you go. Once you have reached the support it's forever. Also something really bad that I had to go through pretty much everyday and which shows how poor is their management: managers are thinking only about their stats, so as soon as a call was reaching 30mins of waiting time in the queue, they were asking to bilingual agents from a different product, to pick up the call and ask if they wanted a callback (which never happened) or to put them back in the queue. However, because you picked the phone if you put them back in the queue, they start waiting from the beginning so they might wait an extra 30 mins. The only reason for that is the stats of the manager. So, they are supposed to provide the "best customer experience ever" but it's actually the opposite, only the stats matters even though employees are stressed and tired and customer angry.

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-10-18
  5. Helpful (28)

    "Bell Curve performance process is totally unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great employees and flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Unfair performance processes and incomparable wages.

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-09-08

    Sage Response

    September 12, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. Sage has fantastic people right across the globe, they are friendly and professional and we understand the success of Sage is down to each and every one of us working towards collective goals. Regarding salaries, Sage uses market data, cost of labor and adjusted pay rates based on location to develop our salary structure. When colleagues move to a role of the same size and complexity, from a parity/fairness viewpoint, a base salary increase wouldn’t be appropriate. Our People Business Partners and Learning & Development Centre of Expertise support our managers in ensuring all colleagues performance ratings are calibrated to objectively help them with consistency, levelling and fairness. We do have guidelines for the distribution of performance ratings (which are available to all colleagues to see via the Sage Academy). We expect managers to understand these guidelines and consider these in the context of business results. Our global performance data for FY16 shows 86% of our colleagues were rated as ‘Meeting Expectations’ or above, showing us that the performance distribution curve was slightly skewed to the right. We anticipate around 15% of our colleagues may fall short of requirements, needing improvement which may be supported through a Performance Development Plan or Performance Improvement Plan to get back them on track. Continued unsatisfactory performance may result in a colleague leaving the business. This approach to managing performance is no different to the majority of established organisations with ambitions to drive performance and ensure the sustainability of their business in the future. Thanks again for your views.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Dont seem to be that organized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were pockets of very good people and leaders, a lot of nice local folks. there was a great family culture in Vancouver, seemed quite removed from the NA global culture.

    Cons

    Overall it felt like a stagnant place to work where a lot of people focus on being conservative and being political, rather than taking risk to be innovative. The Salary was awful given the amount of experience i had. There marketing leadership didn't seem to know what they were doing on the global side, there was a lot of infighting and they lacked innovation.

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-02-21

    Sage Response

    February 23, 2017Group Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking time to write your review. As you say there are lots of fantastic colleagues at Sage and many companies state it feels like a family, but you're right, it is like that here. With respect to salary we believe that we are competitive in the market and that there is plenty of opportunity to become successful and earn, plus excel and this was demonstrated by over 100 colleagues and their partners attending our Platinum Elite a couple of weeks ago in Dubai (this year's location for Platinum Elite has just been announced and it's a luxurious resort in Mexico). In terms of innovation, it's great to be part of Sage right now, so much is happening from 5 new accounting cloud solutions across 7 global markets for business of all sizes to tens of thousands of ‘new to Sage’ customers adopting accounting chat bot Pegg in 6 months since launch and over 100 new and fully integrated ISV’s on the Sage Marketplace – building on Sage’s heritage of strong partnerships, including new global relationships with Salesforce, Microsoft, Apple and Slack. We hope you continue to have a successful career and thanks again for writing your review.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Sage is a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    On-boarding training was slow and not good enough for a software company. any one with some courses can be a technical support

    Cons

    Many none technical managers who just care about the second you login and log off . very annoying, it's like you go to army rather than a tech company. I call it using junior techy people for money.

    Continue reading
    Sage2016-03-09
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Sad culture in the Vancouver office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I think that people are great to work with, and their offices are beautiful to work in

    Cons

    They have let go a massive amount of people who were strong performers and were good leadership. Most of the work is controlled by the US offices with no understanding of Canadian culture and customers. They seem to think that US and Canada are the same countries so they try to mesh everything they do together which doesn't work. They also have an incompetent HR team and Recruiters who work in the US who have no idea how to recruit Canadian employees as well. I find them to be clueless overall

    Continue reading
    Sage2014-07-29
  9. "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intranet Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage for less than a year

    Pros

    Direct colleagues are open minded, innovative, collaborative. Upper management has solidified vision and strategy; implementations are becoming more aligned. Lots of room to explore professional interests.

    Cons

    Longer term and midlevel management may not all buy into the direction. Office location not ideal, but mitigated by telework options.

    Continue reading
    Sage2013-03-23
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Not inspiring!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Account Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Sage

    Pros

    It is not too much drive for me and I am often amused.

    Cons

    Unfortunately and no one wants to say this where they spend most of their day but the Sage leadership is that just by name. It is a very old school buddy system and very little inspiration. They were not successful in their endeavors and have been placed in a managerial position by default.

    Continue reading
    Sage2009-07-23
Found 10 reviews