Saia LTL Freight Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Saia LTL Freight Driver Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Saia LTL Freight Chief Executive Officer Rick ODell (no image)
Rick ODell
46 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Line haul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Haul Driver in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is nice, in most areas there's always work

    Cons

    Not allowed to be on the phone biggest downfall to the company everything else could be sucked up

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2019-01-12
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible place to work. Toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Local Truck Driver in Ellenwood, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a paycheck that's about it

    Cons

    Drivers are treated horrible, management is on egg shells, they boast that they pay overtime but you will be cut to 4 days a week sometimes 3 days a week. Trucks have a driver facing camera. No real retirement plan. It's a decent job if you don't have one but don't get comfortable.. Quit before they fire you first.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-12-22
  3. "Good money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Haul Driver in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Line drivers make good money

    Cons

    OTR driver out all week

    Saia LTL Freight2018-11-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Need justice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Laurel, MD

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is ok but they are bias

    Cons

    They are not fair .They fired you wrongfully

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-09-02
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are great. Pay and time off, home every night, no weekends.

    Cons

    Richfield Ohio DOES NOT LET driver take off for their planned vacations! Vacation requests GET DENIED all the time 2 to 3 months ahead of time! Instead they have extra drivers and give them 'days off' in the morning 2 hours before their shift- THAT IS then their VACATION. Somehow Saia management calls this practice a 'reduced work day' which varies with the amount of freight for that given day.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-07-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ever Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Burr Ridge, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Constant competitive benefits and wages. 401k match, Stock Plan, and Credit Union for Employees Overtime pay after 45 hours. Vacation and Personal hours. Jury Duty pay Bereavement Pay

    Cons

    Could use a little more options for Mental health

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-05-02
  7. Helpful (11)

    "wish I had stayed where I was employed before"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LTL Driver in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time

    Pros

    pay is all that has been good

    Cons

    as a new employee / driver they expect you to know absolutely everything after 5 days training... then they throw you to the wolves .. then chew you out while you are still trying to learn the job.. I have been with the company 8 days will be quitting very soon.. and they keep cameras in the cabs of the truck and watch your every move.. no smoking, phone, drinking a beverage or anything in their truck while driving

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-05-17
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Be prepared to be watched like a hawk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Haul Driver in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    As a driver you will be watched constantly, there are cameras and mics. in all of the trucks, you will written up or fired for doing something as simple as talking on the CB. The cameras are facing the driver, as well as what is in front of you.Very stressful working conditions. Moral at this company is awful, and mgt. is not concerned, at the end of the day all they care about is the numbers looking good.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-04-11
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Line Drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Haul Driver in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros!! Pay is bad for the crap you are expected to do. Trainers think they are Premadonnas and talk down all new prospective employees. That is the pros...

    Cons

    Dispatchers are anti-driver. Rude and unorganized don’t care if you’re waiting for freight. Cameras watching your every move and you will be written up for the smallest mistakes. IE reaching for a drink of water. I recorded all conversations to protect myself. You should too!! Don’t waste your time on place. Keep looking. You will thank me for this advice.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-05-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Line haul driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Haul Driver in Vernon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always had a run

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2018-04-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 89 reviews