Saia LTL Freight Linehaul Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Linehaul Driver

Saia LTL Freight Linehaul Driver Reviews

Updated Dec 24, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
15%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Saia LTL Freight Chief Executive Officer Rick ODell (no image)
Rick ODell
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Health and 401k Benefits are great. Free Health Insurance after 10 years employment.

    Cons

    Not the best training. Communication not great

    Saia LTL Freight2016-07-10
  2. Helpful (25)

    "Has become a joke!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits only

    Cons

    Most employee unfriendly place i have ever worked! You are just a number and they are looking to fire you! Saftey dept. Is out of control with the in cab camera- no Bluetooth policy and you truck drivers better not get caught talking on that cb radio. No communication policy what so ever. The guys that's not getting fired are looking for employment elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2017-12-24
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Overall, a good job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Saia is better than your average ltl freight line. Great pay with benefits to match. Will let you run extra if you need/want to. Dispatch easy to work with in most areas. Pretty forgiving on minor screw-ups as long as you have good history with safety and don't make a habit of it.

    Cons

    Until recently, no real issues with anything. However, the implementation of driver facing cameras has alot of drivers uneasy. This was set forth by folks in corporate who may or may not have any idea what really takes place on the road. Albeit the cameras don't seem like a big deal, the possibility of write-ups that come along with them are the issue. From no talking on a DOT-approved Bluetooth, to any other "distracted driving" event, expect a coaching session. If the focus was on the already illegal activities(i.e.- texting, etc) no one in their right mind would even consider leaving. Now it may become commonplace.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2017-03-06
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Driver cams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, I have been at saia 5 years. Love my job until well here comes the cons

    Cons

    New Freightline trucks with driver cams in all trucks by 2018. Writing drivers up for ridiculous stuff. Like taking a drink of water. The people reviewing these videos have never seen the inside of a truck so they have no idea what we deal with. Also putting Bose Ride System seats in new trucks. They adjust to your weight and you can not let air out. They are very uncomfortable to myself and a lot of drives I have talked to

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2017-02-14

    Saia LTL Freight Response

    February 21, 2017Saia LTL Freight

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. In order for our company to be successful, it is critical that we have open communication and dialogue with our most important asset- our employees. It is great to hear you are pleased with our pay and benefits packages- we pride ourselves on offering best-in-class benefits and pay to our employees. In regards to the driver cameras- we know you and other drivers have a lot of questions so we're hoping our response will clear up some confusion. As our roads become busier and more dangerous, it is paramount that carriers and professional drivers are doing their part to improve safety. That's why we are installing the Lytx camera system. We strongly believe Saia drivers will be safer doing their jobs every day because of this technology. When triggered by an unusual driving event, the Lytx recorder captures video and data that can help inform coaching sessions, reward good driving, and exonerate drivers from false claims. It does not, nor cannot, continuously record. The system has proven to enhance safety at the companies where it is utilized.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Linehaul Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Linehaul Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight

    Pros

    Best company I have ever worked for. Home every weekend and some through the week as well. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Saia LTL Freight2016-04-14

    Saia LTL Freight Response

    April 18, 2016Saia LTL Freight

    We appreciate you taking the time to write your positive review. We wouldn't be who we are without dedicated employees like you. Secondly, we are glad you enjoy working for us, you are a valuable asset to our success!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Linehaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linehaul Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits. If you stick around long enough, you will get an assigned run. Weekly pay. 401k 50 percent match up to 6 percent.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work very long hours, have very little home time, you are just a number, management does not and will not have your back, they are too busy looking over their own shoulder. They have zero loyalty to long time employees, and they play favorites. I would look into working anywhere but here unless you are Out of options. Most of the guys I know that are still there hate it, but feel trapped do to pay and a daytime Linehaul run. They are also installing cameras inside the cab to watch what the driver is doing.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2016-04-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    the pay is pretty competitive and plenty of miles

    Cons

    sometimes when its slower will get cut one day in a pay period

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2015-08-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews