Saia LTL Freight "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Saia LTL Freight Reviews

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Saia LTL Freight Chief Executive Officer Rick ODell (no image)
Rick ODell
197 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Linehaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linehaul Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits. If you stick around long enough, you will get an assigned run. Weekly pay. 401k 50 percent match up to 6 percent.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work very long hours, have very little home time, you are just a number, management does not and will not have your back, they are too busy looking over their own shoulder. They have zero loyalty to long time employees, and they play favorites. I would look into working anywhere but here unless you are Out of options. Most of the guys I know that are still there hate it, but feel trapped do to pay and a daytime Linehaul run. They are also installing cameras inside the cab to watch what the driver is doing.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2016-04-25
  2. "Good company and great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Johns Creek, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time

    Pros

    This is a company that is dedicated to it's employees and loves to promote within. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Vacation time takes a long time to build up and doesn't carry over.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2016-01-02

    Saia LTL Freight Response

    February 10, 2016Saia LTL Freight

    Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad to hear you have had a great experience working for us. We work hard to create a company where people are valued and feel empowered to succeed and grow professionally. Thank you again for your kind words and for your ongoing contributions at Saia.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Truck Driver in Dalton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay,good benefits,very helpful bunch of fellow drivers that will help you and tell you the truth about the company

    Cons

    Terminal will lie to you just to get you hired, and then do you any way after that

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2016-01-23

    Saia LTL Freight Response

    February 10, 2016Saia LTL Freight

    Thank you for submitting your feedback. We are sorry you feel that way as we are committed to creating a transparent and comfortable environment for all of our employees. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  4. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Dock Supervisor in North Richland Hills, TX

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and co-workers. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Hours. Working nights. High pressure.

    Saia LTL Freight2015-11-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "it's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Dispatcher in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Benefits are good and paid time off and holidays, no weekends. Still employed despite multiple layoffs Co. Wide.

    Cons

    Lots of layoffs to good and bad people. Hard to get time off approved. Corporate structure. Rick O Dell the president is a liar. He sends out messages about how the company is family based and we have a great booming business, gives a company raise to everyone, then in one week lay off 400 people company wide.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2015-10-28
  6. "Not a place to call home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good. Benefits, uniforms, etc

    Cons

    Set up for failure daily, LONG hours, Treated poorly by the "good ole" boy in-group at the top

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2015-07-23
  7. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight

    Pros

    Good Benefits. Overall good pay.

    Cons

    Sales management micromanages their employees. Sales training lacks substance as a new hire employee. Overwhelmed with constant emails weekdays and weekends.

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2015-05-04
  8. Helpful (6)

    "It has been great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good! Benefits are great! Management works well with employees. There is a lot of room to move up in the company if you are willing to move

    Cons

    There are really no cons that I can think about. As any company they do try to do more with less which can be challenging when trying to maintain customers

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2015-03-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Should of not applied at Saia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Johns Creek, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saia LTL Freight

    Pros

    The money and benefits are good

    Cons

    Unethical and bad managenent is rampant there!

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2015-05-03
  10. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Saia LTL Freight

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits, set bid runs

    Cons

    Inconsistent freight levels at times, hard to get a hold of central dispatch, not paid for everything you do like fueling, hooking and breaking sets

    Continue reading
    Saia LTL Freight2015-01-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews