Sailthru Engineering Reviews | Glassdoor

Sailthru Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Neil Lustig
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Fast-paced with lots of opportunity to grow and learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sailthru full-time

    Pros

    The Engineering organization has gone through some major shifts over the past year but things have finally stabilized and the team is really jelling. Things aren't perfect. There are tons of engineering challenges waiting to be solved and this makes for a great environment to test yourself and gain experience. No one is going to ask you to stay overtime but many people choose to because they want to. This is not true...

    Show More

    Cons

    The organization has grown quite a bit and politics are inevitable. Things have become much more structured which is both good and bad. Bad in that there is more red tape but good because it's needed for an organization of our size to run properly and be taken seriously. You will have to work with a lot of legacy code and that can be quite painful. Compensation could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Your efforts thus far have not gone unnoticed. Keep experimenting and optimizing our processes. Look into ways to reward good work and incrementally increase compensation that's not necessary hinged to a promotion.

    Sailthru2015-08-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer at Sailthru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY

    I worked at Sailthru full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good director of engineering Fun group of people to work with Fairly challenging engineering problems Opportunities to grow within company

    Cons

    Somewhat young and inexperienced leadership Quite a bit of technical debt

    Sailthru2017-11-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sailthru for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a fantastic work life balance. Positive and supportive culture in which management genuinely wants employees' opinions. Not a cut throat environment.

    Cons

    Not the most interesting technology stack. The product can be slow moving. Constant customer churn creates a fearful environment

    Sailthru2016-12-30
  4. "One-off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sailthru

    Pros

    Ive worked everywhere from an MNC to a 20 person startup. Sailthru is definitely the best place Ive worked at. Its a challenging and satisfying work environment. You work with highly motivated and smart colleagues. There is absolute transperancy, and great perks.

    Cons

    Its not the place to be if you are looking for a 9-5 Monday - Friday job. You work hard. But it is rewarding.

    Sailthru2015-07-01
  5. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Engineering in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sailthru

      Pros

      Great place to learn. Fast Paced. Fun atmosphere

      Cons

      Burnout. Constant reorganization. Little opportunity for career growth.

      Advice to Management

      Please exit soon so I can exercise my options

      Sailthru2015-05-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Working hard with lack of recognition."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sailthru full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Open environment where you can implement and engineer as you please. Peers willing to share and learn for growth.

      Cons

      Management in the middle is over worked and unable to see below or above their range and promoting blindly. Very grim outlook at some promotions or team structures.

      Advice to Management

      Stop shuffling its time to change the decks.

      Sailthru2015-03-17
    • Helpful (4)

      "Great culture but poisoned company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineering in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Sailthru

      Pros

      - Fantastic people, - Fun events. - Lot of learning.

      Cons

      - Compensation below average. - Lot of complexity at all levels. - Too many tools and lot of legacy code. - The on call rotation was horrible, completely normal to wake at 3am because of a mailer failure. - The highest rate of disengagement in any company I've worked, 90% of the former engineers who worked while I was there left for other companies, and 70% of the employees from the other teams that worked with...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I spoke with many former employees from different teams, one problem was common: dissatisfaction and demotivation. For some reason the review of most employees weren't good. My advice is to be more grateful for the extra miles, be more grateful even for the regular job. The review should help the employees to improve their weakness, not to demolish the self esteem. I know many employees that left after the review...

      Show More
      Sailthru2015-02-10
    • Helpful (8)

      "Company at a tipping point"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineering in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sailthru full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Results Oriented Work Environment (kind of, depends on department) Friendly people in general Fast growth, bringing on more experienced business people

      Cons

      Unstable tech stack Very young engineering team Kind of amateurish executive team Crowded and noisy office space

      Advice to Management

      Watch out for people in-fighting and creating cliques and fiefdoms as you grow and there are more new people than veterans. Bring in some engineers with more experience and maturity and pay them right. Move beyond high school culture in engineering team. Be honest with people up front about career track.

      Sailthru2014-04-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineering in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sailthru full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Sailthru is a Google-style workplace. On the engineering team, titles are less important than the respect you gain from your colleagues (not sure about other departments). For the most part, those with most respect typically seem to have the most sway over how things work. Sailthru's leaders try hard to adhere to ROWE (Results Oriented Work Environment). Their motto, "Think Big, Speak Up, Get It Done!" pervades...

      Show More

      Cons

      Unfortunately, there are some trade-offs with all great companies. Salaries are not particularly competitive and they don't raise salaries regularly or offer a 401k (yet). Sailthru also has so many interesting areas to grow as a business, and this has led to indecision about what general direction everyone should take next.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the culture alive and continue to make yourself available to everyone! And give employees regular yearly raises.

      Sailthru2014-01-18
    Found 9 reviews