Sainsbury’s Employee Reviews about "team leaders"

Updated Oct 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 of over 10,846 reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Sainsbury’s CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
2,298 Ratings

What people are saying about Sainsbury’s

Join the conversation on

Londoners in Consulting

1y

works at 

Sainsbury's

Hi all, Got a bit of an odd request. I'm a Project Manager at Sainsbury's based in Holborn and was wondering if anyone would be able to give me a tour of their London Big4 office?? I've never been in their office and I would like to visualise what I'm striving for. Willing to meet up for a coffee before hand or have an initial call. Coffee's on me! TIA

9

5 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "good pay very chill job just get paid to go on your phone and sell ciggies(in 1225 reviews)
  • "Colleagues are friendly and willing to help without making you look stupid as a new starter.(in 588 reviews)
  • "Nice People and you get to know most of them if you work with them.(in 503 reviews)
  • "All staff is friendly and I love when they support me anytime when i need them.(in 457 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good and hours(in 207 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sainsbury’s and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "team leaders"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Very accommodating for university students.

    Sep 16, 2016 - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work for Sainsbury's for 5 years while being a student at university. They were very accommodating to university students letting me come back to work during the university vacations saving hassle applying for other jobs every vacation. After I graduated from university they offered me a permanent contract which meant I had a job straight out of university. Colleagues were overall very nice and friendly. I had a chance to be trained in the majority of different departments adding more variety to the job.

    Cons

    Low pay and the flexible contract with varied shifts made planning ahead inconvenient. It is very hard to get a full time contract. The sick day policy is very harsh. The Cafe was very badly organised with customers sometimes waiting waiting 45+ for their food and complaining, having to stay over one hour after my shift was due to end because of closing down and this was due to poor management from the team leader and managers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Expected to be a Robot

    Oct 25, 2021 - Customer and Trading Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing, gone downhill in the past couple of years...

    Cons

    Long hours, expected to stay an extra 1-2 hours everyday and not get paid, no support, sometimes working 14 days straight, hard to take full break entitlement, physical abuse from people stealing and they don't care, poor communication between management team, no work/life balance, expected to work on holiday, penalised for taking sick days, convenience managers expected to do everything, upper management are almost all white men, no mental wellbeing support, made all team leaders redundant, stopped Sunday time-and-a-half pay, no longer provide hot food in canteens, have to work on x-mas and bank holidays.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Just don't

    Mar 22, 2021 - Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They MIGHT pay you a bonus. Their system is so disorganised & a mess you will likely find you can get away with anything. It actually is a sociable friendly environment to work. You do get a good friendship group & it is flexible with a work-life balance. It treats everyone equally bad - so it is fair in that respect.

    Cons

    Management - Their ambitious, lazy & honestly utterly cruel at times, trust me I was one. It's an unhealthy environment. They do NOT give a damn about you. From regional managers to your department manager - they really do not care. You won't get your bonus - It's reliant on a mystery customer, who feedbacks whether or not product was available or if there were queues - but since sainsburys refuses to replace lost staff that is always the case As aforementioned, expect to be multi-skill trained (THIS IS NOT A BAD THING) right up until you find you have 8 rollers left to work, you've been called to tills or somewhere else & it's apparently your fault you didn't do the impossible. NO accountability for management errors or recognition when you did good. Literally no advancement opportunities since team leaders don't exist, the company typically externally hires unless you're a brown-noser.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Long Hours

    Jun 9, 2021 - Customer Service Assistant in Crayford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Annual Leave entitlement is good

    Cons

    Team Leaders work many extra hours unpaid

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    There are much worse jobs

    Apr 20, 2021 - Store Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent hourly rate relative to other supermarkets

    Cons

    Can end up working late hours. Managers and team leaders can be okay, others can be a nightmare.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Very on and off

    Oct 30, 2020 - Convenience Customer Assistant in Limehouse, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had a decent team most of the time. I transferred stores twice in the 4 years I worked for this company which was an easy to do process. Staff discount sometimes went up to 20% for special occasions. Some store managers were very supportive. Great team and company events. The company event was sadly scrapped by the incompetent CEO Mr Coupe.

    Cons

    There was an extreme lack of diversity in two of the stores that I worked in. The first store I worked in were all of middle eastern ethnicity with no other ethnic groups present in the workplace. It was also very male dominated. Being a female in a male dominated workplace, I was subject to a lot of sexism. I was denied doing jobs on the shop floor because as a weak female, I was apparently incapable of unloading cages to stack the shelves and was always confined to the tills. One team leader even took a male colleague off the tills and said "get off there, this is a ladies job" as he pointed at me. Of course, nothing was done about this. I had a racist store manager who only hired individuals that matched her ethnic background (Bangladeshi). She refused to hire anybody from any other background and often picked on me, probably because I am Caucasian. This manager also expressed disdain at celebrating Christmas in the UK. I was perved on by one of the team leaders and nothing was done about it. It resulted in me transferring stores once again. The confidential hotline was a joke. You would use it when you were having problems and felt like you could not talk to your store manager, but nothing would get done. I was selected to be the "great place to work" rep and was given zero guidance on my duties. Just attend the meetings is all I was told. I was then subject to ridicule for not being able to complete silly projects.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Enjoyed it, but they rely too heavily on you.

    Jun 6, 2020 - Team Leader in Bangor, Northern Ireland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked with great people and enjoyed leading my team from the front.

    Cons

    Management rely too heavily on Team Leaders, most days you walking out of work late because you've been given a list as long as your arm along with your daily tasks.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great fun, good team, good training

    Oct 14, 2020 - Bakery Assistant in Rugby, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment, good pay, make lots of friends, regular hours.

    Cons

    Cut down on managers and team leader caused some severe issues.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    An unrewarding job on so many levels.

    Aug 23, 2020 - Customer Assistant in Leeds, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I joined the company at a time when they were flourishing. This was reflected in the hourly rate being quite good for that time period, particularly as the work was not the most taxing mentally. The company is clearly open to staff who want to 'progress' through the company. At least at store level.

    Cons

    Where do I start? The level of competence from management at store level, was the worst I have experienced so far in my working life. For the first few years I worked there, they simple had too many managers, most of which offered nothing. Then we come to the 'bias' of said managers. All but one of the managers I had, exhibited a clear bias towards their 'friends' This often lead to said friends getting away with not performing to their expected workload, and that left excess work being forced on to others on the shift. Not only was this completely unfair, but it created shift performance problems at busy times of year, i.e Christmas. If you ever had any concerns with regards your job or a member of staff, forget expressing these concerns. The management all had each others backs, and I experienced multiple occasions of staff being treated unfairly due to them making legitimate complaints concerning managers/team leaders. In a number of cases, they ended up feeling pressured into leaving the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Work

    Jan 13, 2021 - Retail Assistant in Christchurch, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount at Sainsburys & argos

    Cons

    A lot expected now the team leaders have gone

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 145 Reviews

Popular Careers with Sainsbury’s Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sainsbury’s? Share Your Experiences

or