Saint-Gobain Abrasives Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Saint-Gobain Abrasives President, Saint-Gobain Abrasives  Patrick Millot
Patrick Millot
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Finishing operator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Worcester, MA

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment

    Cons

    Opportunity if not long tenured employee regardless of experience and skill

    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2018-07-03
  2. "Decent place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Specialist in Stephenville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great insurance/benefits Friendly work environment

    Cons

    Communication through the ranks could improve

    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2020-02-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "R&D manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Worcester, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Abrasives for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Financially stable, fair in treating its employee.

    Cons

    lack of entrepeneurship and completely risk adverse. Compay hold by financial people with limited passion in the future of the business. constant change of management with no continuity in opinions and projects. Terrible manufacturing environment to work in.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2018-12-05
  4. "Engineer"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Worcester, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career growth and job opportunities abroad if you are interested in them.

    Cons

    Double standards. The manufacturing facilities making the money are not maintained and yet the support/corporate offices are amazing.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2018-09-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Really bad... just horrendous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cycle Counter in Plainfield, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay even if it’s too low

    Cons

    Micro time management, HOT, short breaks, over time

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2018-10-13
  6. "Research Engineer"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Relative stable job environment; have all common benefits; sense of corp. responsibility; conservative and not take big risks; not make big mistakes.

    Cons

    May be too conservtive at times; could be a bit more innovative and take more risks.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2018-01-07
  7. "Any avai"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plasma Torch Operator in Northampton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for

    Cons

    Not a bad company to work for

    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2017-12-09
  8. "attention"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mounter in Carol Stream, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    company has lots of good benefits

    Cons

    human resources activity is terrible,poor management

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2017-12-22

    Saint-Gobain Abrasives Response

    January 9, 2018Director, Human Resources North American Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. Unfortunately, there are times when we have to end the employment relationship with an employee. This can happen for multiple reasons, which include the application of our progressive disciplinary process. When it does, this process is applied consistently to all employees and decisions are thoroughly reviewed. Our management team at the Carol Steam, IL facility is reviewed on an on-going basis as part of our performance management process to insure that all management employees are meeting or exceeding our expectations.

  9. "Love to Work Here"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Worcester, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is super nice, helpful and its a true sense of family. Everyday is something new and your always challenged with a new task. Every person is willing to lend a hand, they say hello when passing you - just a great place to work.

    Cons

    Not a single con comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2017-09-05
  10. "Operations"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carol Stream, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Abrasives full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team work is taught to the operators

    Cons

    Too many bosses no accountability

    Saint-Gobain Abrasives2017-07-10

    Saint-Gobain Abrasives Response

    July 17, 2017Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your comments. We agree that team work is a critical link to our success. We achieve this by empowering our associates and encouraging collaboration at every opportunity, which means we sometimes have more people involved with our decision making process. We will review your comments with our leadership team. Thank you again for your insight.

Found 76 reviews